Can an Old (Entrepreneurial) Dog Learn New Crypto Tricks? Part One

How the tough but fun lessons that I learned growing up will lead me to success here

Can an Old (Entrepreneurial) Dog Learn New Crypto Tricks? Part One

Will the street savvy money hustling techniques that I learned growing up in a non tech world bring me success in the ever changing block chain universe? The following short summary shows how I landed here at a much older age than most crypto enthusiasts.

I was born in the late 1950’s and grew up in Toronto in the 60’s and 70’s. My dad used to give me $1.00 every two weeks as an allowance and in payment for my various chores. One dollar wouldn’t get me to the annual summer fair or buy the toys and gadgets that I desired so I had to use my imagination to get the money that I needed. Thanks Dad for being so tough because without that I wouldn’t have had the guts to take this new path at my age. Here are a few highlights of the road that lead me here.


Age 8 to Early Teen Years


Lessons Learned: hard work, imagination, organization, marketing, research and a love of freedom.

In the summer I’d knock on neighbourhood doors offering to cut the grass with a push lawn mower and in the winter I'd offer to shovel the snow from peoples’ driveways and walkways.

enter image description here

This taught me the value of hard work and gave me the guts to make those dreaded cold calls. In between these “brawn not brain” jobs my buddy and I used our imaginations to scrape together some more precious funds. One thing we did was to capitalize on the neighbourhood kids’ desire for fun and adventure by setting up our own version of the popular country fair ride “Laugh in the Dark” in my buddy’s garage.

enter image description here

We hung fishing line from the ceiling to simulate spider webs and then dressed in masks and dark robes. After marketing by stapling “posters” to telephone polls in the area we’d sell the small stream of arriving kids tickets for 10 cents a ride. After sitting two of them on our wagon we'd bring them into the garage and close the door which plunged all of us into pitch darkness.

enter image description here

enter image description here

One of us would then pull them around as fast as we could run while the other would alternatively plug and unplug a spot light from the wall socket thus creating a strobe light effect (one time I even got zapped to the ground as I held on too much to the prongs of the plug while inserting it). All of this while making as many scary vocal sound effects as the two of us could muster. This ride proved to be a huge hit until one kid flipped off the wagon and split his head open!

enter image description here

Oh well, there was more money to be made collecting bottles and turning them in for the refund. Pop bottles would garner 2 cents but if you could score some beer bottles there was a whopping 5 cents to be had! A little research would tell us where and at what time the men’s beer league softball games were being held and it was a simple matter of pulling our wagon to these games just as they were finishing up their evening and snatching up our prized 5 cent bottles. What a windfall that was Of course we had to be home before dark but the long summer evenings helped us along.

enter image description here

The next stage came when I learned that I could actually have a steady weekend job if I was old enough. The legal age for that back then was 16 and so I solved that problem at 14 by using some neighbourhood connections to get a fake ID which I paid for using my previously earned funds and I scored my first "time for labour" job as an employee cleaning and doing maintenance work every Saturday at an industrial laundry.

enter image description here

Although I felt pride at earning and receiving a paycheque I knew from that early age that I had a love of freedom that would "force" me to be self employed.

From My 20’s Until a Big Change In My Mid 30’s.

Lesson Learned: be humble, help others and hold onto your love of freedom.
After studying Industrial Design at college I immediately started doing freelance work and in about 50 years of hustling I have only worked as an employee for a total of less than 2 years!

Love and marriage took me from the big city to a tiny town in the heart of Europe about 20 years ago. At this point I decided that I would finally need to get a “real job” but I soon found that there were none to be had and that my “advanced age” and the country’s complicated pension plan fund made me virtually un-employable.

How did I survive and what lead to my involvement in crypto currencies? I’d like to tell you that in my next post and for that I've got some really cool photos of what I ended up doing!

Sort:  

Im about a year late but great intro!!!

How cool to get a comment on this post 19 months later!!! The great thing is that I can now upvote it with 50,000 Steem Power and back then my vote had now value!

Thanks for the visit!

Wow amazing. I like you

Troppo interessante!!!! It remeber me something of my live, but as an artist I never tried to make money but only to survive until now :-))) Because if I don't had money I made an exchange with my art, exchanging for rent, food, clothes and cigarettes :-))) I started with 16 to make portraits on the street to show myself and my parents that I can do it...
You are really intelligent, organized, and a person with a big heart.... felice di conoscerti attraverso steemit e ti ringrazio moltodell'aiuto che mi hai dato finora!!!!!! :-D

Grazie per il tuo commento sul mio primo post.

Voi vedere part two?

Un giorno dobbiamo fare un meet up con gli altri Ticinesi. @airmatti, @steemitri, @lellabird60, @peter-parker, @caribbeanmon altri?

Certo che voglio vedere part two!!!! Assolutamente dobbiamo vederci una volta, che ne diresti di febbraio? Oppure verso Pasqua? Insomma quando andrebbe anche per tutti gli altri ;-))))

Great story, very encouraging!!
Hope to see more posts.

Many lessons learned that I hope to implement here.

very cool! keepm comin man!

Thanks for the encouragement!

Part two of my story is now written and I'm looking forward to implementing your suggestions in order to make it look better! I know you'll love the photos and you'll be surprised at what came next!

Great post, I am excited to see your next post about crypto currencies.

I look forward to writing it!

Great story!

This is a great story and I'll go ahead and follow you :-)

Thanks man. All true and all fun!

Great story :-)

Great story! As a person who has had to reinvent myself, I have recently had the fortune of being hired by a tech company and my employer was excited to bring someone on with my most 'interesting' and 'broad' background. I love hearing other peoples challenges in this ever-changing technology economy we find ourselves wrapped up in. I want to read more!

Thanks and welcome. Yes I've already written part 2 but need to learn more about doing a better job with my photos before I post it! All the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54