❤♨ What Has Happened To My Beloved Steemit !?❤♨

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

❤♨ Steemit is supposed to be about manually liking , upvoting and commenting on each others content at least some of the time . Now its all about selling your votes with nobody upvoting anymore . We are forced to use upvote bots (and I do !) instead , to upvote our posts when we have steem to do so , in order to help at least promote the post , then hopefully get a nice upvote from someone if they see it . As we all know you seldom make money using upvote bots by the time your post pays out , they are only good to help get you trending , And make the Whales Rich !

photo_1492512940948_1497961345636.jpg
I created this Meme a long time ago!

🐟 Its not just new members !
As a Veteran of Steemit, even after Two Years and finally hitting reputation 70 after about 7 months, there are seldom upvotes anymore from the whales . After all our Community Support, commitment and dedication to this platform. And if I don't use upvote bots Or a Resteem service, I don't get trending with a post that pays maybe 1.00 dollar! I see many veterans spending 50.00 to 100.00 and up on bots to promote their posts, Its always the same stuff trending!
🐋🐬 A Big Shout Out to those Whales / Dolphins ( Off the top of my head ) who do occasionally upvote! Thanks For Your Support:
@sweetsssj / @gringalicious / @kevinwong / @nxtblg / @quinneaker

photo_1483949109609_1494214211625.jpg

😕 I am not complaining , I ❤ Steemit ! Just stating some facts and looking for solutions.

The Big Questions Of The Day Are :

(1) What , if anything is being done or in the works at least to correct this huge problem which just seems to be getting worse on a daily basis !?
(2) Is our beloved CEO Ned Scott @ned Or the Devs working on a solution !?
(3) Will a future hard fork correct any of these issues that are plaguing Steemit !?
(4) What does this mean for Steemits future !?

Bugs-whats-up-doc.jpg
pinterest.com

❓♨ These questions are being asked by many here on Steemit ! If anyone has some answers , please comment below ! It would be much appreciated to at least know theres a solution in the works . We all want Steemit and the blockchain technology to succeed well into the future . THANK YOU !!


@karenmckersie / @momskitchen


APPICS / THE FIRST SMTs !

Heres my personal referal link if your interested , the Appics App will launch soon in which @ned is an advisor , where you can earn ZAP Tokens for just posting photos and videos , Or liking others photos , its going to be great :
https://ico.appics.com/login?referral=6GyyAx79

Heres The Latest Updated Post From the APPICS Team :
https://steemit.com/life/@appics/oyyh51md



#teamcanada

💕 Canada Banner Created By @gavinthegreat ! 💕

Sort:  

I am a semi veteran by now, almost a year on Steemit. And what I have learned now, is not to hope to get an upvote from whales, but grow a following of lots of minnows. They are the true steemians, and respect eachother. Sorry to say, but it is like that!

Absolutely right about that. You can make a lot of friends here and they will vote your posts consistently with their own upvotes. There are only so many whales and if they notice you - fine - lucky you. Otherwise its better to work on other ways to get votes here.

I started upvoting people with @steemdunk and that changed everything for me.

Who is on My Steemdunk

Also @kryptonia is amazing - great upvotes and earning SUP coin with steemit work. I love it! This is an older review and it's only gotten better.

How and Why I use Kryptonia Review after One Month

I also use steemdunk for 20 people but do a lot of manual voting and commenting by spending time on the platform which is what this post is about is all those people that are selling their votes instead of upvoting or curating , they spend little time at all on the platform so theres many people that get zero votes at all . The system needs to be fixed and im hoping i get some answers here ! the future of Steemit depends on it . thanks for your reply !✌👍

They are selling their votes because they are on to other things. At least that way they use their sp. There's nothing to be done for that. I'm sure many of those whales are burnt out and since they are rich - they can do what they want.

You just have to find the people who are voting. @steembasicincome is another thing working for me. If I give shares of it away, it encourages someone else and then we both get upvotes for life. You have to start somewhere.

Yes for sure ! but the questions remain, what if anything is being done to make Steemit better and fix this huge issue of vote selling !? Minnows are selling their votes just as much as everyone else . 👍👍👍

I've also come to your conclusion. @pele23

ive only been in it for 3 months like really active and i must say it seems like a greed fest and less about curation of quality content but simply who has enough skin in the game or willing to invest in it will rise to the top, so much for a meritocracy. You can see it by the poor engagement levels on posts its all just people trying to further their own ambitions of making easy money rather than supporting what could be an amazing content marketing tool

its clear that freedom of the platform has become country productive and instant gratification is the driving motive behind the behaviour on steemit. Somehow rules need to be put in place that makes this kind of thinking counter intuative if we are to get a more organic feed and interaction with content and one another..

Just my2 cents lol

I agree @chekohler ! It's always all about greed . We all want to earn money for the work we do and is why people come here among other reasons but it has gone way to far in the wrong direction and is ruining Steemit sadly enough .✌👍

Oooh, this was very helpfull. I've only been a member for a couple of days. I was so looking forward to publishing my reasoning on SO many different topics. And i've had a lot of idea's about things I wanted to write about. But I honnestly have to say: i'm very concerned because I feel like litterally NOBODY reads even a letter of what I write... I just don't have the community. I'll still give it atleast 10 more publications (i have some waiting to throw online :p). But I think i'll start to wonder wether it's work writing and putting in effort, if i can't get a single responds... I thought this platform really motivated good and personal content. But it's by coming across posts like this, that i'm starting to learn.. but also realize.. it may not be what I thought it was. Which is very sad.

Signed : a small, fresh minnow

Welcome to Steemit ! It takes quite some time, but once you build up a dedicated following you will do much better and hopefully sometime soon some these issues will be fixed , the platform is still very new, only 2 years actually with people on it So im pretty sure we are in for a lot of updates and improvments ! At least I hope so in this matter . Thanks for you kind reply ! and best of luck to you !✌👍

Thanks for the motivation :p. Been looking further into it and i've read some stuff that seems to confirm that. I think it'll be oke, i personally quite enjoy working on an article.. it was just never worth it cause you don't have the same mentality or incentive on other websites regarding WRITTEN content. Steemit is pretty mcuh leading that -writing based- market from where i'm sitting.

Yes, this is true .👍👍👍

From what I’ve read this issue doesn’t sound like a priority to the team and they are focusing more on SMTs and making the chain easier to program on. I agree bid bots are and issue but it’s still possible to carve out a decent place here on steemit.

Yes this is true , thanks for your awesome comment @pheliment ! but i'm also hoping the Devs are working on a solution before it's too late, there's just way too much vote selling going on with not enough people upvoting , the platform is nothing like its supposed to be thanks to greed. ✌👍

Most of the whales upvote those who are already successful and dont care about the newbies.
Thanks for putting this up maam

They hardly even vote on them eigther! And very seldom on the veterans or newbies ! They make all their money on their bots , I heard one of them earns over 5 million a year just from his bot etc and never upvotes anyone or posts anything !! 👍✌

My goodness,still cant believe 5 million

Yup ! for doing nothing but taking delegations and creating an upvote bot plus being rich to begin with .😀

Haha!Thats strange

It feels like hardly anyone upvotes comments these days. I don't have a problem with people using upvote bots to get more visibility under a certain tag if it is a quality post. I don't like the idea of using upvote bots on comments or on crappy posts. I used to make more money on steemit using no upvote bots, no it feels like you have to use upvote bots to get somewhere in this platform.

I went a week without bots and got a @curie upvote which is nice :) it seems that manual curators dont notice you when you use a significant upvote bot because to them it is percieved that the post already has a good payout (even thougg it was paid for)

The opposit can also be said in that a lot of people think they should only upvote stuff in trending because they percieve it must be a great post and should upvote it even though most of those in trending pay hundreds to make it there , then so many people upvote it or they send resteem services so when you upvote it you make zero money but assume you will ! thanks for your great comment !✌👍

Yeah I think allot of people don't know how curation rewards work.

Yeah its a tough argument that can be seen either way - I do agree in a way that lots of people must just go to trending and upvote articles because of their perceived quality, its just not how the strategy I use.

Thanks for the thought provoking article :)

Yes this is very true, just to try and get your quality post to trend in order to get some decent votes and recognition you need bots! the platform is broken and needs fixed. thanks for your awesome reply!👍✌

Yeah its really hard to solve human problems with technology. I think steem is fine the way it is, there are just many bad apples on here who have God complexes, and I think @berniesanders,@grumpycat and @haejin are prime examples. I don't think steem has really changed, I think the community has changed. This is allot like the virus writing scene from the 90's. First people did it for fun and to prove their technical abilities, after that when people realized they could make money out of other people's misery, then the whole scene and community changed. People like @berniesanders,@grumpycat and @haejin all profit from down voting people who often don't deserve it and they just keep boosting themselves. This is probably a human problem then.

So true my friend sadly enough, that and GREED !! But I will leave the politics side out of this some people deserve it some dont . , that's a whole other post all together that I would rather not get involved in . thanks for your reply .✌

Honestly thanks for addressing this issue because newbies like us dont get upvotes from the big guys nomatter what we put out there. Its killing the system.

I totally agree with you ! its hard enough even for the veterans, this is not good at all if we want to keep new members on the platform ! I hope we can get some answers here in my comments !✌👍👌

Everything is about money and money alone. I wish there is any solution to that observation but i doubt. Whales must look for a way to keep getting begger.

It used to be about community and manually upvoting / liking each others content , nothing on Steemit is no longer as its supposed to be with everyone selling their votes now instead of upvoting! I just hope this changes or steemit will continue to suffer and new members will keep leaving. Thanks for your reply !👍

The whole initiative behind Steemit was to do with manual curation - people actually reading others posts and deciding their value - bots upvote pretty much any trash people send to them and bid on and thus the quality of the trending page has suffered enormously

Agreed! like I said in the first part of my post, If people did more upvoting we wouldn't need to use bots so much . I theres a better solution soon ! thanks for commenting.✌👍

Yeah I think manual curation is getting less and less right now, and the bots are getting richer and richer sadly

The problem is with how the bots are being abused not the actual bots themselves. If they are primarly used by new Steemians writing good content and trying to gain some more visibility then I think thats fine. Whats not fine is people posting pictures of flowers and paying 100s of dollars to get to trending! Just inflates the percieved rewards... new people look and think hey I could do that and make $500 too - but they dont realise most of that was paid for and not profit.

I try not to use bots but it is hard and sometimes I am forced to so I get noticed...

I agree, I use bots all the time in order to get more visibility ! I make no money from them at post payout time though im lucky to break even, but happy to hopefully pick up more followers and maybe one decent upvote ! This post ismore about Vote Selling and the fact that no one upvotes or spends time on the platform anymore . thanks for stopping by! ✌👍

As a newbie, I appreciate you calling attention to this issue. I don't begrudge anyone for up-voting themselves or using bots. As you say, that's just what you have to do to get noticed with this current system. I would like to see the system changed to a degree so the playing field is more level. Maybe limiting self voting, rewarding voting for others, etc. I know there's no perfect system, but it seems the current system could be improved upon. Regardless, I love Steemit and am very glad to be here.

Well said. Agree 100%.

Totally Agree !👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44