MinnowBooster Delegation Experiment: Results After 15 Days

in #steemit7 years ago

I've been experimenting with delegating my Steem Power to the MinnowBooster as a way to support a great project and earn passive income at the same time.


Back in December, I decided to delegate all of my SP to the MinnowBooster. I was going on Christmas holiday and figured my SP would be better served delegated for others to use.

I was also curious to see how much the payouts would be, as you receive daily returns for your delegation. The results were certainly encouraging.

For 10 days, I delegated a total of 2196 SP and earned an average daily payout of 1.716 SBD. At the time, SBD were hovering around $8, making this daily payout worth around $13.72 per day. Not bad for doing nothing other than delegating :)

I decided to try another delegation experiment 15 days ago.


This time, I decided to delegate about half of my SP instead of all of it. I still wanted to be able to retain a portion of my voting power while also receiving daily payouts. I delegated 1,027 SP, which began 15 days ago.

For the 15 days, my payout total was 15.371 SBD, which averages out to 1.0247 SBD per day. Interestingly, this is almost an exact reflection of the amount of SP I delegated divided by 1,000.

Currently, the price of SBD is around $5, meaning my total payout was worth approximately $76.85. If prices and payout averages remained static for the rest of the month, my monthly payout would be worth $153.71.

That's enough to pay my car insurance and my average utility bill for the month. Not bad for delegating to a voting bot :) I've decided to keep this delegation going for a while, as it's quite nice to earn a modest passive income.

Someone with 10,000 SP could feasible live off of delegation payouts if they were frugal enough or lived in a country with a favorable exchange rate. You also help support up and coming posters who are utilizing minnowbooster to help with their visibility.


My latest Posts

Classic Hits

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80