Embracing an Abundance Mentality

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

For much of history, humans have dealt with issues resulting from resources being scarce.


The issue of scarcity in our world today is a complicated subject that defines much of the economy. Artificial scarcity is a mechanism that is used to ensure that something has value, based on the fact that there are a limited amount to go around.

Simply put, if there was an over abundance of a particular item or service, it would lose it's worth on the market, as supply would surpass demand. If something is too plentiful, industries and business struggle to turn a profit.

Our world is grappling with how to provide everyone with affordable access to resources without also sacrificing the ability for individuals to earn a living.


Abundance is ultimately the enemy of our current economic paradigm, which inevitably creates mass injustice and ensures that there will be winners and losers as a result.

Solving this conundrum is difficult. But there are people attempting to evolve beyond our scarcity model, through things such as a gift economy. I also am a firm believer that cryptocurrency can help our world transition to an abundance model of coexisting.

Projects such as SmartCash and Steemit are community-focused and level the playing field when it comes to how currency enters circulation. These systems aren't perfect, but they are a step towards finding realistic alternatives that don't involve government intrusion and intervention,.

It starts with you.


I won't be able to solve the world's scarcity conundrum on my own, as that is a completely unrealistic goal. But what I can do is start to live from an abundance perspective in my own daily life.

I am by no means wealthy, but thanks to the world of crypto I have a bit more financial energy tokens (money) to draw from. A friend recently needed help in the form of a loan, which I was more than happy to give them. I understand it's possible the money won't come back for a while, and that's completely fine.

Shedding the hoarding mindset is not easy, as we've all been trained to keep all of our possessions close to our chest. But the value in letting go of this attitude is immensely important in the greater scheme of things.

This isn't to say you should give away all of your money to charity or forgo the pursuit of wealth, but you should also find ways to share it with those who may benefit. In terms of your own self-interest, giving to others will provide you with a sense of satisfaction far deeper than had you held onto your money/time/energy.

Embracing Abundance Isn't Just about Money


One definition of abundance is: plentifulness of the good things in life; prosperity. Abundance doesn't come in the form of just money, as the best things in life tend to not have a dollar sign attached to them.

While I am not rich financially, my social network of friends and family makes me feel wealthy beyond comprehension. The connections I've made have allowed me to pull of some incredible events and parties that no amount of money could possibly buy.

If I hear that someone doesn't have a large group of friends, I am happy to introduce them to my circle and invite them to make their own connections. People are a much more tangible form of value than any form of currency.

Economic abundance is not an easy thing to achieve within our musical chairs marketplace. But abundance of mind is something you can move towards right now, regardless of your situation. And in the long run, it will pay dividends far greater than any financial portfolio.


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!


My latest Posts

Sort:  

No matter how hard you are, never change the beauty of your soul to the dead cold of a stone! Even if you are broken - sprout again

I can relate with you're posts at a much deeper level.Truly Words of wisdom

Thanks for your post, I too believe you get what you ask for in life, be it positive or negative. I'm following you now as well.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

This is a very interesting perspective.
I'm getting into crypto not to become rich, but just to afford to pay for experiences for my children... the current dip isn't helping but long term i'm trusting in it
Thank you

Great article @colinhoward !

Maintaining a good health sate psychologically can help people prevent disease related to depression! Thanks for sharing tips that help people avoiding this type of conditions!

God Bless Us All!

@colinhoward This is a topic I have been contemplating a lot lately since it seems the more I have the more scared I am of losing it...the incredible irony of life, since I thought that by having more I would feel happier! You are right, abundance is a mindset of gratitude to all the treasures we already have :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31