Steemit: Whale Votes, Whining, and Why Gratefulness is Your Ticket to Success

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, @hitmeasap wrote a great article about seeking out whale votes and how that’s a bit silly. It, apparently, hasn’t yet gotten a big whale vote itself, although it is deserving, because the earnings are at about $40, but it has 207 votes! Something obviously resonated with a bunch of integrity-focused minnows. I hope it does really well, because it’s an important message for us all here, especially those just starting out.

It got me thinking again about this platform and gratefulness again in a big way.

Image.png-35.jpeg

Here’s the thing: I had a slow week compared to my first couple of weeks on here.

And you know what? Even though as an artist my financial situation is always precarious and so I feel it in a direct way maybe some others don’t, I’m really and truly not disappointed. I don't feel entitled to automatic earnings.

Somehow, early on, I was able to get in the right frame of mind with Steemit, which is one of gratefulness for a great platform where the earnings are certainly motivating, but primarily icing on what is substantively a very good cake.




Wanting to do well is a good thing. It’s nothing to be ashamed of, and it’s one of the reasons the content on here is worlds above every other social media option. Competition to a large degree can encourage betterment and excellence. Frankly, I feel the very real pressure here to produce consistent, good content--and it’s hard! But that’s GOOD, because otherwise it would be quite easy to start putting less effort into my posts. But I know that won’t fly here. And that’s refreshing. Giving people an authentic way to “do well” in a concrete way like earnings has certainly caused a hike in quality, as we see every day on Steemit.

However, we have to see “doing well” on a broader spectrum.

The simple fact that there is a place where a person who is working hard can build an authentic following is incredible.

Do you know how valuable that actually is??

I can’t tell you how much time I have likely wasted trying to curate content on other platforms for an audience that emphatically was not listening. Many of you have had the same experience. It is so discouraging.

But your time never feels wasted on Steemit, because you are always able to be building something and making progress.




Every day, you have the chance to make new friendships, support people in their ideas and dreams, get people interested in your work, produce good content that people will actually take time with, be fascinated by cryptocurrencies, and engage in interesting, intelligent, respectful conversation. Like, with paragraph breaks and capitalization and everything.

And you get to do that with relative anonymity (less so for me, obviously, but it’s at least free of the immediate realm of what I call the “small town experience” of social media—all of those people who think they know you but don’t!).

For an artist, it’s a dream I have to pinch myself about every day:

"You mean there is really a place on the internet where I can actually be myself, share what I actually care about even if it’s challenging, and not capitulate to shallow tripe?”

"Where people actually care about my lyrics and my thoughts and not whether I pepper my feed with bikini shots?”

"Where people have both critiques and encouragement to offer me, but always in sincerity and respect?”

I don’t know about everyone else, but I am thriving here. That is beyond whale votes.

It’s cliche to say, but it really is priceless. The encouragement I am finding here, more than a little extra cash, is the most life-changing aspect for me.



So, today, I want to encourage you all in gratefulness for a meaningful platform where we all are really given a fair shot at doing well in our craft. If you look only at the earnings subject, there is a huge element of "unfairness" and unpredictability here, especially when you discuss something like the whale vote dynamic—but far more than that there is the reality of that “fair shot.” There is a level of consistency here such that you see people respond authentically to good content, and you can have real hope of doing well in the long run, in a bunch of different ways.

So.. today? Please don’t take Steemit for granted! There is a bigger picture at work. Join me in being as grateful as you can and seeing yourself on the ground floor of building something truly worthwhile! Keep giving real value, and let’s see where this takes us all in the coming months and years.






Xx, Kay

Sort:  

Kay beautiful as always. How did you get your sub titles to be bigger and bold?

Loading...

If I may, here's a great post regarding formatting. It's from @modeprator

https://steemit.com/help/@modeprator/stylize-your-text-with-markdown

What @blogstar wrote is likely much more thorough.. but I always just put the # and a space after before the parts I want big and bold! Hope that helps. I'm honestly just googling my way through markdown on here :)

Thanks for your comment as well! xx

Thank you too everyone

Thanks Kay for emphasizing the importance of gratefulness 💕 💞. I need to learn it badly 😢.
Great to know Austin @austinsandersco, that you now know how to use correct markdown!🙂
Thanks to @kayclarity & @blogstar for helping it explain and making it easy!👌👌👌
In case if you are looking for inserting emojis in your post, this comment has got a link for it in its footer. 😉


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Upvoted and resteemed. One fellow artist to another. Your talent is great and your content is consistent. With your attitude it will be impossible to fail. Because you're not measuring success in the wrong ways.

Thank you so much! That is of course really encouraging. I really appreciate your words.

Heartfelt posts are the most effective, you've nailed it! This is truly the right way to take steemit forward.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hey! Thanks, that sounds great :)

Hello, the post did not make it to the top 5 of @ocd's compilation but it got a whalevote :) ! keep up the great work...

"I can’t tell you how much time I have likely wasted trying to curate content on other platforms for an audience that emphatically was not listening."

Wow, as a fellow artist, I know exactly what you mean! Yes, there are the cheap bikini shots/eye candy still on Steemit, but there's stuff of real value. Even the things that you put a lot of time into that don't get noticed are worthwhile.

It's forcing us to not only put ourselves out there, but also to be reflective. Why are we doing this? What really drives me?

Personally, I'm using the videos and posts as content for my own website, so it's stuff I would be doing anyways. And the immediacy of responses is really encouraging. On your own blog, you have no idea if it means anything to anyone. At least on Steemit, you can get an idea of what works.

I think the big danger is falling into the world of wanting acceptance and recognition from people, but that's a common struggle for any artist.

I love that you "get" it, and thank for taking time for such a great comment. I love that there is an intrinsic challenge to the whole thing--I actually like feeling that I have to work hard to produce good content because it matters. And the feedback is really great here for sure.

The artist with integrity has a unique struggle for sure--needing the support of people, but always trying to avoid to capitulate to what is sometimes a shallow audience who may not appreciate good work. We need to be willing to do what we do, and wait to find the right people who will love what we do.

i agree !! - ))
W(HOLE) HearTEDly - ))
ONE of those 'said' WhaleS .. made a V(iD)eO ))
... the POWER of COmmUNITY !!
VerY insightful .. (( the video that is ))
ha ha - )))

AS for "G(RAM)meR .. i fail !! - ((
... but, i'm 'me' ! -)))))))))))))))
ha ha -))

LOVE YOUr .. IN-SIGHT .. SisteR !! -))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

PumpeD & reSTEEMed ))

.. a little boat, with an INFINITE SAIL - ))
A BiG ..do'DD'le'D .. IDEA - ))

Never quite sure how to respond the right way to this, but I send you a big smile :)

Ha ha .. i'm taking YOUr 'wonder' .. as a compliment !! - ))
.. my choice - ))))))))
i appreciate YOU .. and YOUr replies ! - ))

and, ... what more could i possibly 'hope for' ?? - ))
A BIG SMILE .. = .. a BIG THANK YOU !! - ))

YOU might enJOY .. this ?? - ))
IT's .. out-T-here .. but .. sincere - ))
The D.gital C.urrency "BU(BB)LE"
.. thanks for the reply - )))

Like anything in life having the right mindset can help make things better or easier. I am rather still new here and thus I follow a lot of newer people like myself. I often see them writing blogs about how can they “get a whale vote” and other less graceful things.

I try and remind them that a whale vote could be an upvote or a downvote. Annoying the living daylights out of someone is not the best way to go about things on a platform like Steemit. Spend time creating content you enjoy that benefits yourself in other ways then what ever monetary value you are hoping to get out of it. People often forget your first goal on a site like Steemit is not to bring home bags of cash. There are lots of other more rewarding things out there. Knowledge and friendship being on top of my own personal list of what I wish to gain. Some of the richest people in the world are the loneliest. I’d rather have friends that I can trust; then, a swimming pool full of $100 bills any day of the week.

I loved this comment. Thanks. Honestly, with that approach, perhaps counterintuitively, you'll probably do really well on here. I love that things are so incredibly different here, and that we have such a distaste for cheap shots (I've even been called out for that once, even though I didn't intend it that way!). As a singer-songwriter, I've never found a place more supportive of my work. It's really the very best. All the best to you, friend! Xx, Kay

Thank you - your words were very needed today - I wish you lots of luck here - artist to artist! I think the key is to just keep doing it - and us creatives never really run out of things to share! I am going to follow and look forward to seeing more! Have a great day!

So glad they could encourage you! I think this platform is amazing because it really does give us a chance to share and to build a network. And it's challenging as well, but without being troll-y or unkind; artist find this is a place they are challenged to grow and get better, and I hope that is more and more the case. I just love it.

All the best to you as well, and thanks for your comment. Xx, Kay

Very well written. I agree to your statement where you wrote there is an element of unfairness when it comes payouts. I have been observing the same thing where some very ordinary post have extra ordinary earnings and on the other hand posts, such as yours, which should do well struggle.

Thank you!

You know, there is that dynamic, and at first it kind of bugged me, but it does less and less. It's just part of the nature of things a little here, and I do actually think that if we are persistent in good content, we will do well over time--especially because we are all relatively new to the platform, and therefore kind of on the "ground floor" of the whole thing.

I appreciate your very kind words and encouragement, however :). Of course we want to see our best content rewarded! But in the end, it really is enjoyable just to get to share and have people appreciate our work--and even to make something while building a following is still just so novel to me! Xx, Kay

Excellent message. I love the humorous parts! Glad you're back, Kay. (Oh, and you wanted me to remind you to check out Lone Justice and Maria McKee!)

Thank you! I'm glad I'm back as well! It's still a bit crazy here, but less crazy so I have a bit of time to write and share again.

I will have WiFi tomorrow again, so I have made a note to listen tomorrow night! :)

Yay! Hope you like it!

Great post. up-voted and followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66593.69
ETH 3319.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71