Maybe I don't get it...need your opinion...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Maybe I don't get it, so I need your opinion. Is this post worth 25$? Be honest.

My opinion it's not.

It's gone to 25$ because of auto-votes.

I don't have anything against anyone including author of this post, but this kind of articles are not worth 25$.

How can anyone new who is trying to write original content stay on Steemit when he is receiving pennies for his effort and this kind of posts 25$?...He can't and because of it leaves Steemit!

Sort:  

Very informative post and maybe an auto votes helps and if so I am about to find a post that shows all the auto vote bots, groups etc... We all want to see a reward for our posts even if some think it is a worthless post @cleverbot. I am a new generation of Steemian and there will be more if the site stays active. New Steemians will rely on upvote bots unless they are outlawed and if so, we can imagine what a post will look like if this post made an easy $25

I'm not @dana-edwards, so I don't make 25$ on one sentence :P

Do you believe the world will end on 2012?

A post like that is worth $0.00 however with auto votes and A big fat self upvote it's an easy $25.00

Zero? Even I wouldn't say it's worth zero if a bot did it. We can debate how much each of my posts are worth but I'm willing to bet some of my posts are worth far more than $25 and some worth far less, and that overall it evens out.

The point is I never complain when a post I put a lot of effort into doesn't get what I think it's worth. I accept the market signals and figure out what the readers who vote up my post want. Posting frequently allows you to figure out what people want or don't want in terms of content. News even if it's a few minutes to read, is still valuable content because it's information people didn't know about before. Commentary is valuable because you get a certain person's take on the news.

I encourage you to look through some of my posts which didn't get a high payout but which are long and elaborate. Tell me it's worth what I received then?

Here are some examples of posts of mine which didn't do as well as I thought they would:

And there are others. These posts took hours or days of research if not longer, yet they didn't get even $20 each. Did I complain? No, I kept posting.

And if you read those posts are you going to tell me they aren't valuable? Some of those posts contain life saving information. So how much is it worth?

What do you think, how much is my article worth and how much time it took to create it? https://steemit.com/photography/@tanata/preparing-your-gear-for-travel Without Busy service, this article would have earned about a dollar. Yes, I do not consider it fair. But this is my subjective opinion. If I do not get paid for my work, I know I'm not interested in the platform and publish not interesting content. Perhaps I am wrong?

This is what I'm talking about. You wrote long article and made only 3$. I didn't read it, just quick scan it. For sure it is worth more than Dana's few sentence posts. Dana can type one letter and get 20$+. Of course she won't do that, instead she writes few sentences and that it is. Don't leave, we will sort this place slowly...

I agree, it's insulting to me as an author. My work is worthless. But this is the financial platform in the first turn. What are my investments in this platform? 300 dollars, which I immediately earned. And I do not take them out of the system at the moment. Is this valuable for the platform? Yes, but a little. Look at how much money Dana keeps in the system. About 30 thousand dollars. Is this contributory to the system? YES! In addition, he did write a lot of really serious content. I think everyone is right in his own way. Users are not to blame. This problem should be solved by the developers of the project, so that the platform will flourish in the future.

No matter if she wrote million original in-depht articles, that don't makes her immune when she drain reward pool. I also wrote few long in-depht articles (links on bottom). I could write more, but had many problems bla bla. If I continued to write, I also could end up on auto-voting list. Does that mean that after that I can write few sentences for 20$ and expect that no one question that?

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@cmoljoe/anarchy-and-voluntaryism-are-our-only-solutions

https://steemit.com/freedom/@cmoljoe/road-to-freedom-series-2-the-myth-of-authority

https://steemit.com/freedom/@cmoljoe/road-to-freedom-series-5-you-are-either-slave-or-anarchist

At the moment, ordinary users are unlikely to expect large rewards for short or long messages in equal parts. It's just a fact, we may not like it, but we must accept it

No one made quick money on Steemit. It takes months and years to reach some level of followers/money.

I've been living here for almost a year and a half. As you can see, this did not make me a whale or even a dolphin)

In your description you put psychologist... Then, you will know what greed for money can do to someone. If someone see easy way to make money, they can become greedy and start doing it. I think that happen with Dana. Not saying she posted bs stuff, but few sentences and reference link are worth pennies, not 25$.

nope...you don't get it.

How much would you say it's worth?

Compared to some articles I saw pennies.

You have been flying under the radar quite well I see. This is destroying Steemit rewards pool. I have flagged many of your posts.

I've been posting on Steemit for longer than you've been on Steemit. There is a history behind the posting limits.

Prior to the posting limits being removed the economics encouraged bloggers to post between 4 and 6 blog posts per day. Then after I believe it was 6 posts, the rewards would decrease for every additional post until it was a punishment to keep posting.

This stayed the rule for a while but for some unknown reason the developers of Steem changed the economics around to favor frequent posting. The changes made commenting less rewarding than blog posting. The discussions about the same topics you complain about which you claim I'm flying under the radar about were discussed by me and others a year ago.

So what you need to do if you really feel the new economics are worse is you should ask the Steemit developers to switch back to rate limit blog posting to 4 posts a day. It's not really fair to me if I'm being accused of abuse for following the rules. And the economics encourage frequent small posts, so even if I didn't post at all we would get a lot of these sorts of posts in general because that is the trend in general.

If they switch back to limiting the posts to 4 a day then I'd be made to post only 4 posts a day and so would everyone else. This could be seen as fair for you? Flagging my posts does not change the economics of Steemit nor does it increase the reward pool. In fact it's a sort of scarcity mindset which doesn't add any value to Steem.

Whether you read my posts or not, the content is valued by others. If Steemit changes the rewards or economics the content still remains adding value to Steemit for years. So a post you might think is not worth even $25 could be worth hundreds, and a post you think is worth hundreds could only get a payout of $25.

Would I benefit if each of my posts got exactly what they were worth? Perhaps, but then people would complain (as they did before) that some of my posts are making too much money. If you look back to some of my posts from 2016 before there were bots, some of my posts made hundreds or thousands, but those posts were elaborate and deep.

When the economics changed to support shorter less deep posts, (because the payouts became flatter), this was said to be because the flatter reward curve is fairer, so I posted within those rules. If the payout is flatter but you remove the cap which rate limits how often a blogger can post then of course they will post more frequently. This is only a problem in my opinion if the quality of the posts go down.

And I'm not receiving much indication that the quality of my posts is so bad. Perhaps some of my posts I admit were a bit short, and you can always look up anyone's posting record to find some post where maybe they got rewarded more than you think they should have, but the overall quality of my posts is much higher than most.

Again for you and any other reader, if you read my posts and think the quality is not up to par for some reason then offer suggestions or show me the model blogger who you think is doing the best job. But don't claim abuse for posting frequently when the economics encourage it and the rules allow it.

"Would I benefit if each of my posts got exactly what they were worth? Perhaps..."

If your posts got exactly what they are worth, you will receive pennies for most of the posts.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cmoljoe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.07
ETH 3004.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26