Votes to the Grave

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

DSC_2226.JPG

This is my entry to @juliank's #goldenhourphotography. Photo was taken using Nikon D5000. I was first aiming for the droplet of water. I did not notice the shape the light and shadow created. What do you see? Can you see the skull that crying or sweating?

Votes go to the grave

Have you read about dust votes? I first came to know about this through the Bubble Bursting post of @beeyou.

These are votes that will not amount to anything and will not be paid. Read more about it here in @tarazkp's blog about Ashes to Ashes, Votes to Dust. He explains that votes that are worth 0.001 to 0.019 will not be paid. We are talking about stand alone votes. If your post or comment has less than the threshold of 0.02, then you will not be paid. However, if you add a vote of 0.001 to 0.019 to a post or comment with with 0.02, then your vote matters. If your vote will not make it to 0.02 or higher, then your vote goes to the grave.

How do you know your vote's worth? Go to https://steemworld.org/@(insert your username name without parenthesis) or busy.org. You can sign in to busy.org with the same username here in steemit but use your active key and never your master key.

This means if your post or comment has 0.001 to 0.019 worth of vote, it will be rounded to 0.00. It means your vote is worthless. This a proposal to combat spammers as per @timcliff. Your votes should be at 0.02 or more to be paid.

Do you agree on this? What is your thought on this?

Read @artgirl's What Have You. Do you share the same sentiment?

The effect this dust votes has is disappointment especially in for new steemians. It is hard to earn VP and then there is the issue of bandwidth and now this. You have to be at 100% VP before your vote will even matter at a Steem Power of 100 or more (am I correct? Can someone verify this).

It's like we don't even matter anymore. Not everyone of us are spammers. Not everyone can afford to use bots.

Engage and Interact and hopefully someone will pity you and be kind enough to vote your post

It is important and I cannot emphasize this enough to post quality posts and comment with real thoughts and not just spam like "Nice post," "Upvoted and followed. Follow me," or anything else to that nature that does not give more thought about the post.

If you are to post pictures, tell something about the photo. What is the photo all about and why did you take it? It will not hurt to add a little line or two.

What's more, reach to the ones with higher reputations than you because if they vote your posts then your reputation increases. (Again, I need clarification on this)

Also, hope that they will follow you. For that to happen, your posts must be well thought of and not just spam. Exercise the practice of posting good posts. It does not have to be long but at least not spam or plagiarized.

Peter talked about busy.org and impact of followers on this post.

Where do we go from here

I suggest join contests. There are lots of different kinds of contests here that you can join. Do your best in making a post about it. Some don't require much especially in photography contest but again it would be interesting to write something about your entries. There are writing contests, how-to-contest, gardening contest, meme challenges, etc.

What is the importance of joining? This will give you visibility and also an opportune time to engage and interact with people you share the same passion. Some people I know ventured into joining some contests that they thought they could not do but they were able to do it. It is a learning process as well and discovering or re-discovering your skills and talents. If you don't win, don't be disheartened.

Just keep joining and have fun!

I keep mentioning about engagement. This is a social platform and one of the main objectives is to socialize.

Asher has a great contest of Engagement that you can join. This is war of keyboards lol! Meaning, you must socialize like you have never socialized before. Feel free to check it out and join. This is to encourage us to be good commenters. You will win SBD and delegated SP which will help to increase your SP and thus hopefully increase your voting power to avoid the dust vote zone.

Daniel on the other hand runs a weekly Comment Challenge wherein you can turn your comments into SBD and SP delegation if you win the contest. A post will be featured and in it you can comment. Your comment will serve as your entry to the contest. You can also vote @danielsaori as witness.

I urge you join contests to help you in being visible here in Steemit.

Superboy McCoy to the Rescue!

@davemccoy is here to help as he always does but for those with 59 reps and lower only. (Sorry 60s and higher). This is to boost your dust votes so it will not go to waste.

This means send him posts or comments with less than the 0.02 threshold and he will help in increasing that to reach the 0.02 or more. Please, no spam. Be sure that what you are sending him are quality ones.

Thanks @davemccoy for such an initiative!

~~~

You can read more about @photocontests here.

The schedules for other categories for @juliank's photo contest are:

Monday: #foodphotography and #animalphotography
Tuesday: #landscapephotography and #cityscapephotography
Wednesday: #architecturalphotography and #vehiclephotography
Thursday: #macrophotography and #colourfulphotography
Friday: #streetphotography and #portraitphotography
Saturday: #sportsphotography and #smartphonephotography
Sunday: #goldenhourphotography and #longexposurephotography

~~~

REMINDING YOU AGAIN TO BE CAREFUL AND PROTECT YOUR ACCOUNTS FROM PHISHING/SCAM.

HACKED - Don't be a victim by @magicalmoonlight
Phishing report and Scammers started disinformation from @arcange
Protect people from scam by @simplymike
Protect your ASS by @omitaylor
⚠⚠ WARNING FRIENDS ⚠⚠ by @johndoer123
PLEASE DON'T be the NEXT VICTIM of a PHISHING SCAM !! by @lynncoyle1

Sort:  

I love you photography as always!

I did know that the votes under 0.02 do not pay out. It's kind of frustrating for newbies. Now that the value of Steem is up, my votes have actually been up to 0.02... let's hope it stays up.

My issue is that by the time I get on Steemit, and reply and upvote all the comments left on my post, my voting power gets too low for me to really upvote other posts. Which is why I cannot upvote this post even though I would like to give you an upvote. However, I will send you 0.001 SBD instead.

That is my concern too. If not because of the SP delegation that i won in contests then my votr would not even reach .02 even at 100% voting power. I would have to vote only when the post or comment i am voting will have value. Otherwise i will not since it would be useless and yes the vp depletes easily. So i keep engaging and limit my vote weight to less than 100% so i can spread my vote more.

I am sure that is why people who's votes weight more heavily alter them. I always vote at 100%. However, I noticed through busy.org sometimes when people vote on my stuff it's at a low percentage, like 10% or even less, which usually calculates to like 0.00 or 0.01 SBD on my posts. Not now, but when I was doing more giveaways I had some who were setting their acct to automatically vote on all of my posts at like 2% which would give me 0.00 SBD. It kind of made me mad because I knew they were doing it just so they could get the SBD rewards from my giveaways, but since I haven't done a giveaway lately, they stopped giving me an automatic vote on my posts. I get why people do make their upvotes at lower percentages because they can spread their votes out a little more, but the ones who do it like those who try not to give anything and only for their own gain are down right rude. I didn't call them on it, but I said if I kept seeing it, I might.

I was voting like crazy then when i started not knowing the value of my vote. When i found out it was worth nothing i was disappointed. I try to focus on what i can do and what i can control. I use the busy vote slider to spread my votes but this voting is very limiting.

Oh so that is how they do it, with busy. Hmm... maybe one day when I'm a big timer I might do that, but I'm finally at 0.02 for my votes, so my vote is actually worth something lol... If I spread it out, I would be back to dust votes.

I have heard about the Dust vote. But I don't really know how I feel about it. I understand that it helps to stop spam. But it's also frustrating to see people who vote at less than 100% power to give less than a $0.02 vote. it's also frustrating just to see all the new guys getting $0.01 votes and knowing that they'll never see a payout. I think personally that if you're below say a level 40 reputation that you should get paid for everything. Once you are above that then maybe there should be a dust vote rule. And as far as how much your vote is worth at less than 100%, I have no idea. There are so many different facets to steemit that nobody explains and quite frankly I don't know if anybody other than those on the top have any clue of how they work. I know however that when I receive the vote on a comment and it puts me at one penny, it makes me want to upload it myself so that way the money doesn't go to somebody else. I feel like all of this money that's not being claimed is only going into the pockets of those who already have plenty. THAT IS VERY FRUSTRATING TO ME. However truthfully I don't think there's anything I can do about it. So I've just been focusing on trying to get two new guys to stick around and helping them meet people. Thank you for the great photo also. And for everything else in this post and everything else that you do. I hope you have a wonderful day and that your weekend was great. And until we meet again I send you and all of yours all of my love. Oh, and I definitely see a skull sweating.☺

There is that question too about the issue where do the lost votes go. As I have said not everyone is a spammer. How about those who genuinely appreciate posts and comments and show appreciation by votin? Not everyone knows about this issue and are wasting their votes. Not everyone is here to steem for long hours and engage. I do not know also what solution can we do not affect our voting power.

About your vote value, Log in to steemworld.org. it will show you how much is your vote value at certiain percentage. It shows you a lot more information too. It is a very helpful tool.

Hehehe. Nice pic. 😂😂😂

Yan ang gusto ko sayo e...makulit! Kun di kita kilala ni-flag na kita e haha! Pero in fairness di pa ako nagfflag ni minsan. Wala naman kasi ako maflag haha!

Hahahaha. 😂😂😂 Ako meron n flinag, spam comments.

Bakit ganun? Ako wala pa haha!

Ako din, wala pa. HAHA :D :D

Di ba? Ganyan yata talaga tayong mababait haha!

Kaya nga ehh.. HAHA :D :D Basta mababait, ipapaubaya nalang sa steemcleaners ang mag falg. Diba? Diba? :) :)

Haha! Tama ireport na lang sa kanila. So far wala din ako marereport haha!

@davemccoy is really one great superhero. <3 :)

Strongly agree with that.

He's better than superman now. HAHA :D :D

True that!

I had no clue it all worked like that with voting.

It is just now that this is how it is.

Wow I popped in to check out the pic. Ended up finding some great info here.
I have been meaning to look into Busy maybe that post link will shed some light. Going to go read that right now.

I hope that you will find it helpful because it made me value building up my followers. I disregarded this before because i do not know the significance of it. Although there is still the issue that you get to interact with them once or for a few days and then forget all about them and move on to other connections. Then the cycle continues.

Yes! Actually I never pay much attention to that and just follow who I like. If I decide to use Busy I better start paying more attention. Thanks for the heads up.

I think your "steemitworld.org" link should be to "steemworld.org". But maybe I'm wrong. I couldn't find anything on your link. And when I Google search dip It seemed that the steemworld.org that i tried worked. I hope this is helpful. If I'm wrong, then disregard. ☺

Ah yes. I have to edit now. Thanks for pounting it out.

Anytime friend. Enjoy your day.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Sa https://steemnow.com ako tumitingin kasi mas mobile friendly. Sipag ko kasi bumoto eh nazzero value minsan di ko na napapansin. Makapag offline nga isang buwan hahaha 😅

Haha! Ganun dn ako nung una vote ng vote.

you never disappoint idol =) ..always a fan here =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88