Steemit Community Challenge - "How can you change someones life for better when they are in need!"

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

"... Take time to absorb it and realize that you really can change a person live for better; it's not Utopia, it's real, it's here!"


Lately, we have seen how Steemit is changing the life of their users, either by giving them a new space where they can talk freely or by rewarding content creators with actual money.

Today, when I look at this early and newborn platform, and I can see how it is already changing lives and behaviors.

When looking at the daily posts at Steemit, I can really feel that this is the most humane social platform ever created. I believe I'm not alone having this feeling.

Lately, more and more posts have been written with stories that overall deliver the idea that more and more people have found this "new thing", and that this "new thing" is bringing them some sort of hope, some sort of light to shine the way in the tunnel of life.

In the past two days, I've been thinking and digesting about this and in the meanwhile I started to talk about steemit to some friends that I think would enjoy the "steemit experience".

So far I've have brought two friends to steemit and I'm actually coaching them to make good content and helping with the adequate text formatting and right image use in the posts. Besides them, I also have in mind 4 more people that may like and may join soon.

Ok so... and this challenge? "How can you change someones life for better when they are in need!" what's this about?

Well, the concept isn't that hard. As I described, we tend to recommend to our direct friends and close ones, but and if we went a mile long? and we started to reach out someone that is in need? someone that may be living in the streets, someone that is in need of "that light in the tunnel" but naturally does not know about technology or even Steemit.

That's where we as a community can act upon. Taking that altruistic step and helping out another human being.

And it doesn't take much. Imagine that you notice on your way to work, that a beggar is always carrying a book, and he writes in there whatever he thinks and feels. One day you approach him, talk to him a while and you actually find that what he has in that book is quite interesting.

Until now, the only and a non-viable one was to hope for someone to publish a beggar's writings... but with steemit, that wall comes apart, there's no need for a middleman, and that same beggar that has almost nothing can talk to the world, and if the world like what they see, the world will smile back at him. (((disclose: we are the world, the community in case you didn't get that ;) )))

But he has no computer in the streets, you may say. And yes, probably he will not have a computer or internet access, but it's there once again where you can give a hand. Pay for one or two hours in any spot that has internet and help out with the setup of new account and all the stuff. Help him with the first post, and then publish it.

This same post may be well received by the community and that beggar that had almost nothing yesterday, now may have something that will bring him money to buy food, to pay for a day in a dry place with a soft bed, or maybe if the post is very well received, maybe a full month rend a home with 4 walls and a selling, and maybe he will continue posting more, and maybe... maybe one day he can look back and say "That stranger and this streemit saved my life". (yes even I am emotional writing this, I confess).

It's not hard to do, the first step is to tap into your inner self and feel the power you now have. Take time to absorb it and realize that you really can change a person live for better; it's not Utopia, it's real, it's here!

And that beggar.... maybe that same man could be a new Ernest Hemingway or a reborn Salvador Dali ...




Do you feel in anyway what I've just wrote? What do you think about it? Leave you comments below and remember to upvote if you liked this article.


(message from content creator: if you reached this far in the text, congratulation to you! you rock because you're really using the platform and reading content! thanks!)

words and thoughts to feed the mind by BrunoPro // 21 July 2016
Time thinking about this: a lifetime and 2 days in steemit world
Time writing: 1 hour
Feeling after writing: Fulfillment.


While searching for images to support this content, I found this interesting article that has everything to do with what I've wrote (all images are from that same source): http://www.wikihow.com/Deal-With-Beggars-Asking-You-for-Money

#steemit #steem #uplifting #inspirational #help #give #lifestyle #bitcoin #introduceyourself #life #money
Sort:  

When I was homeless, with a wife and child (and two cats), in Burbank, Ca, My wife and I both had full time jobs.

The biggest problem with being homeless is the strong desire to lose hope. The food is awful, full of chemicals that make thinking even more difficult, on top of the stress and limited options.

The living conditions make it extremely difficult to stay clean. I remember being treated at LAC/USC hospital for severe back pain (I was using a walker for mobility, 2008-2010, before I moved to Colorado). The nurse asked me as they were checking me out, "You have limited mobility, do you have someone at home who can help you to the bathroom and other tasks?"
I looked at her and explained I was homeless, living in my car with my family. Her reaction? "You're not homeless."

I reiterated that I was indeed homeless and her response was "But, but you're so CLEAN!"

"Yeah, do you have any idea how much work that takes when you're homeless?" I asked.

She proceeded to tell me some horror stories about the filthiness of most homeless people. I can totally understand how they get there, it takes so much effort, you just lose hope and motivation.

Congrats to anyone who's made it back from being homeless. Some of the most amazing family times I've ever spent, also learned a great deal about my fellow man and myself.

Be good to yourselves!

Thanks for sharing! I've been living out of my car for the past 2 weeks and it's not fun. Thank God I don't have children or pets with me like you did. God bless you and your Family!

Thanks for sharing, hope your and your family are well now!

Ty, Yes indeed. Forgot to add that we live in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado now, I have no need for a walker and grow amazing cannabis. :)

Life is amazing! (And a bit weird when you have 2 cats and a catbox in the trunk of your car. lol)

Keep it Clean!


@brunopro Very inspirational, I like your content and how you want to help others and want to give back when you receive. I'll follow you. (upvoted too, but I guess you had figured out)

thanks for your kind words, you've understood a little bit about my personality :) cheers!

wow thats uplifting... great writing style!!! I hope that steemit helps many people with the help of the ones that are already in it!!!

"great writing style!" wow... didn't expect that actually I was quite afraid if I was expressing myself right and if my writing was any good since I'm Portuguese and I never wrote before like this, especially in English.... Thanks @metalcrypto86

Youre talking about noushing them than making them independent on money and for me thats the best way to deal with the beggars. Im also compassionate with those people in need but in my case, I can only provide them short services, like feeding program once a week.

I wrote beggar on the text but it's anyone that is a hard moment in life for whatever reason... the concept is to guide and teach how to "fish" instead of giving away the fish ;)

wooooow! good job. excellent! upvoted. upvoted me?

I think you CAN change someone's life getting them in the Steemit community NOW while it's still in Beta. The trick is making them understand it. I have tried several friends so far, I have got a variety of looks and laughs from them. I went on to explain the Bitcoin system and a brief intro to the process. Time will only tell if I can get them to try it. I even showed them my account going from 5 dollars to over 800 dollars in value. And that is in less then seven days I believe. It that would not start to change someone life, I don't know what would..... great post. Good luck.

I have four pending Steem dollars to Steem transactions. It takes 10 days. That's why my account currently does not show 800 dollars in value.

😻😻😻😻

I wholeheartedly agree with you! Thanks for the inspiring, and well written post. English is your second language?!

I'm glad to see a community of people with so much love to share coalescing in this space. I have also been thinking about various groups who would benefit greatly from this kind of platform, and how to reach them!

Let's see where this line of thinking takes us. :)
bless, b

thanks @lovejoy and yes, English is my second Language :)

Muito bom artigo! não fizeste em #pt?

Poderei eventualmente escrever a versão #pt :) Obrigado

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79