CleanIt, PreenIt, SteemIt - From Minnow 2 Whale

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A Handy Housekeeping Guide To Steemit!

Now Boarding to Whalepower Land

Minnow2WhaleAirline.png
orinial image


Nine Easy Steemit Steps


In order to keep an airplane flight worthy and passengers and crew safe, every part needs to function in harmony. Regular checks are necessary to fly us to Whaleland without crashing. Like an airplane pilot who checks an aircraft before taking off, my daily Steemit maintenance routine is efficient, thorough and quick. This guide is the check list that I use daily to take off. In oder to make life easy, I have bookmarked the tools I need. These tools were developed by other Steemit users. A big thank goes to all the developers who have made his blockchain technology accessible to the lesser technologically inclined among us. Each tool's function is outlined in the the sections that follow. 🛫

Launching the brilliant Steemit tools through bookmarks is quick and it keeps me on track until the coffee kicks in. My list consists of tasks designed to:

  • Growing follow-ship,
  • Maintaining current followers
  • Keeping my feed free of low quality submissions
  • Adding value to other Steemit users...

...and doing so in the most effective way possible. Like a pilot's check list, our [Steemit Tools] are easy to access - and once my coffee cup is steaming hot set on my desk, I am in execution mode. So, let's get started.


Step: 1 - Discovering New Followers follow or follow back?


Which Tools?

Steemdb Followers -> Social -> Followers
or Steemstats.com -> Accounts -> Followed By.

To check for new followers, I use Steemdb, as it shows the most recent followers first. For checking for mutual following, Steemstats is better.

Once I have discovered a new follower, I have a friendly look at their profile so I can decide if I like to follow. I do not follow back blindly. Those who have read my previous post on the subject know why.

If you care about who follows you and want to discover the Créme de la Créme of your followers, do pay attention to every newcomer to your channel. I always take time to visit their channel. If a user has not yet created a post, I do not follow back. If a user mass follows - I tend not to follow back.

I am looking for the combination of:

  • Reputation
  • Posts
    • Post frequency
    • Resteem frequencies
    • Quality/Originality of content
    • Subject of submissions: does it really interest me? C
    • Could my content interest the Follower?
    • Could I tailor my writing to the followers/ do they inspire ideas?
    • Comments/engagement history
    • Voting habits

This sounds like a lot of data to process, but it only takes a few moments to
form a reasonably accurate picture. It is similar to the hiring process. A hiring manager usually takes an average of 3 seconds to scan the resumé of an applicant before deciding to short list or not. One quickly develops an eye to make an informed decision.


Step 2: Discovering Unfollowers


Tools: Check Unfollowers on steem.makerwannabe.com

which allows to click right through to the users channel on

Steemit.com / steemit.com

This is the most accurate tool I have found to quickly check for unfollowers.
It's an important tool, as the goal is to increase follow-ship. I would want to know why someone has unfollowed my channel. Does it coincide with a recent post I submitted or a comment I made? Was I careless, unfair or insensitive? Did I post too much? Did I stray off from my usual topics? In other words, a good way to check who left your channel the previous day and before. My tip: Unless you experience a mass exodus, don't over analyze it - and don't take it personally. 😎

The tool may look a little confusing at first - but once they eyes get used to he format, it's perfect for use. The database is updated once every 24 hours. This means we can only check for last days' unfollowers.


Step 3: Have I been Downvoted?


Tools:
Steemit.com / steemit.com
and even quicker: Steemstats.com --> Incoming Votes

There are two ways of finding out if there was a downvote.

  1. The vote indicators within the post:. A (+) next to the voter means an upvote. A (-) is a downvote, aka flag.

  2. On Steemstats --> Incoming Votes, the red indicator of a downvote is quickly spotted.

A downvote can result in reduced reputation score, monetary loss, and the greying out of a post in the feed. This is a subject on its own. It is important to understand why a downvote may have occurred to avoid a snowball effect.

Who Downvotes and Why?

There are accounts and bots that downvote. One* bot (see comment by @seemcleaners)
@Cheeta and a dedicated group of people @Steemcleaners. Both are scanning posts to detect spam, plagiarism and trolls.

Worth reading The Cheetah FAQ and the Steemcleaners Annoucement.

@Cheetah and @Steemcleaner issue an action reports daily. I would suggest to checkout the links to know what they are about, to follow and support the fight for quality at Steemit.

In addition, there are some independent users who downvote on Steemit. Some of their motivation is questionable. If you feel you have been downvoted unfairly - go to steemit.chat steemcleaners-public and try to resolve any grievance there.

Downvoting Statistics

An interesting peek here, at Steemdb downvoters shows the 20 most prolific downvoters per day. Take note! In the Lab section of Steemdb, we find other useful statistics. Nothing is a secret at Steemit.


Step 4: How did my Posts do?


Tools: Steemnow | Steemdb | SteemIt

This is the favorite part of my check list. Have I been upvoted? Have the values of my posts and comments increased? How many views?
A quick check is achieved via Steemnow. If you received many upvotes, Steemdb is better. Steemit is great for immediate responses.


Step 5: Your Steemit Inbox -- Replies


Tools:
Steemit.Com -> Blog -> Replies / steemit.com

For me, this is the engagement tool. Here, dialogue comes to life. It is here, where we see the responses to our articles and comments. It is here, where we build relationship and follow-ship. It is here, where we add value to a post, offer our views or perhaps refer to relevant material. Here, we glue things together, putting oil in the engine (or the pan)... I only ever do not respond to replies if a comment does not require an answer, or when a commentator is unreasonable, rude and/or being economical with truth or reason.


Step 6 Who Resteemed?


Tools: Steemdb.com -> Social -> Reblogged

Did omeone like your post and shared it? Super! Is it a blogger who already follows? Do I already follow? If not, should I follow? Why not add a comment to the original post, thanking the re-blogger? Building relationships by giving thanks can go a long way in building a sustainable fellow-ship.


Step 7: Checking My Reputation


Tools: Steemnow

Reputation is important. Not only does it add to influence in the community, it also is a barometer of our value-add in the community. If ones' score does not rise within a few weeks above 30, there maybe a couple of reason for that: One may be downvoted frequently or the user may not not create content, thus remains stagnant. It is worth having a look at that account, curation, voting history and blogs to know who is around, and perhaps who to avoid.

I set myself goals. From 25->35->50->70->77. I am nearly at 46, so 50 is my next milestone. Anything above 70 is ambitious but it is there for the taking. It may take some time, so persistence and quality are key. 🗝


Step 8: My Horse Power - Let's talk Steem Power! 🐎


Tools: Steemnow | Steemd | Steemdb

How much Steempower (SP) one has is based on the underlying vests, the shares in Steemit. More SP creates greater visibility of posts and increases the value a vote generates. A higher SP translates into greater earning potential for curation and authoring.

Funding the account and converting Steem Dollars or Steem into SP is an invesment. One can check SP accurately using the tools above.

Holding Steempower also attracts interest. SP can be withdrawn over a period of 13 weeks and may ve exchanged for Steem, Steem Dollars, and sold for Bitcoin and Fiat using exchanges.


Step 9: Check Voting Power ✔

Tools: 🔋 Steemnow.com | | Steemd | eSteem mobile app | SteemForThe.Win

Voting Power has two elements to it:

  1. The payout power, which is determined by the amount of SteemPower an account has on deposit. This is akin to the overall voltage of a battery.

  2. The number of votes per 24 hour period one is able to cast before having zero voting power. This is the juice left in the rechargeable battery.

The quickest and most accurate way of checking ones voting power and reward level is Steemnow

Using and recharging the battery

After the latest system upgrade hardfork (HF)19, voting power increased four-fold for all accounts. This also meant that we use-up our voting power at a four times increased rate. Voting power regenerates at a rate of 20% per 24hours, resulting in 0.833% recharge per hour. This excellent explanation by @rahul.stan is worth a look.

We can look at Voting Power as a rechargeable battery. We use up power and the more power we use, the weaker our votes become, decreasing at 2% per vote of the remainder of power for each vote at 100%. This means everyone has 50 votes per day. Users with around 500 SP or more can assign a percentage of voting power to increase the number of votes at reduced pay-out per vote.

Using the mobile app for Steem eSteem by @good-karma, we can also easily check voting power. An added bonus is the ability to reduce the voting percentage for each vote cast. Please check out the eSteem Review Here to learn more.

Steemforthe.win shows the time that is needed to recharge the battery. I aim not to let my VP drop below 70%, ideally keeping it between 80-100%.

Before you go...


Bonus: Patting yourself on the back


Tool Honor Badges via Steemboard => [Awards] => [Personal]

This is a good one page overview of totals achieved, like posts submitted, comments written, incoming and outgoing votes, etc. Looking at these badges gives a sense of satisfaction and it does motivate to steem-on.

How about you? Are you doing other things to keep your account tidy? Is there a better way of doing things? Please let me know in the Comments below.

Thanks for reading.

ch @globocop

If you found this post useful, why not
[UPVOTE] - [COMMENT] - [RESTEEM]

and [FOLLOW] if you're not already on board.

logo1_totalitarian.eu SHA256 Alpha 300.png

logo © 2017 copyright globocop

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @globocop!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Thanks @globocop. I wasn't aware of steemstats, but thanks to your blog I am now.

Appreciate your reading. :)

good tutorial for newbie!

Thank you @asksisk ! Much appreciate your support. 💁

@bullionstackers please check.

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Thanks, great article. So much info there!
I'll have to re-read though, because I don't understand how I have rep=36, SP=28, but with voting power over 90%... my upvote is wort $0.01 🤔
When I started it was worth $0.03 @ 100%

It's battery power... :)
Thanks for reading and commenting. There is a link that explains Voting power v well.

Appreciate the upvote! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lp from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am new here, just my first day and had the chance to find your blog post. Thanks, very useful.

Cheers @bluemoon Lot's of info - keep for reference. Some may make more sense after a few days.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for your kind reply. I saved your post to read more and aply later.

It takes a while to get ones head around things.
Here is a useful search: asksteem.com

Thank you for your help!

I was in need of this! You and I have a lot in common. I have been following people back though and now I am on a journey to clean that mess up.

This posts is definitely worth a read, upvote and resteem. Nice post! I am much impressed and I can see you going past 70 in time (if your remain consistent).

Glad to follow you. Looking forward to seeing more from you.

Hello @ilyastarar THANKS for your resteem, comment and upvote. You're right, the road from Minnow2Whale produces positive results for those who are preening their accounts and curating, and of course, deliver original content. 💹

I noticed you're holding some STEEM in your wallet. I am no financial expert, but in my experience, converting STEEM to SteemPower will allow the Steem to work for you. STEEM, unless you need liquidity and are ready to trade it, is not doing much for an account holder due to its volatility. The only drawback is that SteemPower is locked in for 13 weeks - hence the increased rewards. I see Steemit as a long term investment.

If you convert it to SteemPower, it increases ones' earning potential, visibility of posts and interest payments.
In order to find relevant posts, I am using asksteem.com...

Anyway - All the best to your trip to Whaleland as well...

Thanks for reading. 😎

globocop_small_orginalcontent.png
ch @globocop

[Upvote] [Comment] [Resteem] [Follow]

Worthy advice and I totally agree. I have some Steem held in my wallet to tade. I completed my cryptocurrency trading course just 10 minutes ago and I need some market experience. SBD and Steem are tradeable coins so I will definitely use them to get some experience.

I had some 200 SBD and I have all of them but most of them are waiting for pending orders to be filled. I plan to buy more Steem and then power up. With some SBD and Steem, I want to gain some market exposure too.

Just waiting for Poloniex to list SBD and Steem properly to start.

Ok - makes sense.

Good luck with the trading.

Thanks. Even for powering up, I don't want to sell my SBD at cheap rate.

PS:// You might also like this slightly older article for reference:
https://steemit.com/followers/@globocop/love-thy-feed-the-art-of-building-value-followers

Great collection of tools there!
Keep up the good work and never give up. :)

Thank you @danielsaori Much appreciate! :)

I just wanted to write... - sometimes... -

When I feel, I've got something to share, some thoughts - brain garbage as I spell, or some good investment ideas, or something of which I hope to get a response, so I can get another point of view, create another inside world... - that's steemit for me - right now!

For how long, I can't even say, maybe I don't even care!? Because the last few days I recognized that in here it's just the same as nearly anywhere else: a few "Uprights" trying to build a new worth-to-live-in-system, of which the rest gives less than a shit.

Yesterday I read a post by biophil - quite disgusting how some try to make a quick buck out of thin air like the FED's creating US-$ out of their citizens' blues.

Your article is as informative as someone could wish. STEP 5 is the one I like most!

P.S.: "Guten Menschen mangelt es an bösen Phantasien." -
My fault... - of which I'm more than proud of!!!!!

I hear you brother. There is an easy remedy: Think not of the dark things, but of that which is good, honorable...

Phil 4:8 says it best:
Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable--if anything is excellent or praiseworthy--think about such things.

So, etwas darauf stolz zu sein! 😎

Thanks for your support!

Well said! Appreciate it!

This Phil 4:8 verse - is buried deep down in my heart; it's the way I try to step on towards any single situation in my life, any single man I meet - to be a aware of the beauty even inside nastiness, hidden behind brick walls... of greed... hatred... rage... selfishness... and lies -

My beloved Guru Deva Paramahansa Yogananda once said: "You can throw a piece of gold into the ocean, and even if it's lasting there hundreds of years, surrounded by mud and sludge, it will always just be a piece of gold."

And every single one of us carries this POG inside, but only a few know of their true power given by God!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16