You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My New Strategy for Self Upvoting!

in #steemit6 years ago

I am upvoting my own posts and will continue. I see your point about the small amount, but that small amount is important to me. No numbers on my posts are big, and so every penny counts. I also upvote my son's posts, so that makes me even more of a bad guy around here.

Since steemit removed the upvote button on the post entry screen, I'm seeing most smaller people no longer upvote their own posts since they do not know they can. The whales must be thrilled.

I never upvote my own comments either unless for visibility. I have probably done that less than 10 times in a year. I find it better to reply to another comment on the post and upvote that comment to bring my reply up with it if I need to.

I do upvote the good comments I get on my posts. But lately, MANY people have started upvoting their own comments. So in that case, I am not upvoting them since they already did. I'm not sure what caused this new behavior because I did not see it until this last few weeks. If the whales do not want us upvoting our own posts, they must really hate the self-comment upvotes.

I'm also seeing people put bot upvotes on their comments now - lots of them! Holy cow! I get the bot replies in my comments too now. How did this become a thing?

Due to the voting dust issue, I do not make any vote anywhere unless it is 3 cents or more.

Sort:  

Nobody is talking of bad guys here, it's only a question on how you believe it will work for you.

I didn't even noticed that they removed the upvote button! Thank you for telling me.

I don't think the whales are responsible for removing the self-vote option because they make good use of it themselves...

If people follow a trend upvoting a comment it's because they are following someone who does in a Facebook group or an online course maybe.

lol - well, "bad guys" might not be the right phrase for it!

Someone removed that option, but those of use who are older here, know it was there and go back to upvote. I upvote many small and new accounts each week, and they have no idea they have an option to upvote themselves.

I guess comment upvoting must somehow make sense financially. I have just never done it since this was one of the first things I leaned not to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47