My New Strategy for Self Upvoting!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Would you like to know what is my new strategy for self-upvotes because since my last post on this topic I have changed it, and it seems to work pretty well?

My New Strategy for Self Upvoting!

There are no specific rules saying that you should or should not self-upvote on Steem because it is decentralized and there are different ways to see and do things.

I do not say that it is wrong to self-upvote, or that you should absolutely not self-upvote, that's your choice and not for me to judge. I'm just presenting what I am doing and that might motivate you to do the same.

My New Strategy for Self Upvoting!

My strategy until April 20 was to upvote my own posts because we are given the possibility to do so, and that was a habit from Facebook where I always like my own posts to show others and myself that I do like my own posts.

I decided to stop upvoting my posts because what I earned doing that was only $3.30 per month. I can leave without $3.30 a month and without showing that I love my own post. After all, what counts is that you, the readers, love my posts!

You may want to read my previous post: Is Self Upvoting Wrong? What's my Strategy?

That was my graph from March 22 to April 20 and I had 11.2% of self votes.

My New Strategy for Self Upvoting!

If you go to this link you will see my graph: http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=gmichelbkk&days=30

I invite you to check out what percent you have for your self votes, just replace my account "gmichelbkk" with yours in the URL.

For this period of time, which is 30 days, I upvoted 243 users.

I had 193 "Others" as the main portion with 19.6%, @qurator was second with 12.2%, I was third with 11.2% and @silvergoldbotty was fourth with 9.6%.

This is what I have now from May 4 to June 2.

My New Strategy for Self Upvoting!

I have upvoted 161 users and no self voting.

Just after writing my post last month I did what I said I would do. I stopped upvoting my own posts, I set my auto-vote for @qurator to 100% and gave a higher percent to some other users.

Now, I have @qurator as the main beneficiary with 20.6%, @silvergoldbotty is second with 14.3% and the third portion is 111 "Others" with 11.1%,

@qurator and @silvergoldbotty are community bots that I have delegated to and my 100% vote to them also contribute to their power of voting others including myself.

My strategy for upvoting comments

My strategy for self upvoting comments is the same as before.

I never upvote my own comments, except if it is a comment that I want to be seen at the top of the other comments. This is very rare, in the last 30 days there was no need to do it.

Here too, I do not say that this is right or wrong to upvote your own comments, you are free to do what you decide is best for you.

My strategy is still to upvote all comments made on my own posts, except bots and I choose the vote weight according to the vote power I have available and the quality of the comment. I will upvote 50% or 100% a very useful comment, 20% for kind and meaningful comments, 10% for short, but original comments, and 1% for repetitive spam comments to show my disapproval.

If I see that a comment already has votes from others or self-upvotes, then I feel like they already have enough and vote a little less for them to vote more on others.

You can see this here: https://steemit.com/@gmichelbkk/recent-replies

Is Self Upvoting Wrong? What's my Strategy?

I still do not downvote comments, or posts, as I want to preserve freedom of speech on this platform and don't want to participate in censuring content.

I prefer upvoting other people's comments because it promotes engagement and show people that you appreciate their comment.

At the end it's all about the mindset you have. I believe that whatever you give away will come back in another way. If I upvote constantly my own posts and comments, then I invite others to do the same and I should not expect them to do differently and upvote mines instead.

In the contrary, if I upvote others more than I do for myself, then I invite other people to do the same.

I think that if we upvote each others we can get more back than upvoting our own.

It's just giving for receiving.

You may give on Steemit and receive back through another channel that the universe has decided to use for you.

Some people think differently and it's no problem.

I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and learning about what my new strategy for self upvotes is.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more Steem posts like this one?

Would you please help @jerrybanfield become a top 10 Witness because you can help funding projects to build Steem as explained here? Vote for jerrybanfield as a witness or set jerrybanfield as a proxy to handle all witness votes at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Read the 5 reasons why I'm voting for Jerry Banfield as a witness and how to vote in my post. You may be interested to read: What is a Steem Witness, How to Vote and Why?

Michel Gerard

www.michelgerardonline.com

Sort:  

very good strategy dear.
go ahead.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

You got a 50.00% upvote from @payforplay! Please consider delegating steem power to @payforplay. We are currently sharing 100% of our profits with our delegators. That's correct, 100%! It doesn't get better than that. It is essentially running your own bid bot without doing any of the work. Steem power can be delegated here: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html

Well this has been useful. Thanks Michel.

I have been out of the loop on Steemit a while because of a 3 month long project. I used self voting in that time because my networking ability in that time is rather low.

I think I see sense in the fact that now that I can network better I can reserve more of my votes for others and increase my digital footprint on the platform, which with do a lot better for myself in the long run as well as others that I upvote of course.

Cheers.

Thank you very much @zakludick for your kind comment and welcome back to Steem. I am glad that my post is useful for you.

from last 2 week i lost about 16 SBD due to price fluctuation.
now i am less using steemit and just upvotes the other peoples post .
but still people here don't upvote my post and cheetha came if i make a quality post. lol

Price fluctuation is part of it, you haven't lost 16 SBD, you just didn't make them. Often it's going the other way, you get more, and when you make the average on a month, I believe it's in the positive.

You get the Cheeta bot because you use content from somewhere else. Just write you own content, or quote content that you take from somewhere else.

hmmm

I am upvoting my own posts and will continue. I see your point about the small amount, but that small amount is important to me. No numbers on my posts are big, and so every penny counts. I also upvote my son's posts, so that makes me even more of a bad guy around here.

Since steemit removed the upvote button on the post entry screen, I'm seeing most smaller people no longer upvote their own posts since they do not know they can. The whales must be thrilled.

I never upvote my own comments either unless for visibility. I have probably done that less than 10 times in a year. I find it better to reply to another comment on the post and upvote that comment to bring my reply up with it if I need to.

I do upvote the good comments I get on my posts. But lately, MANY people have started upvoting their own comments. So in that case, I am not upvoting them since they already did. I'm not sure what caused this new behavior because I did not see it until this last few weeks. If the whales do not want us upvoting our own posts, they must really hate the self-comment upvotes.

I'm also seeing people put bot upvotes on their comments now - lots of them! Holy cow! I get the bot replies in my comments too now. How did this become a thing?

Due to the voting dust issue, I do not make any vote anywhere unless it is 3 cents or more.

Nobody is talking of bad guys here, it's only a question on how you believe it will work for you.

I didn't even noticed that they removed the upvote button! Thank you for telling me.

I don't think the whales are responsible for removing the self-vote option because they make good use of it themselves...

If people follow a trend upvoting a comment it's because they are following someone who does in a Facebook group or an online course maybe.

lol - well, "bad guys" might not be the right phrase for it!

Someone removed that option, but those of use who are older here, know it was there and go back to upvote. I upvote many small and new accounts each week, and they have no idea they have an option to upvote themselves.

I guess comment upvoting must somehow make sense financially. I have just never done it since this was one of the first things I leaned not to do.

This upvoting stuff has been a complete mystery to me -- until I read your post. I always felt uncomfortable upvoting my own content because it's too spammy. On the other hand, as a minnow, it's kind of depressing to comment (I think I have some useful ideas), only to have it descend into the Lower Depths. So I have been upvoting my content, for the most part.

I like your strategy of upvoting other people's posts, just those I like and without regard to reputation score. I am going to try your idea of infrequent or no upvoting of my own stuff and concentrate instead on spreading the wealth, so to speak.

Thanks for the great ideas. Ira

Thank you @irakrakow for your kind comment. I am glad that my post helped you have a better understanding about voting and that it encourages you to try other ways.

I'm very new here and I don't upvoted my comments. In my mind comments are different from posts. Comments are more like a thing I want to tell the author whereas posts are different altogether. I do upvote my posts, which is a habit I took on from youtube. The reason is exactly the same as yours, just to show my viewers that I like/approve of my own videos. Although like your research shows, the actual effect over here is quite negligible, especially considering my very low SP. It's mainly a mindset thing.

Again, thanks for a detailed post!

Thank you @zhuwa for your comment and sharing with us that you get the habit of self-upvoting from YouTube. I am glad you like my post, thank you.

Good and honorable policy, but I would not upvote spam or repetitive comments with 1% ;)

Thank you @vikisecrets for your comment. I just upvote 1%, which is $0 where I am at because it's a fast way to mark comments I have read, and not waste time going to them again when I see on the "Replies" tab a comment that I have not upvoted. Maybe this makes more sense now.

Oh thx for the explanation, how about downvoting spam comments instead (not sure whether this is possible with 1% too, have to try it;) in order to mark them read? Even if a 1% upvote seems like $0 it can still add up and even increase the reputation of spammers.

I am a new on Steemit. I need to improve on Steemit quickly. Here you have shown an important way to get up vote. Your system really works amazing. Thanks for your vital information sharing.

I am glad that my post is useful for you.

Thank you very much for your comment @sayemsonai.

This post has received a 7.19 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63