The Old Dog Does It: I Hit 1,000 Followers! Celebrate With Me!

in #steemit7 years ago

This has Been a Long Journey And A Wild Ride!

 I started out 1 year ago and just today I hit 1,000 followers! Actually, I liked the look of me being at 999 but clicking over just one more number is a milestone! @azaan was my 1,000th follower and I've sent him a little gift to celebrate!


I've Had a Blast And I Thank You All For Your Support!

Steemit has been great for me. It's a fun hobby and it has stimulated me to look at the world around me through the eyes of a writer/reporter/photographer! I love this platform!

This was also a social experiment for me. I wanted to see if an "Old Dog" like me could learn the new tricks necessary for me to succeed here!

Below Are My Very First Posts Where I Set Out My Social Experiment Goal:

Can an Old (Entrepreneurial) Dog Learn New Crypto Tricks? Part One

Can an Old (Entrepreneurial) Dog Learn New Crypto Tricks? Part Two

Can an Old (Entrepreneurial) Dog Learn New Crypto Tricks? Part Three

What Have I Accomplished?

  • I had NEVER used social media before and now I use it daily.
  • I've written over 6,000 posts!
  • My Steemit wallet is worth almost $40,000 right now but I've earned even more!
  • I used a lot of my SBD's to buy Bitshares when it was at .01 cents and now it's at .085  Nice!
  • I've been able to give away more than 500 SBD and 100 Steem to other members! 
  • I helped to kickstart the @steemgigs initiative by @surpassinggoogle
  • I've been able to mentor other Steemers and help them to succeed! For example @fisteganos
  • I've learned how to handle and use crypto currency! What an education!

What Have I Seen?

  • I've witnessed as Steemit has grown its own superstars such as @papa-pepper @meesterboom @stellabelle
  • I've seen ordinary people like @karenmckersie earn her way to a new barbeque, laptop and rent payments!
  • I've seen a very friendly and helpful community emerge!

What Do I Look Forward To?

  • Continuing as a journalist/reporter/photographer (I might even get a real camera one day)
  • Helping other Steemers succeed!
  • Building/investing in my first app on the Steemit Blockchain! 
  • Watching our market cap surpass 1 Billion and beyond!
  • Seeing Steemit and it's other apps overtake Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

What About You?

  • What have you accomplished here?
  • What new things have you learned?
  • Are you having fun?
  • What do you look forward to with the Steemit platform?

Thanks For Celebrating With Me And Sharing In My Success!


Cool and The Gang, "Celebrate" I saw these guys live as a youth. Happy Stuff!

I Wish You All Happiness And Success!


I hope that you've enjoyed our journey together so far!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

You are amazing @kus-knee!! Well done, it's no mean feat to achieve!! You are such a positive boon to this platform!!! I am very happy for you :0)

It's been great being along with you on this adventure. Seeing you blossom and find success here is so cool!

COngratulations you generous Old Dog!
I'll raise my glass to that !

Thanks a lot! It took a while but I just keep plugging away!

1001 :)

Congratulations!

That's a beautiful gif gift! I love it!

You Deserve a FREE Official Celebration Template!


@giantbear and @kus-knee, I just made fun of this Celebratory posting and commentary. You and your ilk are the butt of my joke here!! LOL.

Please accept these fun emjojis as compensation for using your ideas! 🎉 📣❤️




Let the Celebration Begin for Templating Celebrations on STEEM!

I Under appreciated This The First Time So Here You Go!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Note: With the latest hard fork my program is now changing. My upvotes now have much more power and so all commenters on my posts will be rewarded with an upvote! The simple ones with something and the ones that I really like with a lot higher percentage!

Thank you! I got a lot of laughs from my ridiculous parody post... and now I see some $$$. That kind of kindness is non-existent on any other platform.

What do we have here on the Steem Platform? It's just unique. I should write a post on this. I remember 15 years ago or so when there were a lot of start-ups that were trying to makwe a way to send "micropayments" for simple things... say, instead of a banner ad, readers were (someday) going to be expected to send the author $0.05 or whatever. Of course all of those micropayment companies failed to get a footing.

Until.

Now.

Thanks again!

I think that it's a good idea for you to make a post about these points!

It's now on my "List." It's a 7 KB text file as we speak. I would say it would represent 100 hours or more of work, perhaps more like 500, just to get all of those ideas onto Steem postings. So all I need is time! I have entire volumes of original streams of thought that could encompass 5 or 6 different usernames.

My next door neighbor, @papa-pepper, is somewhat a star on Steem, and he has probably 3 different lines of thought going. When the money is there, it sort of motivates people to over-share somewhat. When I feel more comfortable doing that... look out. I also need to keep at my day job. Thanks again!

You are @papa-pepper's neighbour! I'll never wash my iPad screen again! Hahaha

Please say hello to him. We have "known" each other from the beginning of Steemit and I am very happy for his great success!

I look forward to you feeling comfortable and letting your ideas flow into the blockchain!

Thanks! Will do. I am trying to do some collaboration with him on a number of different ideas.... He's the wild-man, I am a bit more... tame. LOL. I did web development 20 years ago, he was running barefoot through mud puddles chasing critters since he was a kid. While I was dialing up on BBS bulletin boards and building PCs and operating nuclear reactor plants, he was skinning hides and going all paleo.

I still kill snakes and he still picks them up. He still thinks he's using a typewriter and I keep remembering failing typing class in school and pecking at Word Perfect 5.0.

We do find similarities in Christianity... and so with that, our backgrounds and interests are not irreconcilable differences. I shared my garden and my Internet access... he is quite handy with Steem and countless things having to do with the outdoors.

My question to you, me, and others is this. Are we the stereotypical XX? (XX= your name) So is papa-pepper always just a wild man? Am I always just the astute nerd? Are you always the old dog?

Or will we... do we... change? Can we ever change? Are we stuck with who we are?

This stream of thought, about changing, and shifting the "who" we are... is an important one to me. I feel that if we stay just who we are, we are going to just fulfill a stereotype.

I will tell him hello!

Glad to be a part of your milestone! Hope I can make it there one day, in the meantime I'll just keep on posting :)

Thanks a lot. Your right, just keep posting and we may all surprise ourselves!

Next stop 10,000!! We just have to have 1 more year! I wish you all the best!!

You shoot high @nba05. It must be the training from your jump shots!

It's easy we just need to add another 0!!!

Quite a journey you have traveled sir, thanks for sharing your experience and goals.

Thanks a lot! I wish you fun and success here as well!

Great post. Congrats.

Thanks a lot!

Congratulations 🎊. I can hope that I get there soon. Love your posts!

Thanks so much for the interaction @katdvine

Congratulations Mate !! Glad to see you achieved something on Steemit in a year... not like me. Keep going !!

Hey you're still here so you did accomplish something!

haha it looks like you remember my first post !! do you

I just refreshed my memory. Wow your guitar vids are awesome. Why not enter the openmic contest. You'd probably win!

heheh ... I know... people last year think I am against Steemit !!

not too much folks appreciated the critics... the truth hurts.. sometimes

@openmic contest

Just yesterday a guy told me about it !! I will asap - thank you

Just make sure that you do the intro correctly because they want just new stuff. The instructions are all there. I also play the guitar but I started at past 50 years old!

thanks for advice !!

nice to find a mate over there !!

I am sure you have some good reason to start after 50 years on earth !!

do you play other musical instruments as well

@mathworksheets joins the 1K follower celebrations with @kus-knee
KusKnee - 1000.png

I really appreciate these gifts. Thanks so much!

Your are always welcome dear brother. Please use the logo some how, I made it for you. I tried the drawing after a long time, still made the logo very close. If you want I can send it to you or you can use from the following post I did it in your honor, my brother.

https://steemit.com/life/@mathworksheets/my-tribute-to-a-great-steemian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85