Steem.Supply Update: Taking Into Account Posts With 100% Steem Power, Blog Mentions

in #steemit7 years ago

One of the latest requests for Steem.Supply was the ability to correctly identify and display the rewards for posts with 100% Steem Power. As you already know, when you post on the Steemit blockchain you can choose to have rewards 50/50 (meaning 50% Steem/SBD and 50% Steem Power), 100% Steem Power (meaning everything will go directly in the Steem Power account) and "decline payout" (meaning you won't get any rewards for it).

Until now, the posts published with 100% Steem Power were calculated using the same algorithm for 50/50 posts, making the graphs confusing. As of now, this setting is correctly taken into account and posts with 100% Steem Power are credited to the displayed Steem Power balance.

You can see below a screenshot for an account who chose to power up pretty much everything (the account is @everittdmickey, the one who suggested the feature).


Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 12.12.10 PM.png


The "liquid" reward in the screenshot above comes from comments, which you can't (as far as I know) get it all in 100% Steem Power.

Apart from that, I wanted to thank to some of the people who mentioned Steem.Supply on their blogs, I really appreciate that, guys:

As always, looking forward to your feedback, criticism and suggestions.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Mine wasn't working before now getting PHP errors
not complaining :)
A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: array_sum() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given

Filename: controllers/Welcome.php

Line Number: 152

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/steem.supply/application/controllers/Welcome.php
Line: 152
Function: array_sum

File: /var/www/html/steem.supply/index.php
Line: 315
Function: require_once

Thanks for that, a fix is on its way, you should check out in about 30 minutes. It's because, surprisingly, you seem to have no rewards from posts, only from comments;

Yeah, don't do articles my grammar too poor as you may have noticed :) only commenting but thinking about adding video blog this week thanks

Hiya, yeah going to do at least a weekly blog as this has fixed the issue where i can now see the headings thanks.

Nice update and improvement. Great for keeping track of my cents.. but also great for seeing your post and comment history. Thanks for putting in all the hard work.

You're welcome :)

Thanks Dragos! Steem.supply is one of the tools I use on a daily basis and it's nice to see you keep building on top of it, hope to see you in the top 50 witness list soon!
Cheers

Thank you for the nice words and yes, let's climb that ladder :)

This is a very interesting service you provide! For the first time I can see how much funds/units are expected to be paid out! Super! I'll for sure will keep using the tool. Recently I'm discovering more interesting tools and from time to time a test them to the fullest extend and post my results. This tool is for sure a candidate for that.

Thank you and really looking forward to your test results. That's how this project evolved: from a pet project, based on the user feedback, into a full fledged app.

Will let you know when I'm done; But so far; Loving it already! :)
Always great to see people like you taking the extra effort to contribute to the community.

steem.supply is probably my favourite site for rewards analytics.
I love the simple bar charts, pie chart and how it tells you the value of your posts and unlike other sites, your comments as well.
Thank you dragosroua for the site and your work as witness!
(Voted for Witness)

thanks for the witness vote, appreciated!

I love your website man. Thanks for update!

You're welcome!

So, according to you which option is best, 100% steem power or 50/50 payout for posts.

It very much depends on the context and on what you really want to make out of your rewards. In the beginning, if you want to get to a point where you have access to more features (like sliding bar for upsteem) then you should go 100% Steem Power. But if you need liquidity, to take advantage of market spikes, then 50/50 is probably the best.

At the moment I'm 50/50 but this could obviously change.

Loading...

Hi @dragosroua, I really like the tool.

steem.supply is a much nicer design than steemnow or steemD, which I use to check on voting power. HOWEVER, beauty is not always better - at least in this case when it comes to checking on voting power. Apparently steem.supply is retrieving the data from steemDB.com, which is always lagging a few hours (for my account between 2 - 22 hours. Currently 18 hours behind).

Especially when checking voting power accurate live data is necessary. steemD.com and steemnow.com are ugly, but have the correct value :P Could you implement the respective data source for this value in your tool?

And this use case makes me wonder about the other data. Is all the numbers on steem.supply lagging, sometimes by a day? Does the lag apply to the due date as well?

I use the standard steemitdev node, not steemdb, but I'm working on a way to cycle through many public nodes, based on their health. So what voting power you see, it's taken from the official API nodes of Steemit. :)

Hm, just tested it again and now it's working. All 4 sites report more or less the same value and also update the value when voting. Apparently I don't know enough about the design of the STEEM network server. However, just an hour ago the voting power value for my account differed by 5% points, depending on which site I used to check it. Thanks anyway : )

Thanks for always keeping this site updated. I use it every day. It is very appreciated.

You're welcome, glad it's useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43