Life is Precious #4 - Intuition and the Wisdom of Listening to your Inner Guide

in #life7 years ago

The blazing July Sun beat down on me like a late-night searchlight following an escaped prisoner. The day - which started out balmy - quickly became sticky and oppressive. In the summer of 2013, it seemed like a giant translucent bowl had been dropped over the entire city trapping all the stuffiness in and keeping a welcoming breeze out. Kind of reminded me of that Stephen King book where everyone in a small town is kept under a huge dome and the very sky itself becomes an enemy.

A Walk on the Wild Side

I was now beginning to regret my hasty decision to take a slow walk downtown as beads of sweat started to line up like miniature soldiers ready to attack my protesting forehead. However it was on the way home that things really changed.

I've always had these "feelings" (and assumed everyone else did too) a little silent sentry inside, that would nudge me when needed. Varying in intensity and frequency - sometimes right and sometimes wrong - This innate warning system had saved my ass before and was about to yet again...

A Warning from the Inside...

Turning the corner heading home, I ended up on the uncomfortably sunny side of the street. Hungrily eyeing the cooler shade just across the way, I stopped near a driveway and turned right to cross. At that exact moment a wave of deep unease and foreboding came over me, with an inner warning to stay on the hot side.

This "feeling" was strong and getting ever stronger by the second, pushing me to stay put, even though I was dying to go. Over the years I've learned to trust this gentle guidance as it's been right, way more often than wrong. I'm thinking "Fine, I'll stay on this blazing hot side!" Not seeing any benefit in doing so and wondering how in the world this could possibly help me. But all of that was about to change...

Anguish and Awareness...

Crossing the intersection and making it a little distance down the sidewalk, I heard the squeal of tires to my right just behind me, then beeping horns followed by boom! BOOM! BOOM!! Turning around to look, I saw there had been a multi-vehicle collision involving a white van packed with workers and several cars. A crowd began to form and, watching with them, a slow-building realization hit me that if I had ignored my intuition and crossed that street - I would have been right in the middle of the accident - pinned between the van and the first car.

Blood, screams and the wails of the injured filled the air alongside sirens which seemed to appear out of nowhere. There was no time to react. Help had already arrived.

Trust your Feelings

Overcome with relief, I told some neighbors "that was almost me, I would have been right there if I had crossed the street!" Emergency personnel arrived almost immediately since we were in the business district. But this horrific day again, taught me the value of listening to that inner early-warning system. It has saved me many times. So I ask anyone reading this. Have you had a similar situation where intuition worked in your life? I'm thankful it did in mine.

Follow @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Join Steemfollower now, to Get More Upvotes & Followers!

image credit: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

Life is Precious #3 - The Rebel at 5:45 - Where Free Will and Fate Collide

Life is Precious #2 - Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Life is Precious #1 - China's Big Bang


Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

listening to that inner early-warning system. It has saved me many times.

This i-e-w-s is recognized by many names. In the Christian faith, HE is the Holy Spirit. (John 15:26-27)

Thanks for sharing this very well-ordered and inspirational post! I know how difficult it is to keep a lengthy piece cohesive and error-free.

Peace.

Thank you so much. The temptation to cross over to "the cool side of the street" was so strong that I almost gave in. I remember thinking how strange it was to feel the need to stay on the oven-like hot side, when apparent relief was so close by.

As in life...taking, what seems, is the easiest way, is often fraught with many sorrows. ✌!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received gratitude of 22.22 % from @appreciator thanks to: @evernoticethat.

Wow, such a great story. I also had several cases like this in my life and learned to trust my feelings through it. Yet, I would say sometimes they guide you to avoid serious troubles but lead you to fantastic opportunities in other cases. Listen to yourself should be something that people need to learn from their young age.

Image Source

That's so true @sashagenji I've always believed in something bigger than ourselves "out there" I'm just glad to be here to share my account with others.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 66.0% @cryptomancer upgoat, thanks to @evernoticethat
It consists of $2.23 vote and $0.74 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @evernoticethat to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi Andrew!

Kind of you to say that. I just looked at your post and as I'm now readying myself to head out for an endless class today, I'll take a real look at it when I return. What I can tell you now is, I tried meditating a few times in the past, but could never "quiet the mind" enough. Anyone that can do that, has my full respect! :)

In a sense, one could say that a meditation practice teaches one to live completely through intuition. Meaning, they live completely moment to moment, without pause for overthinking. Intuition IS EVERYTHING, brother. Cool story!

I think the issue with me may be my logical mind. As a kid I drove my mother crazy asking her questions like: "Why is the sky blue instead of red?," or "Why don't dogs live as long as people" etc. At the very least, I'm glad intuition is there to help me choose to take the right forks on life's trail.

That's it's exactly, man haha. Our modern society is addicted to thoughts. We've been conditioned to rely entirely on logic and intellect. And you know as well as I do, that that's at a detriment to our intuition. Neither is good or bad though. We all just have to find our own balance between logic and intuition.

Hi - great story and huge reminder of why its so important to cultivate that inner awareness and knowing (whatever "spiritual" path we choose to follow- so that not only its can help steer you in the direction that keeps you on your path -whatever you define that to be- and also listen to those smaller nudges ,hunches and feelings.

Thanks. I can note that the frequency and intensity of those feelings vary depending on the situation. Many times, so gentle and faint, that if one were not recepitve to them, you'd never realize they were there at all. It almost seems like "it" or "they" don't want to override your free will. So you're given just enough information to make a balanced choice.

Congratulations @evernoticethat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42