The Purge - 500 Followers - No Celebration!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Why I Unfollowed 40% of my Steemians Today

Reading time: 2 1/2 minutes

original image source

Dear Steemians!

This is NOT your usual - Hurray - I reached 500 Followers Announcement!

Even though I just gained 500 Followers, it may be less when you read this post.

I am looking 👀 at my account, the number of comments and up-votes and ask:

That number: Is it real?

So then...

I would like to thank all valued Steemians, who read my posts regularly, comment, up-vote, res-steem and mention my posts in theirs. Awesome! Thank you for your incredible support and encouragement!

Why then the Purge?

I unfollowed about 240 Steemians today, roughly 36%.

Don't get me wrong. I love my followers, and love to follow those who post on subjects that are of mutual interest and value.

Downsizing my feed means, I can focus on those posts and comments from value-followers. It doesn't mean only whales and dolphins, it means everyone who writes superb content and who engages. That's sustainable value in my book.

The Criteria

My criteria are simple:
If I didn't recognize the handle from previous quality posts or engagement - I unfollowed. It is nothing personal.

My aim is to build a High Value Followship.

That said, it may be that you are posting quality - and it just get's swallowed up by by my inflated feed. That's why I am downsizing.


Fiat Following = Inflation

I hate Fiat money. I dislike Fiat cars. I detest inflation!

Steemians that I didn't recognize,... Let me ask you this in all honesty:

Do I provide value to you? Really? Why not engage, then?
Do you provide value to me?

I don't wish to inflate my numbers - or yours, only to be surprised to see a handful of Steemians reading my posts and engaging.

Between you and I, don't we rather have 200 value followers, than 500 who never read or respond to a post that we often put hours, even days of work in? You see, I like feedback - constructive, mind you. Otherwise, what are the benefits to either one of us?

Fallout

There may be a fallout from todays Purge!

I anticipate that a number of Steemians will unfollow me in kind - and I don't blame you.

Mea Culpa

Have I unfollowed someone who faithfully up-voted my posts in the past? Mea culpa!

Please let me know, and I will remediate. I wish to keep value followers, and follow your account.


Reunification

Getting back on the globocop track

If I unfollowed you, it isn't necessarily final. People change, grow, get better at what they do.

If you like my submissions, and would like me to follow you, all it takes is engagement and quality. Those Steemians I follow you gladly, and I truly look forward to your submissions. Just don't ask for a follow back. That account is landing on my blacklist...

If you are interested in my feed, simply up-vote and comment in this post. I will check and reply to each and every one who does.

Hope this makes sense?


Wishing you all a fantastic Sunday and an awesome week ahead! 🤠


Other recent articles by globocop:

- Earn Free Crypto With e-Dinar
- Arch Enemy within - McMaster(National Security Advisor)
- Fighting Fake News - Only 3 Minutes to Truth
- Global Warming - An Inconvenient Lie
- Happy 72nd Birthday, Rich!!! @richq11
- Proof of God's Existence - Part II

- Trump Overthrow Imminent - Calling on all Patriots
- 10 Awesome Rulz To Minnow Success
- What if the Bible was True - And I could Prove it?
- TV Frequency - A Brutal Weapon - PART-II
- Steemit Is Anarchy - Anarchy Is A Good Thing

...and many more. If you find these subjects interesting, why not follow? And if you like one of the already expired submissions, why note upvote and resteem a current post or one of my comments instead?



Thank you for reading.
globocop_small_orginalcontent.png

Proud Supporter of PAL and the - The Minnow SupportProject
Christopher "The Hat" Hatfield @globocop
Globobop Curation Trail - Make your vote Stronger - Upvoting Quality - Why not join today?

Sort:  
Loading...

"I unfollowed about 240 Steemians today, roughly 36%.

Don't get me wrong. I love my followers, and love to follow those who post on subjects that are of mutual interest and value."

GOOD FOR YOU!

LET YOUR FEED BE USEFUL, and reward the supporters and also new members of your "globoArmy" ;)

CONGRATS ON 500!

:*

Hey kid4life... Thanks my friend! You didn't make the purge - coz I remember you for all the best reasons!

Always appreciate your feedback!

:* Much love ;) Hope I help you a bit with my last post as well :))

You are a STAR... Thanks for the feature...
Much Love BACK!

;)

No prob hehe ty for kind words :))

:***

pretty much exactly why I did the same

Yeah - your ratio looks healthy. This way one can actually pay attention to the goodies...

Thanks Steve - as always!

Its good to clean from time to time and remove clutter. That goes for everything :)

Couldn't agree more... strategical and tactical approach...

Nice effort! I need some ideas on how to go about organizing the follower list. I'd like to have more filters on this single list, or else i'm going to have to manage it my own way, perhaps with a cull to begin with!

Thanks for reading!
The tool I am using to keep track of followers is: https://steem.makerwannabe.com/index.php?username=globocop&period=4

It's not real time at the moment - but up to date within 24 hours usually.

For engagement, there is non better than http://www.steemreports.com/

I am currently working on a tools post... so, out in the next couple of days.

Thank you for this information. I've gone the other direction and follow everyone I see who looks good and then some. But on the other hand, I was thinking I should unfollow people who don't post and are inactive. I did not know any place I could monitor those I follow so I will check these two out.

But I don't use my feed here. I use steemd and filter in various ways and go to those posts. I couldn't use my personal feed when it had only 50 people - too random!

I'm really glad to have some more places to check though, so thank you again. Upvoted :)

Yes, I think if too many users followed who are not on the same wave length, it fattens the feed and makes it difficult to monitor. I use these tools daily.

Happy to answer any question you may have. We are also on MSPWaves.com radio this Friday PM, and if you are listening, we may be answer questions on the air on the subject.

Well, I have a lot of questions lol. Thanks so much. This is an intricate place :)

Ask anytime :)

Thanks for the info, i'm going to take a look at these now!

There are a number of useful tools - I am sure you're aware...

You can get them from the app-center. ------->

This vid for my upcoming tools post.

PS:// I am a bit stingy with my vp just now, as I have been on a voting spree and need to recover...

Aware of some but not all, thanks again!

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by globocop from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75