How I Earned 300 Followers in 20 Days

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)
Thank you to my followers who interact with me on a regular basis. Without you, I wouldn't have the umph to continue posting like I do. I need to tell you that your interaction really brings light to my day and I look forward to all comments posted by you to me. Please keep it up, chat with me, and ask me questions. I am here for the community and I want to get to know you!

Yeah, sure the $ is nice too, but, really I am really looking for community and belonging.

So, you're wondering maybe how this newbie over here earned 300 followers in just 20 days? Well, I am kind of wondering it myself... But, I will tell you how I did it!

300

Made an Introduction Post

Firstly I made a bomb down to earth introduction post. I made sure to touch on subjects I think I will write about and subjects I'm interested in. I was very genuine in my introduction post, making sure that I talked about things that let my readers get a feel for who I am as a person. I made sure to include photos of me and my family so that the readers could see me as a real person and not just some other computer tippy typing away. (My Intro Post)

Found My People and Joined a Community

Since I am a homesteader (or well trying to be!) and plan to talk about my homesteading life, I searched high and low for fellow homesteaders and gardeners. I was working on finding a small bit of my own community loop. I started following them and I made comments on their posts telling them that I am new to Steemit, am a fellow homesteader, and I plan to write about my homesteading adventures. Of course, I also commented on their own unique and individual things I found interesting in their posts. I made sure to look through their blog posts and find a few to comment on and relate to.
  • A fabulous list of Homesteaders and Preppers that @pennsif put together!
  • The Homesteading Friend Train by @daddykirbs
  • The Gardening Friend Train by @daddykirbs


    I also found @steemitbc - I just love that little community. You can go check it out for yourself, but I do plan on making a post about them, and my experience there in the near future!

    Stated My Intentions

    After posting my introduction and getting a feel for how the Steemit community worked by surfing around and trying to meet people, I felt a strong urge to state my intentions to you as a fellow Steemian (or as I like to call us, Steemies). I really wanted people to know what I planned to do with my Steemit. I made a post stating my Hopes and Intentions for Steemit.

    I have noticed that transparency and being genuine is very important here on Steemit. People want to get to know you. I think this has to do with the monetary factor in Steemit. They want to know that their hard earned upvote $ will be going to a good home. Or at least, what they feel is a good home. They want to know you. It's always nice knowing about the people you're supporting. Even if it's just taking the time to comment or upvoting them one cent.

    Posted Articles

    I started posting my own articles. This is the kicker, you gotta post about stuff that interests you, or else it wont be fun. I try not to worry about what I think might interest others, even though that's really difficult. If I am interested or uninterested in something I am writing about, I know my attitude shows in the article. I promise it shows in yours too. People just know when you're not being genuine. I don't know how, but we just know.

    One of my first articles was How to Make a Chick Brooder. I wouldn't say it went over well, but it didn't go over badly either. I do recommend saving some of your real good and helpful posts until after you've earned at least 100 followers. I only say this because now this post of mine, which I think is real great, is pretty buried. It can no longer make earnings, but at least it is still out there providing help for someone interested in building a chick brooder. I do wish I would have waited until maybe 200-250 followers to make this article. Hey, you live, you learn. I will probably make new brooders the next time I raise chicks, so at least I can make a new post and revamp it to be even better.

    In my articles I always try to have at the very least, one image. Images are important, images capture people's attention and brings new light into what you're trying to say. Make the image relevant, and do your best to use as many of your own original images as you can. Yes, you can use images from wherever, as long as they're relevant to your post, but be sure to state where you've borrowed your image from, always.

    Posting Articles on a Regular Basis

    My own personal goal is to post every day - I am giving myself leniency on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays (this is because this is when a lot of stuff gets done around the homestead) so far I haven't had to give myself that leniency. Now, I might not get a post out until 11:45pm, but, even when I procrastinate so long, I am happy and proud of myself for posting every day so far. Posting on a regular basis shows people that they can rely on you putting out content. Now, most of the time, I post one article. But there are times where I get the inspiration and I MUST publish a second article that day.

    I recommend posting at least once a day if you can. If you can't that's really fine too! But be reliable, cause I guarantee there's that one follower who is looking forward to your next post! You don't want to leave them hanging for too long! And if not, you're building up a good habit any way. Developing your skills and working your brain to produce better and better content each time.

    So pick at least 3 days a week that you will post something, anything, a photo you took that day with an explanation of it, or what you did that day, whatever. Just be consistent and provide information you find interesting. If it's interesting to you, there is someone, somewhere out there who is also interested!

    Let You Know How Your Upvote $ Will Help Me

    I try to post things about myself that I would interested in other people posting. I took the time to divulge some information that one just doesn't tell the average Joe. I told you What Will Happen With My Steemit Earnings. This has to do with me stating my intentions, being genuine and transparent. I felt like it was yet another way for my readers to see the real me.

    Verified Myself

    I cannot say whether or not this really has had anything to do with whether or not people decide to follow me. But, Steemit suggested when I joined, to include an image of myself, with a piece of paper stating my username, the date and also writing Steemit (I say "Hey Steemies") somewhere on the paper. This obviously is optional. However, since it was suggested, I decided it wouldn't be such a bad thing. On the plus side, it makes me get up and get ready (put on make up and look decent, at least) for the day. I can't just plaster my face on the internet looking like a raggamuffin - I gotta look presentable.

    Interacted with My People

    This has to be the most important part of my suggestions here. Interaction here on Steemit is the KEY to gaining true followers. Interacting with your people lets them know you care about them and what they're posting. Now, you can't just say things like "Great article!". You REALLY need to connect with what they're saying. If you're not interested in what they're saying today, don't comment. That's okay.

    Followed People

    But, don't just follow people all willy nilly. This will just clog up your feed and you'll never see the content you really care about. Just because you follow someone, don't expect them to follow you back. It's not a requirement. They might not be interested in your content, and we need to realize that is OK. Go back around to wanting to see what you care about in your feed.

    I realize I have 300 Followers, however, only maybe around 10 interact with me on a regular basis. I reward those people by interacting with them back. I be sure and go over to their blog to see what they've posted, if I am interested in their content, I will follow them. However, if I am not, I wont follow them. But, I will take a minute and try to find a post by them and genuinely comment upon it.


    BE GENUINE


    This is the absolute most important tip off I feel I can give you. Be you, be real, be kind.

    This is what I've done and I plan on continuing in this fashion. I feel like I am staying genuine to who I am, and being transparent to you. I hope that my experience here can help guide you on your own Steemit path of greatness!


    As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

    koodge in cone

    Koodge is in a cone of shame today. He keeps messing with an owie he has. He is obviously not impressed. And I am going to hell cause I keep laughing. Hahaha.

    Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


    Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

    Blog Series

    • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!
    • Just click here to see all my posts in one place!

    daddykirbsallforthegood
    Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!










Sort:  

@FarmStead... Sound advice...

UpVoted & Following You 4 about a week

Thank You 4 sharing... Cheers !!

Oh cool! I am glad you are! I hope you're enjoying it! Thank you!

Nice job!

Omg, that made me snort. Hahahahahha. Thank you!

You're welcome!

congratulations on your 300 , i got mine yesterday then one left another came another left going back and forward :) i'll just wait for nr 555 or so :)

Hahah Yeah, that's why I screen shot it. Hahahaha. That was happening to me over the last few days with people coming and going. Ah well!

Congrats!! Really impressive what you've been able to do; It's been awesome trailing along with you!

Awe thanks, man!! I am happy you're tagging along! <3 Thank you!

Another great post laying out some clear guidance for newbies like me. I read the white paper 3 times and still actually learn more by reading helpful posts like this one.
Navigating around the bots which I still don't get most of the time, it's cool to come across someone just being honest about their intentions.
This is probably why you have grown so fast. No nonsense down to earth truth. Well done. You just got a new follower, upvote and resteem.
Triple whammy lol I don't expect a follow back either but I will keep checking in to see what you are doing. The whole homesteading thing is really quite interesting.

Well thanks man! I appreciate the real thoughtful comment! I appreciate everything! I hoped these would be some useful bits for newbies! :) I'm glad to hear they are!

I try to live my life no-nonsense! Probably why I live in the middle of nowhere! Haha

Thank you for stopping in and taking time to leave a real great comment! Keep going like this and you'll soar!

Well, thank you too for replying. I know it can get quite hectic when you have many followers. btw If you live in the middle of nowhere that's about 10 miles from me lol
My broadband speed is from the stone age.

Well, I may have 300 followers, but I only get interaction from MAYBE 20, I think that's being generous also. Haha. But I really try hard to reply to every "real" comment I get! Because it's important to me that you guys know I'm here and available and appreciate you taking the time!

Thankfully, my internet is actually pretty alright! I only live about 10 minutes outside of a small town of around 2,000 people, but it's the middle of no where cause I have one visible neighbor, the rest are 3+ miles away. I live in the National Grasslands here in Central Oregon - so I look out back, and I see no humans! Wooooo!

Haha, I have to give you the props for being really in the middle of nowhere. I live in a small village in the Cambridgeshire countryside. There are about 50 houses in total so everyone knows everyone.
By Uk standards, this place is 'remote'. The nearest town is 9 miles away.
I hear what you say about the follower interaction. In my experience, it works out to between 5%, 10% or 20% of followers that interact consistently if you are lucky. Many people follow me and just like to read or watch my videos and find it difficult to write comments for a multitude of reasons.
I have followers that have been following me for almost a decade and the most they have ever said is. Hi. But they are still there watching and reading. That's fine by me. Not everyone is as verbose as me lol

Ha. Yeah, I wish I had the chance when I lived in Europe to visit your part of the world! Alas, I had other business. Hahah.

We can be verbose together!

We can be the loquacious twins. A bit of verbosity goes a very long way haha. Where were you in Europe? Nothing is really far away here. I travelled the USA on the Greyhound buses many years ago. New York to L.A. that was a trip.
I took a slow 7 weeks to get across but it was brilliant to stop off all over the place.

Hahaha I'll be honest, had to look up loquacious! Did not mean what I thought it might have meant! Haha

I lived in southern Germany for four years cause my husband was in the US Army. I tell ya, I miss it dearly!! My heart is left behind there for sure!

Great job!. Silly question, where do you search for communities? I am new, and dont know anything about it. Any help would be greatly appreciated! following.

Thanks for following! I'll try to help you the best I can. Basically for me, I looked at the tags page, and clicked on stuff I was interested in. I also used the search feature to type in subjects I am interested in. :D I hope that helps!

Very helpful, thanks again!!!

Anytime! Let me know if you have anymore questions and I'll try and help you out!

I earned 511 in less than 21 days...

Good on you, man.

🌻Congrats! I always enjoy our convos!

Thank you! I'm so glad you do! <3

Poor Koodge! I think you really hurt his feelings with the cone of shame.

Well, if he would let his owie heal!!

Congratulations on your milestone! From what I've seen of your posts and interaction it is well deserved.

Awe well thank you!! :) Thanks for stopping in, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62891.03
ETH 3103.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89