The Curation and Engagement Leagues - Sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag!

in #engagement6 years ago

NEXT WEEK WILL BE A WEEK OFF As I am travelling to the UK. More details inside.............

Welcome to this weeks Curation and Engagement leagues, kindly sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag.

Current participants: As I am visiting the UK next week, the league will not be compiled next Sunday. I will not be checking scores/self-votes, etc, and so feel free to do as you please.

It would be good to hear in 2 weeks time how the change in strategy (if any!) is working for you. Cheers!

To enter the leagues drop a comment below (Lifetime membership - unless you ask to be removed)

The leagues (tables) are reset each week and so any time is a good time to join!

On your marks, get set, curate!


newtitle.png


Introduction

My general views on curation rewards (to score highly in League 1) are:

  • Vote before the big hitters, but not too early!

  • Voting in the first minute will earn you a curation reward of almost 0.000

  • Voting between 1 and 29 minutes will earn an increasing % of the curation rewards split, this value peaking at 30 minutes and remaining the same from this point onwards

  • It is commonly suggested that 15-25 minutes is the 'best' time to vote (especially on known 'power author' posts because they are likely to have more auto-votes coming in at these times - and you want to be ahead of these votes)

  • Voting on good dtube content and utopian-io approved contributions (prior to the vote by @dtube / @utopian-io ) can earn some very good curation rewards

  • Voting on @ocd posts is likely to gain good curation rewards as founder @acidyo, and @anomadsoul support these posts after giving time for other accounts to vote - you will be in front of a couple of large votes here!

As you can see, a combination of many variables such as Steem Power, voting strength, voting weight, time of vote, (and more) all play a part in the amount of rewards received.

My general opinion on maximizing engagement (to score highly in League 2) is:

  • Spread your vote and write lots of engaging comments!

  • Use your vote on comments to make yourself seen and provoke a reply


The data for league 1

The raw data has been collected from SteemSQL - @arcange's MS SQL Server copy of the Steem Blockchain.

The formula used for 'quality of financial curation skill' is:

Curation Rewards DIVIDED BY Steem Power MULTIPLIED BY 1000

This will return the amount of Curation rewards gained per 1000 Steem Power held


The rules (which will cause auto-filtering of your account if not met so just enter anyway and see what happens!) to appear in this league:

  • No programmed voting! Following a trail is OK, using a script to vote for you is not (but well done if you have done that!)

  • Must have voted at least once on a piece of content in the past 7 days

  • Must not have leased or delegated Steem Power in the last 14 days

  • Must not have Started a Power Down (withdrawal of Steem Power) in the last 15 days

The 2nd and 3rd points above are not bad things, but are required to reduce distortion of the figures.

And, as curation rewards for the past week are actually taken from votes made up to 14 days ago, we need a 15 day window as mentioned above.

Don't let this put you off entering though - you will be automatically be excluded/appear depending on the criteria above.

League 1 - Curating to maximize returns (Top 100)

The end column is what I think is a genuine indicator of how well you are financially working the curation game with the tools, including vested Steem Power, that you have at your disposal.

This Week's winners!

Congratulations to @crypto-econom1st! Back at the top following a foray into League 2, the man on the mobile device has re-assessed his strategy (and burned out his thumbs), and realised league 1 is a better target. Nice work!

And well done also to @steemitri, @pataty69, @eastmael, @melvadg, @lpessin, @coolguy123, @journeyoflife, @roldamn, and @naditinkoff for earning their place in the top 10.

All of the above will be getting some STEEM :)


League 2 - Engagement and Excellence - Write on!



This the newer league which is not based around rewards and relates to engagement.

Everyone currently on my master list has a chance here - including those powering down or dealing in delegations this past couple of weeks.

I've used some metrics (which is the fancy way of saying that made up some numbers) relating to:

  • Posts (P)
  • Comments - number of (C)
  • Comments - replies to replies - depth > 2 (C R) (new this week)
  • Comments - length in characters (C L)
  • Witness votes (W) (for those proxying witness votes, your total is always 30)
  • Upvotes to others (V)
  • Upvotes to different authors (U V)
  • Self-votes - a small minus score for this one sorry! (S V)


Firstly, if you are placed in the table above then you are doing great and are among the top 20%!

Congratulations to @glenalbrethsen who tops the league of engagement and excellence for the 3rd week in a row!

An unparalleled amount of comment text was enough to hold off the courageous @lynncoyle1 who finishes a well deserved 2nd with an epic 311 second level (or deeper) replies.

@leeart takes a clear 3rd place, mainly due to writing an enormous 842 comments.

Well done all 3 of you!

Excellent engagement levels and top 10 places for @gillianpearce, @johndoer123, @bashadow, @mirrors, @maverickinvictus, @abh12345, @davemccoy, and @creyestxsa94 who will all be receiving some STEEM this week.

Do you want to be a part of the leagues? Let me know below!


Prizes sent!

League 1

League 2

Lucky number 25 in League 2

Courtesy of @fullcoverbetting - Well done to @thedarkhorse!

Delegation Prizes

The most consistent performers, and especially those in need of a boost on the way to the holy grail of 500 SP, could also receive a small delegation. This week:

50 SP added (150 SP total) - @mirrors
50 SP added (100 SP total) - @johndoer123
50 SP - @creyestxsa94

Well done guys, continue oiling that Blockchain :D


Finally

  • If you have spotted any glaring errors in my post, please let me know so I can fix them

  • If you would like to be added or removed from my personal curation league, let me know

  • If you have any other comments or suggestions, please enter them into the box below


As always, thank you very much for your support!

Asher @abh12345


If you feel that the Curation Leagues are a worthwhile addition to the Steem Blockchain, please consider a vote for our witness - @steemcommunity - https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Find out more about our project here

Sort:  

Thank you so much @abh12345 and our sponsors @carlgnash and @paulag!

I was shocked to see I made second place; I woke up this morning dreading this post because I was sure that I wasn't even going to make the top 10 :) Congratulations @glenalbrethsen for solidifying your 1st place ranking yet again, and to the other top ten, @leeart, @gillianpearce, @johndoer123, @bashadow, @mirrors, @maverickinvictus, @abh12345, @davemccoy, @creyestxsa94 and of course to everyone else on the list who realize the importance of genuine commenting :)

A big shout-out to @fullcoverbetting for sponsoring lucky #25 @thedarkhorse!! So cool :)

Congratulations to the achievers in League #1 as well. I actually made it on that list for the very first time...I have no idea how hahaha

Happy Sunday everyone :)

Always glad to do this! My appreciation for this contest goes way further than words can describe! This way I can give something to the ones, who do not have so much time available!

congratulation to you @lynncoyle1, IU am so pleased to see you here. We ere communicated just a couple last 48 hours ago
Cheers

My pleasure, each and every week Lynn!

Next week though you wont have to 'dread' anything, I think we all need a break and perhaps a bit of freedom to experiment!

Well done for appearing on league 1 this week, by luck or judgment that part is not important :D

Despite your dread, not only did you make the top 10, but you finished way too close for comfort to me. I like 10,000 point leads muuuuuuuch more than 3,000. :)

Besides that, your score actually came up quite a bit from last week, too, so all kinds of things to celebrate, especially given the kind of week you had outside of Steemit. It's truly amazing what you continue to do everywhere you are.

I was hoping to regroup, redouble my efforts this week and try to get to 50,000 points, but I wouldn't really know what I did now, since Ash will be gone, so I'll just try to maintain what I've done on average over the last few weeks instead, and maybe try to figure out a production schedule.

Unless he's testing us. Seeing what we'll do when he's away. Cat and mice you know. :)

Oh, and congratulations on the krnel delegation. At least a few of us got a surprise with that. :)

WoW, Asher, you were really building up the suspense today ;0)

Congrats to everyone! You're making SteemIt a better place!

As for my result: I am surprised to see myself still in the top 20...
Only 250 comments... What can I say, I had a pretty rough week. Hope things will change for the better and I'll have more time to spend here.

And I see I managed to self-vote yet again... 😱
I should pay more attention...

Have fun on your trip to the UK, @abh12345.
Take an umbrella :0)

I'd say that what you're accomplishing just on a phone is amazing, regardless of where you finish, just because the difficulty ramps up significantly (at least it does for me). Once you do get back to using the laptop, it will be even more amazing. I hope you're able to do that soon, even if that means you're that much more competitive. That just means I'll have to try to step up my game to match, along with everyone else here, right? :)

Thanks!
And you bet - lol
But the way things are looking now, it’s still going to be quit some time before the laptop is an option again.
I’ll have to manage with the (dying) phone and the terrible WiFi connection for a couple more weeks, probably :0(

But once I’m full power again, I cab finally show the leagues what I’m made of - lmao

It's either going to be your cloud of dust we're all left in, or your vapor trail. Take your pick. :)

I’m making a lot of promises here. Maybe it’s better to wait and see whether I will be able to fulfill them, lol

No worries. One day at a time. It's much more important that you heal up, and take whatever time that requires. This week's a freebie anyway, right. :)

I already feel I’ll be lost next sunday. I guess I’m a real list-addict. I’ll probably be in bed, sweating and shaking, going cold turkey because Asher won’t be posting ghe list ;o)

That's kind of what I was thinking for me, minus the withdrawal symptoms. I'm not usually around on Sunday but come Monday, like today, there's usually some catching up to do. And i've only been in the leagues for six weeks, so I can only imagine what it's like for all of you who have been doing it for much longer.

That's why someone should post something we can all jump on to start next week. I know it won't be the same because we won't be able to see how we did this week, but still, it's nice to get on a post and talk about it and whatever else might come out of it.

I’m making a lot of promises here. Maybe better wait and see if I will be able to actually fulfill them :0)

I'm sorry! Much other business (posh name for replies and sunday lunch) to attend to today!

Top 20 is still excellent, perhaps the prize pool could be extended further in future...

Thanks for the Umbrella tip, I can guarantee there will be rain!

But this was plain underachievement... but it’s like I said: rough week, didn’t feel like chatting a lot. I’m still aiming for that number 1 spot. If only I would have access to my laptop instead of only this stupif phone 🙄

Congratulation to you @simplemike, I am glad to be associated with you in this league. I think you recommended me into this league, correct ?
Anyway, I am please to see you in top 20 list
Cheers

@leeart takes a clear 3rd place, mainly due to writing an enormous 842 comments.

That is a lot of comments, and not little measly comments either. That has to be some kind of record.

Let me think, a minute, I think @lynncoyle1 had 3 top place finishes in a row, and I think this is your third top finish in a row also @glenalbrethsen, congratulations to both of you for your unparalleled success, I know new users like a vote, but it is the comments they appreciate the most at times. You three have set a mighty big stage for all of us to climb to.

I hope you enjoy your week off Asher, and have fun in Europe.

Thanks @bashadow, well done on the top 10 in league 2 :D

I'll not be taking the laptop, but will be checking in on the phone - no data queries will be conducted there!

Have a good week 'off' the league, let's see if anyone has performed some experiments next time. Cheers!

Thank you, enjoy the trip, and time off.

It does make three in a row of for me, and i think you're right about Lynn, too. Any idea what the record is? Guess we have a week off this week. Not sure what to do with myself. I kept threatening to visit Asher after he posted the picture of his weather and view, but he's taking off to the UK (on vacation?). Wait. Kind of think of it, he probably could use someone to house sit. 🤔

Congratulations on finishing top 10. With as bunched as the top 10 has been for the last couple of weeks, it wouldn't take much to move up. :)

I think 3 is it, not sure, would have to back track and see how many dave got in a row. If three it is, then well 3 it will stay for now, we have a bye week for everyone, so the streak has to start over.

Start over? Oh, great. :)

Well it is a bye week, I mean no one is going to be #1 that week. But it does give us all a chance to try different styles out, to see if we can knock you off,...oh that just sounds terrible..How about instead of knocking you off we just say..take you down a notch or two. Less messy that way.

I appreciate the change in wording. :) Don't need a hit out on me just because I'm winning the engagement league. :)

Well, hopefully the rest will do all of us good and there will be something people can try.

Yeah, you and I both know, that we are unlikely to take a break. We do it not for the kudo's but because of who we all are and what we like to do, give a person a vote and a comment, and maybe put a smile on their face when they see it.

Have a wonderful trip! I’d love to be a part of your league!

Thank you, you have been added! (next post in 2 weeks)

Loading...


Well always glad to sponsor the lucky 25! But this week is special. One who really deserves it and one who does so much for the community!

Enjoy it @thedarkhorse, well deserved!

Also congrats to all the winners out there!
@abh12345 have a nice trip to England! @carlgnash and @paulag thank for supporting this great contest!

Thank you @fullcoverbetting! Every bit helps and I really like my SBI shares!!!

Good man! :D

First of all, thanks to sposnors @carlgnash and @paulag along with @fullcoverbetting and the author @abh12345 for making these leagues possible and encouraging the Steemians to achieve that extra mile in curation and comments.

I personally feel happy to be back in top 10 of curation league 1 and be among the likes of @steemitri, @pataty69, @eastmael who are a well known name in league 1.

Congratulations to usual toppers of league 2 @@@glenalbrethsen, who has made it a habit now to top league 2 for last 3 weeks on the trot, @lynncoyle1, who is constantly among top 3 since some time now along with others like @gillianpearce, @johndoer123, @bashadow, @mirrors, @maverickinvictus, @davemccoy, @creyestxsa94 along with @abh12345.

Congratulations to all the participants and those who made it to the list.

Good day and Good week ahead to all the participants and readers :)

Congratulations to you, as well. It's good to accomplish things like this, isn't it?

My production fell off this week and it was almost too much to keep the No. 1 spot. I can't blame it on slacking, though. I just ran out of gas a couple of days. It's tough keeping up with the girls, let alone trying to figure out how to stay ahead of them. I was looking forward to bouncing back a little this week, but no need to go for a record this week if I won't even know I did it. :)

Thank you @glenalbrethsen, yeah, it's a nice feeling to be among top 10 of any of these 2 leagues.

You can relax a bit yet be in top position, but as you said, girls (I think I should say ladies ;) ) are always on their heels to overtake given a slight chance.

Overall, the familiar names continue to showcase why they are highly regarded in these leagues.

With no report on next week, you can relax a bit I think :).

Good luck for the coming weeks and have a great day :)

Only manual vote get lot of time reading all posts, so wen somebody you know always make good content gain a auto upvote from me.
A mix approach is a good choice.
This week I become a minnow I increased yesterday my SP and lost 1st place for that.

100% agree with you, manual voting is too time consuming. If you want to compete both in league 1 and league 2, a mixed voting approach is best suited and atleast I can figure in the top 40 of second league along with being in top 10 of first one.

Congratulations on attaining Minnow status and continuously being in top 10 of curation league 1.

Have a good day @pataty69

Well done on reaching top 10 in League 1 @coolguy123, I wonder if you have some tips to share with the class? :D

Have a good week yourself, cheers!

Thanks @abh12345, nothing special, I vote in auto and manual modes.
Some auto votes on people whom I know will post some good content, just like you and some manual votes on posts having good content and are sure shot bot bidders with some atleast 5 SBD bid along with votes on some minnows posts where they are getting lesser votes.

There are some guys who gets some big non bot votes, so I keep voting on them as well. :)

I like the mixed approach, and it's one I use too. I doubt my score is anything special though and something in the region of 1-1.5 SP per 1000 owned.

'sure shot bot bidders' hehe
Thanks for sharing your approach :)

Yeah, mixed approach is more rewarding one for me knowing that some people will always post something good and we can trust them and vote them.

And those posts from bot bidders also fetch more rewards, hence I go with those as well, but selected good posts only.

Congratulations everyone for another great week. I've been even more relaxed about commenting this past week and now that Asher is going to not be counting next week, I might take the opportunity to experiment a bit and do some things differently!

Thanks, as always for the SBD @abh12345 and for compiling the league. And for the great posts you've made this week. I've really enjoyed reading them!

Thanks as always to @carlgnash and @paulag for your generous sponsorship!

And congratulations to you. For someone who is feeling relaxed about their commenting, you keep burning it up in the league. That apparently, is the key to success. Just relax.

I'm not sure what to do about experimentation, other than figuring out how to pump out more comments. There just doesn't seem to be enough time, since it flies by so dang fast.

Good luck with your own experimentation.

I hope someone does a little experimenting, and reports back :)

It is my pleasure to send gifts from myself/carl/paula to everyone trying to share the love around Steemit!

Congratulations to all the top performers. I could see familiar names I recently communicated like @lynncoyle1, @leeart, @bashadow , @simplemike, @thedarkhorse, @newbieresteemday and my buddies in SGG discord @terminallyill and @wolfhart.
( Did I leave out anyone? )

And not to forget @beeyou who reminded me about @abh12345 in this program ( thanks to you )

I am surprised to see my name appear at position 10 from the bottom of the table above. I need to work harder and smarter otherwise, I will be outperform by others

Cheers

Thanks @digitalmind

There is room for improvement but hopefully this will happen as the weeks progress, good luck to you :)

Thanks yes i agreed there is always room for improvement. Sound like I am back to corporate training

Thank you for the congratulations. Nice to meet you. Looks like you've had some good company recently.

I've not been around the leagues that long but it was quickly apparent to me that if I wanted to move up at all it was going to take quite a bit. Turns out, I needed at least five times more output. At the time, I thought, "How in the world am I going to do that?" I've been doing it, though, so I'm sure you'll find your way, too.

Regardless, though, the simple fact that you're making an effort to engage is awesome and very important. I think that's the real reason why we're doing this, even with the top 10 incentives. The more we can use this platform the way it was intended, the better we and it will be.

I am pleased to get your response.

As a new member in the list, it is only fair for me to say hello in fact to everyone but I specifically mentioned "top performers" As a matter of fact, all those in the list are top performers. Make sense?

For me, I do not have any special approach or strategy. I only engage myself as much as I could, plus upvote post and comments. In fact, the formula of the ranking among the list of names is already outlined in the table.

If we do according to the matrix, it is a matter of time we will catch up the rest. And may even take over those temporary non-active people.

Cheers

Hey, @digitalmind. Thank you for your congratulations. It's tough to beat the king and queen in this engagement league but let's keep doing what we're doing and interact much more :D Good luck!

I am glad you responded and I believe we met each other once a while.\

To beat the top performer, it may need a great effort. That's why they are called the King and Queen like yu have addressed them

We just continue to do the smarter way
Cheers

I hope you will find a strategy that will work for you. Good luck to us :D

AWESOME JOB everyone!!! Love reading these posts every week.

@glenalbrethsen - that was me too before!!! FABULOUS job!!!!

Thank you Dawne! I hope things are ok over there - sorry I've not dropped by much recently, I can spend all day here and still not get around everywhere I want!

Thank you @goldendawne. It was really, really, close this week. :) Have things been settling down at all for you? Is the snow gone? Are you back to spring weather? I'm happy to report we managed to get into the 70s today, with lower 80s coming up.

All I can say is, it's about time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49