15 Powerful Persuasive Tips To Guarantee A Respond on Steemit - Part 2

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

15 Powerful Persuasive Tips To Guarantee A Respond on Steemit

- Part 2

Persuasive people have an uncanny ability to get you leaning toward their way of thinking. Their secret weapon is likeability. They get you to like more than their ideas; they get you to like them.

In Part 1 we covered points (1 to 5) about our Audience, How to Connect, Being Relax, Being Confident, and Being Positive, if you missed Part 1 here is the link: 15 Powerful Persuasive Tips To Guarantee A Respond on Steemit - Part 1

You can read it in any order, entirely up to you. Let's continue with Part 2:

Here are point 6 to 10 of the 15 tricks of the trade that exceptionally persuasive people use to their advantage.


6. They Are Clear and Concise

Persuasive people are able to communicate their ideas quickly and clearly. When you have a firm grasp on what you’re talking about, it’s fun and easy to explain it to those who don’t understand. A good strategy here is to know your subject so well that you could explain it to a child. If you can explain yourself effectively to someone who has no background on the subject, you can certainly make a persuasive case with someone who does.


Test for Being Simple and Clear - Make Sure It's Kids Proof
clear and concise2.jpg

How do we apply this on Steemit?

Ask yourself these questions:

  • Does my post or reply have enough information?

  • Can I summarize my post or reply so it's shorter and simpler?

  • Can I reword my post or reply so it gets to the point faster and clearer?


7. They Are Genuine

Being genuine and honest is essential to being persuasive. No one likes a fake. People gravitate toward those who are genuine because they know they can trust them. It’s difficult to believe someone when you don’t know who they really are and how they really feel.

Persuasive people know who they are. They are confident enough to be comfortable in their own skin. By concentrating on what drives you and makes you happy as an individual, you become a much more interesting and persuasive person than if you attempt to win people over by trying to be the person they want you to be.


Congruence and Self-Acceptance Is The Peaceful Gateway To Genuine Happiness
genuine2.JPG

How do we apply this on Steemit?

Ask yourself these questions:

  • Am I sharing what I'm passionate about?

  • Am I replying and posting in a sincere way that is inline with my beliefs and principles?


8. They Acknowledge Your Point of View

An extremely powerful tactic of persuasion is to concede the point. Admit that your argument is not perfect. This shows that you are open minded and willing to make adjustments, instead of stubbornly sticking to your cause. You want your audience to know that you have their best interests at heart. Try using statements such as, “I see where you are coming from,” and “That makes a lot of sense.” This shows you are actively listening to what they are saying and you won’t just force your ideas upon them. Persuasive people allow others to be entitled to their opinions and they treat these opinions as valid. They do this because it shows respect, which makes the other person more likely to consider their point of view.


acknowledgement2.jpg

How do we apply this on Steemit?

Ask yourself these questions, especially when you are replying to others:

  • How can I recognize and show that I recognize their point of view?

  • What difference of opinion can I set aside to consider a new idea?

  • And probably the most important question here, how can I stay humble in my words and in my deeds?


9. They Ask Good Questions

The biggest mistake people make when it comes to listening is failing to hear what’s being said because they are focusing on what they’re going to say next or how what the other person is saying is going to affect them. The words come through loud and clear, but the meaning is lost. A simple way to avoid this is to ask a lot of questions. People like to know you’re listening, and something as simple as a clarification question shows not only that you are listening but also that you care about what they’re saying. You’ll be surprised how much respect and appreciation you gain just by asking questions.


einstein2.jpg

How do we apply this on Steemit?

Firstly listen Intently and fully immerse yourself into their point of view.

Note, this is applicable not just in replies, but also in the chat tools, and also paying attention to other people's post. Great listening will often lead to inspiration and to brilliant ideas that your followers will love to read about.

Ask yourself these questions:

  • Do I need clarification of any of their points? if you do, then you must ask for an elaboration.

  • How can I summarize what they have told me? If you can't, ask for clarification.

  • How can I positively acknowledge their point even if I disagree with some or most of it? Always see the good in any point even if it's the intend or just the motive.


10. They Paint a Picture


Story.png

Research shows that people are far more likely to be persuaded by something that has visuals that bring it to life. Persuasive people capitalize on this by using powerful visual imagery. When actual images aren’t available or appropriate, these people tell vivid stories that breathe life into their ideas. Good stories create images in the mind of the recipients that are easy to relate to and hard to forget.

How do we apply this on Steemit?

Ask yourself these questions:

  • What is my story here? It does not matter if it's a long story, short story, or even a micro story.....share the story.

Here is good example Jim Carrey Telling It Like a Story:

(

)


I'll will stop here so your mind can take a rest and digest Part 2 first.

You will be able to continue with the final Part shortly as I continue to work on it, and I hope that it will be best part of all 3, so please stay tuned and check back on my blog for an update in the next 24hours.

In the mean time start thinking of ways to apply these effective tips to become powerfully persuasive right here on Steemit. May you enjoy greater fruits of success in all that you do on this platform, as well as in life.


Note: If you have not read the other parts, here is Part 1 or Part 3. You can read it in any order, entirely up to you. However, if you are rushing, please take your time and come back to read when you have a solid 10 minutes to get the most from it.

Have a Great Week Ahead,

Always at your counsel,
Dr.SMWong


P.S. I would deeply appreciate it if you could take some time to leave me a thoughtful message or feedback.

P.S.S. If you believe these principles will help you succeed, then please Follow me (@drsinmongwong) for more weekly inspiration, and Re-Steem to add lasting value to your followers.


Links and References:
1.image, 2.image, 3.image, 4.image, 5.image, 6.video, Habits of likeable people Dr.Travis Bradberry

Sort:  

Hello Readers,

This is DrSM here, I'm putting this comment in so you can up-vote this reply if you find this past 7-days article useful and encouraging.

If you SP is draining (under 50%) or you are a small minnow, a small token is sufficient, your up-vote will be an indicator for me that you benefited from this (this will greatly encourage me to write more on this topic in the future).

I would also appreciate any feedback.

Will leave you with a quote written by another Steemian who understand the blockchain better than myself, I quote tongue in cheek, "Upvote talks and Bullshit walks" :)

I wish you all the very best!

In Your Service,
DrSMWong

P.S.I'm self-up-voting so people can see this experimentation

I very rarely like this sort of post in general. Providing advice to others is a lot easier and a lot less painful than taking an honest look at oneself and changing deep-rooted behaviors. My first instinct is to mistrust someone when they are giving advice to other people - very often the sort of person that likes to advise others is the very same person who most needs to take their own advice.

I don't get that feeling with you. You do seem to walk the walk as well as talk the talk, which of course makes your message that much more impactful. I think you manage a very rare feat, in that you have gone beyond the same tired platitudes and have somehow managed to take the usual ingredients and created a really delicious meal for the soul. There is a lot to digest here. I can't say I disagree with a single thing I read in these two posts, but even so, and even knowing that these are things I am aware of already and consciously work toward, the way you have phrased everything so clearly is a wonderful inspiration to do even better. Look out Steemit, here I come! Full of positivity, vim and vigor!

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash (and also one of the @r-bot curators)




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Hello @humanbot,

You write like an astute and perceptive human, so you shall earn the respect and honor that you deserve.

I really enjoy reading your thoughtful feedback. I'm grateful that I can share a little bit of wisdom and tips, and it can enriched you so dearly. It is undeniable, truthful knowledge is like food to the soul.

And your respond is like what the proverb says, "Gracious words is like honey, sweet to the soul, and healthy for the body". You have honored me with your meaningful feedback, there can be no higher praise that one student can give another.

In Your Service,
DrSMWong

I've read the above and I want to let it simmer for a while and I'll be back to respond with my thoughts.

In the meantime, I just want to say that your goodness comes through in your writing - which I guess you will claim comes from you following your own rules.

Strange, I upvoted but you did not get even one cent from me, but when I upvoted your comments, you got 2 cents. I do not like that comments carry more weight than the articles that provoked the comments.

Thank you for showing up @arthur.grafo,

Yes, please let the thoughts marinade. I would rather you connect with deeper thoughts and to see you come to an amazing and enlighten realization you can share than to rush an idea prematurely.

I can see that wisdom and patience is a dear companion of yours. Till I hear from you again.

Highest Regards,
DrSMWong

I am not much of a high jumper, maybe half a metre is my max - and you've just raised the post to one and a half metres for me with your complimentary comment. btw - I have never understood why I am not good at the 'high jump', why gravity seems to exert more of a drag on me than it does on my fellow-humans (and kangaroos?) who all can jump higher than me. I decided to attribute this fact to a theory of balance. All gurus tell us the universe likes to find balance in all things. So it would see that just because I love to soar in my dreams, flying among the stars, in my physical life I am condemned to remain anchored to the Earth and reality.

When I started to read this post, I was not too happy with it. Here I am being told, don't use your knowledge like a steel hammer, for hitting the idiots with facts, no, be courteous, be persuasive in gentle ways and so on. I said to myself, he is ignoring the destructive changes in our society - and I don't buy into it.

With a bloodthirsty grin, I waited to read all the article before I blast our dear Dr Sin - and then with just one little picture he knocked my feet from under me.

What am I talking about? The one change Mankind has gone through which has been used by calculating and evil people to weaken us, is what we call 'political correctness' (PC). The feelings of everyone else are of prime importance; not the truth and not our own feelings, just those of the spoilt generation, the millenials and the shallow movie actors

The good Dr then snuck in the sneaky picture (which is not better than a thousand words, for all it is, is words.) To quote: It takes a warrior's courage to acknowledge that your point of view matters....

Thank you. Now I can concentrate on what you have to say and learn a bit more about how to stop mishandling my relationships (It has also inspired me to make a post which will make me unpopular and seem [remember, I did say 'seem'] to contradict what this post teaches, but I believe it is about time somebody speaks up).

.

I realised that I am being told that my emotional and my subconscious fears are dictating how I behave towards others. If someone talks utter nonsense (as I often do, being a dreamer and thus not very 'down to earth'), if what they say (whether correct or not) challenges my worldview, then I react at an instinctive level, for that nasty little worm that lives in the background of my mind taunts me with, "what if he/she is right?"

Only chidren are supposed to react to such stimuli. this though shows me that this series of three posts is not only attempting to teach us how to persuade others; they are also teaching us that to be effective, we must grow up, be mature and learn to think with reason and emotions nicely balanced (yea, damn that universe and its phobias, sometimes it is fun to be a bit unbalanced, somebody should teach it how to laugh at itself now and then).

What brought about these last paragraphs of mine was the thought, when I sit with financiers in the hope of convincing them to finance me, I am just as careful, caring of their worldview and constantly placing myself in their shoes so that I can convince them to back me. This means, that when I am not allowing my fears, conscious or not, to lead me by the nose, then I do exactly as the good Dr is teaching us.

One more small point to bring up. When somebody says something that is obviously false or not well thought out and backed by weak arguments, without us realising it, we tend to allow them to generate in us a feeling of contempt for them. Maybe a few do deserve it (due to their lack coming about due to laziness), but it is more likely that all that is happening is, they are putting forth their arguments ineffectively because they don't know enough, or else, because they just are incapable of stringing their arguments in a logical and convincing manner.

I've tried this mental trick a time or two and it is funny how it affects me. I analyse what it is they believe and want to say and then rearrange it so as to put forth their argument for them in a seemingly logical manner. I've actually passed on such results and had the person react with arguments as to why I am wrong. I stop arguing, for the irony is too delicious for me to want to spoil the moment.

Well, I better end this mishmash of a comment, before I end up confusing myself beyond redemption.

I fully up-voted my dear @arthur.grafo,

I could not have said it better.

It has also inspired me to make a post which will make me unpopular and seem [remember, I did say 'seem'] to contradict what this post teaches, but I believe it is about time somebody speaks up

Write that post, I eagerly look forward to reading it. Many great findings originates from thought experiment that eventually results in the proof of counter intuitive but dependable outcomes.

P.S. Please remember to embed as many of the techniques as you like, much like @cheneats did, see his respond to Part 3

Highest Regards,
DrSMWong

My way of writing is so different from yours, I don't think you can even imagine trying to write my way.

I imagine you start with an end in mind, you have an idea of what you want to say and what the conclusion should be, you set out the skeleton and then flesh it out.

Not me. None of my writing is like that. I only have the first sentence or paragraph and as I write, I follow wherever my writing takes me.

I suspect there is a tiny alien living in my mind and he leads my writing so that it can reach a conclusion....thank goodness.
:)

I have the little proverbial alien too, I assure you.

Originally, I wrote this as 7 points, with only 2 in mind on a totally different title, then it became 12, and later, I copied and contextualized it for Steemian and it became 15.

Then I was in the restroom and realize this is way too long like the other post that almost made the readers passed out from exhausion.

So after flushing and washing my hands, I quickly broke it into a third before the first post.

Thank goodness for the little alien :)

I wrote the post...but I had a crash and it is gone!

I'll take a few hours off and then write it all over again.

Destruction is part of the creative process. Keep diving into ti descriptive yet determine friend @arthur.grafo

@drsinmongwong i recognize most of your posts, it drives my spirit.
in reference to this current post of yours, i observe some of your words that are logical and informative such as:

"They get you to like more than their ideas; they get you to like them." most people dnt know about it as a fact.

"6. They Are Clear and Concise" posting good posts shouldnt be long, as for me, i hardly read 70% of most posts people place on steemit because they are to long, they should always have it in mind that there are still hundreds of posts to read, vote and comments on. therefore, posts such be short and concised.

Good job @drsinmongwong

Well done @hollacute, you have gotten 2 pearls of wisdom that you can use in your post and to become successful in your writings. If you find this valuable, consider re-steeming this so your community of friends and followers can see how your are finding and sharing great value, multiplying your influence to everyone you meet on Steemit.

Thank you again for leaving a thoughtful message, and dropping an encouragement by sharing how this can be applied to your life, I could not ask for anymore than this.

In Your Service,
Dr.SMWong

another great post! thanks for sharing your tips! peace and love

Greeting @lollobrown,

Glad to see you enjoyed the post. The next and exciting part is ready, I designed it so that you would enjoy the ending.

What a great saying, Much Peace and Love to You Too!

DrSMWong

Another excellent blog! I like how you use images and video to make it more interesting to engage your readers. Keep up the good work! I keep learning from you.

Hi @cheneats,

I'm glad you like it. I'm also trying to be creative and experiment here on Steemit. I have to wear glasses to read so I'm a little slow but I'm learning the ropes here.

Please feel free to use any of my styles and techniques that you find effective. The more I can share with others, the greater the reward will be for all of us.

Really appreciate you coming to read and leave your feedback. When you have the time, could you please give me some feedback on Part 3, it's ready for your wonderful review as always.

In Your Gratitude,
DrSMWong

OK, I look forward to reading and learning from it!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you @followforupvotes, I appreciate the random selection, must be my good karma. * smile *

Congratulations @drsinmongwong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @drsinmongwong

All these tips are wonderful and fully packed with high level of intelligence. I can't agree with these less. If all these are taken into consideration, we will have a better community.

I love every bit of them all but Number 7 got me thinking.

They Are Genuine

The best way to live life is to live an original life because there's no one that will prefer to fully committed with someone who lives a fake life. Though living a genuine life sometimes might not get you the required attention at first but at the end of it all you will be free with yourself and the right people will surely come knocking at your door. it is a pity that even in #steemit community, we see varieties of people that will be living fake and contrary to their believes all in the name of rewards,they forgot that there's life outside #steemit. The more genuine we are, the more relaxed we become and the more confidence we build

Thanks for sharing this.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

You got a 6.45% upvote from @upme requested by: @joshua-golbuu.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53