Just Post It!

in #psychology6 years ago

How many times have you written out a blog post, only to decide against posting it for one reason or another?


Blogging on a consistent basis requires persistence and a degree of stepping outside of what we are used to and what we are comfortable with. This is why it can be challenging to get started on blogging because it's intimidating and anxiety-producing to bare our soul to the world.

Admittedly, it's a bit terrifying in the beginning. "What if I am poorly received and look foolish? What if no one receives it and the only audience is me?"

It's easy to give into insecurity and then simply give up. Quitting is convenient because it requires no effort, no risk (in the moment, anyway), and is the path of no resistance.

But it doesn't calm your mind or satisfy your innate desire to share your thoughts and feelings with the world. Instead, those thoughts and feelings stew in your brain, eventually causing you to pace erratically around your room just so you can release the tension.

Just post it!


We've all had our moments of feeling unsure, doubting whether our thoughts and feelings are actually valid and worth sharing. To be clear, it is never a bad thing to edit your content or decide to tweak your message if you feel it might be misperceived or if it is more controversial than you are looking to be.

But the vast majority of the time, it IS worth sharing. Even if you don't get a single upvote besides your own, the experience of writing down and organizing your thoughts is worth it on its own.

I remember very early into my Steemit experience, I started to have the self-doubting thoughts that every single writer deals with. I began to question whether my content was worth sharing and if anyone actually gave a shit about what I was posting.

And then I checked on a post that I had posted 3 days prior. It had been upvoted to $20, which at the time was especially impressive considering the price of steem was around $.15 at the time.

It was my most successful post up until that point, and it cemented in my mind that I should power through my doubting mind and just post the damn thing, whatever it is.


I've had my ups and downs since that initial realization, but the more I write, the more comfortable I am spilling out my thoughts and feelings for all to read. It's made me more confident in my writing abilities, as well as my ability to organize and reflect upon my thoughts in a more coherent manner.

Frankly, posting on Steemit has contributed to me regaining my voice again. For years, I suppressed myself for various reasons. In fact, we all suppress ourselves to one degree or another.

And that's why you should just post it already. Seriously, you'll thank yourself later for having the faith to take the plunge. And who knows, you might just make a few dollars from it too.


All uncredited photos from pixabay.com

My latest Posts

Sort:  

This blog is an outlet. Your thoughts can flow freely into the submission box. It will work out. They will fade, just as it will through life. No need for fear.

for the first which you decided to write any thing that one is best,after some time many ideas come to mind and that ideas confuse us..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61040.35
ETH 2922.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31