New Author/Self-Published: "Secrets to Growing Trichome Dense Cannabis" (A Guide to Full Expression Flowers) (Free Intro)

in #newauthor8 years ago

Hello Steemit! :D I'm a personal medical grower in Colorado. I've recently published some very important information, for the cannabis community. Please read the intro, because it will give you a great idea of where the info is coming from.

My goal is to improve the quality of cannabis across the world. Please read and share with everyone you know that grows, or would be interested in learning. Even the casual cannabis user will gain valuable insight regarding the cannabis being used.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, I've put a lot of effort into making it readable and understandable. :D


This book is dedicated to my wife, for working with me all these years to understand cannabis, for not divorcing me (multiple times) when I was spending 18+hrs a day researching and also for providing invaluable feedback and editing assistance. I am a better man today through her love and support.

I want to thank my friends, who tolerated my pestering for feedback, I truly appreciate your assistance. I also want to thank everyone around the world who fights against prohibition, your efforts in spreading information helped me be the grower I am today.

Without these amazing people, this book would not have been possible.

I want to thank the cannabis plant, for being extremely useful and for growing amazingly different from common vegetables. The medicinal use of cannabis has helped me significantly throughout my life with pain, seizures and autism related issues, providing a higher level of functionality and quality of life.


Copyright 2016 by Douglas S. Curtis

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by information storage or retrieval system, without written permission from Douglas S. Curtis, except for the inclusion of brief quotations in a review.

First Edition


Forward


This was written during 2015-2016, in Colorado, USA.

Let me be the first to mention that I am not a graphic layout professional, nor am I a professional photographer. The photos in this book were taken with a Nikon CoolPix L320 and the cannabis was grown with components I mostly built myself. The diagrams were lovingly handcrafted by my wife, with the help of one of my children.

That being said, I have significantly important information to share and this booklet represents a legible and understandable accounting of what I've discovered. Gems come in many shapes and forms.

At this particular time the average quality of cannabis in the USA is very poor. Most cannabis is contaminated with excess nutrients, questionable chemicals and air contaminants, both natural and man made. The cannabinoid, terpene and flavinoid profiles are reduced through improper flowering environments and excessive nutrients. These cannabinoids and terpenes are further damaged and contaminated through poor harvest and handling methods.

The methods in this book produce higher quality cannabis than I've found in all dispensaries I've been to, except one. The concepts are well researched, sound and simple; In addition, I provide an explanation and reason behind each component of the process, making it easy to duplicate in your own garden.

The most important pieces of information in this book will not be easily found elsewhere. They were discovered through thousands of hours of study, combined with personal growing experience. My goal is to increase the quality of cannabis around me, so I am sharing them with the world.

I urge new growers to read and retain the information while you learn to grow. Knowing this information about cannabis will allow you to achieve higher quality at a fast pace. Experienced growers should understand right away and be able to easily extract that extra bit of quality you didn't know was there.

Thank you for taking the time to learn more about cannabis.


INDEX


Introduction


Trichome Dense Cannabis

  • Why is MY Cannabis Trichome Dense?
  • Trichome Density is Tied to Humidity
  • Understanding Transpiration
  • Balanced Nutrient Profile and a Full pH Swing
  • Importance of Clean Air
  • Importance of Clean Water
  • Light Density & Canopy Management

Vegging and Flowering

  • The Vegetative Stage
  • Vegetative Nutrient Mix
  • Vegetative Reservoir Management
  • Topping Off Daily
  • Natural pH Swing
  • The Flowering Stage
  • Flowering Reservoir Management
  • Flowering Mix
  • Why So Little Floralicious+?
  • Adding Epsom Salt
  • Topping Off Daily and Watching pH
  • Watching the Transpiration Rate
  • The Fade
  • The Flush

Harvest and Beyond

  • Harvest Timing
  • 5%-15% Amber
  • Harvesting and Trimming
  • Drying
  • The Cure

Photos

Glossary


Introduction

Dear Reader,

My first experience with extremely clean, trichome dense cannabis happened in 2008. It came from a dispensary in Chatsworth, California that was later robbed by the DEA and shut down. Even though my cannabis was better than anything else I'd found till then, the cannabis from this dispensary was significantly better quality than I was producing. This higher quality flower was extremely potent and overloaded with complex terpene profiles. The flavors and aromas were very distinct and crisp.

The smoke was cool, soft and tasty, right down to the last hit, simply delicious. The ash was slightly off-white, super lightweight and easy to tap out. I was completely blown away by the unique qualities of their cannabis. I had to learn more. I needed to know how to get such high levels of terpene expression. Unfortunately, thanks to the DEA, I did not have access to the grower for any information. This meant I had to go online and into my own garden for answers. What I've learned is priceless. The quality resulting from the information I've found is unique and rarely found in most gardens. When this quality is compared to cannabis found in dispensaries today, it would certainly be considered higher quality than most of the "top shelf" offerings.

In the nearly two decades I've grown cannabis, the last eight years have been focused on producing this much cleaner product. What is the end result? Cannabis like I have never seen anywhere except the Chatsworth dispensary and my own garden. Cannabis so clean, people can't believe it's hydroponic. The terpene profiles are complex and powerful and every strain/phenotype run through my garden comes out with an extremely dense coat of trichomes.

Full expression equals full flavor flowers, it is a simple concept, yet tied to a number of factors. Every one of these factors must be present in the flowering environment. They are the keys to producing a higher quality of cannabis than normally found elsewhere. The information I am offering in this booklet is taken from many, many different sources and nearly a decade of personal research into 'clean cannabis.'

Now, it is yours. Enjoy!

Sincerely,

Douglas Curtis


page 1

Trichome Dense Cannabis

Why Is MY Cannabis Trichome Dense?

I've invested 15+ years into cannabis and, throughout it all, everything turned out more trichome dense in my garden than anywhere else. At first it was an accident, I was the victim of the environment and too poor to be able to control it.

The first 8 years I grew cannabis, all of the places I lived had low humidity and high temperatures. I never successfully raised the humidity, but I was always able to keep the flower room cool. This lower humidity and temperatures have steadily become key to my understanding of superior quality. As a result of this focus, my quality has continually improved. Although accidental at first, I found the key to trichome density.

Trichome Dense Stem, Leaf and Flower

When looking around the world of horticulture, specifically trichome bearing plants, there are references to environmental conditions effecting the number of trichomes a plant produces. My experience matched the information exactly, trichome density is definitely tied to humidity.

The basic science is that trichomes trap moisture as it evaporates off of the plant. This trapped moisture creates a micro-climate next to the plant helping it stay moist. The drier the environment, the more trichomes are produced to trap additional moisture.

There are other factors affected when humidity changes, so simply changing the humidity in my flower room was not enough. I had to learn about transpiration, transpiration rates and how they affected plant growth. Remember, this was all trial and error for me. I had to pay close attention to the results in different flowering environments.

You can find a copy of it on Amazon, FlickRocket.com and Barnes and Noble's Nook.

Sort:  

I know Doug and he is an absolute pro at what he does. Beautiful buds man, truly.

Thanks Michael!

I look forward to everyone having this kind of quality available. :D

Keep Steemin!

What's crazy?

I just made more money on this post than I've made in book sales, to date. Steem is more powerful than $10 in facebook advertising! lol

Keep Steemin! :D

yes it is man, now only if u was about to do videos ect like facebook. this is still a go too site for me.. good for u man hope it gets better. im tring myself, cant work very sick so trin to do something without getting on disability u know.

Working on it. :) I don't have the resources for quality videos yet, so I'm continuing to work on content. I'm currently writing a short book on feminizing cannabis properly, using STS. Including info on how to store the pollen for up to 10 years or more, how to pollinate properly and how to collect and store seeds for years.

I'm thinking around $10 for the book. :) Amazon makes it easy. Create a book file pdf according to their guidelines, upload and put up for sale. Direct people to your book and get additional sales. Not cannabis related? Well hot dog! You can use the Amazon advertising system. Cannabis related? Out of luck. lol

Loving it my friend. Truly inspiring. It will be posts like this that I come back to when I get the chance to grow again. This is some of the highest quality I have seen in a while. It is quite humbling to witness your work.

I aspire to push things to the next level and I see that you do too. Check out some of my work here.
If you get time and you'd like a chance at free pipe the raffle is still going on.
https://steemit.com/marijuana/@cryptocameo/hello-world-i-am-cam-the-glassblower-and-entrepreneur-let-s-get-started-by-giving-a-few-things-away

Thank you, very much. :)

Your glasswork is great! Thanks so much for posting it.

A tightly packed bowl, nearly finished.
You can see how light and fluffy the ash is, as well as the slightly off-white color. :D

yes i agree u had a good flush man

This is Steemit at its best. Well written and informative article on a subject close to my heart.

Can't wait for further contributions. How you're around for the future. Now following you and updated.

Set the herb man free...
@ghostyeti

Now that's the love I was looking for.

Yo Steemers... You rock! :D

I've been working on 'a book' for the last 6 years.

This book represents the culmination of a lot of different mistakes I've made over the years. I've started work on a DWC 101, companion guide, detailing all of the ups and downs of dwc and how to avoid them all. :)

I've found DWC to be the lazy man's hydro for stunning cannabis. :)

The reservoir management information in the book is not something you'll find easily anywhere else. I would not use the common DWC info on the web for cannabis, only veggies. :)

Crazy stuff, just look at my photos. :D

A solid read, very nice. Let's put to rest all the BS about Cannabis :)

Thank you, glad you appreciated it. :)

I get better at writing, the more high cbd cannabis I use. Autism is a bitch. LOL

Your book will be winging its way to me as soon as I get onto Amazon, which will be right after I hit 'Post'. Many thanks.

Awesome! I'm looking forward to hearing your feedback! :D Thank you for choosing to increase cannabis quality in the world. :D

I'm agree with author about humidity, and your growing results, also I want to set view on the VPD (vapor pressure deficit) on your plant.
Also don't forget about what trichomes used by mj plant to protect against insects who want eat the leaf.
Few times I was made experiment using the green caterpillars on late stage of flowering. They eat leaves and plant's start produce more resin glands.
But take care about the time of using this method, only on late flowering!!! on early stage it's can harm to your plants and yield.

Thank you, it's nice to run across someone who has experience with low humidity.

VPD? Never even stopped to figure out what "those guys" were talking about. None of them ever had bud I wanted anyway. Am I missing something there?

Interesting on the insect front. :) I wonder if there's a non-insect method to promote that, still naturally? Be worth looking into.

Keep it Clean!

I have a huge experience :) an can be as consultant about the growing. But my English is not perfect :)
So good idea to show also "off-gassing" moments. I hope what now this problem is rare, but sometimes this small problem can destroy all your dreams about the crop.
Also good idea to explain about do not overcare plants :) what beginners are do.

Awesome :)

Yes, off-gassing is due to heating products with improper vinyl in them. Bad stuff indded.

Yes, overcare is definitely an issue with new growers. :) We all go through it.

Closeup of the cover photo ;)

been growing with fish only nothing else

Would you have any idea what the nutrient profile is of the fish offal?

I imagine it would be possible to feed the fish a diet, possibly several breeds, to achieve the correct balance. I LOVE aquaponics for veggies. :D

Cannabis is a VERY picky plant to grow with superior quality. Contrary to popular belief, cannabis absorbs and permanently stores a great variety of elements... while still looking reasonably healthy.

I go into detail on what cannabis absorbs and the effects it has on the end flower. Definitely worth picking up. :)

Amazing the first few pages look amazing and interesting. I have started following you feel free to do the same. I'll just leave this here, how I feel whenever I get stoned.

LOL Ty. Cute gif :)

You'll eventually find that higher CBD levels will lead to appetite regulation instead of stimulation (the munchies) :) When you need food, you'll be hungry. Don't need food? No hunger. Great stuff!

Keep it Clean!


TheCleanGame Blog, Neatly Categorized

CBD looks to have an antipsychotic effect, additionally can be used to treat a numerous range of psychiatric disorders. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26341731

Yes, indeed. I've used cannabis medicinally for 30+ years (only 8, knowingly). I noticed, during those 30 years, a decline in efficacy for my autistic issues.

Turns out the pressures of prohibition have been inadvertently breeding the CBD out of cannabis. Now that breeders are aware of, and able to test for, the presence of CBD, they're breeding it back into the cannabis population.

Good stuff.

I'm actually growing and using a non-inebriating strain of cannabis called Canna-Tsu, a cross of Cannatonic and Sour Tsunami. Excellent cannabis, when grown properly.

Nice to see the medical industry seeing the light. Things should clear up a whole lot more, as prohibition continues to drop across the USA. Good stuff coming to the world. :)

I have had a friend in a similar boat apparently it is what has regulated his bipolar.

Prohibition of any sorts is a ridiculous idea not only does it take helpful drugs and make it difficult to do research on them, it puts profits into the criminal word and is completely nontaxable.

That sounds amazing, I will have to try and find something similar/grow my own due to the circumstances in the country I live.

Yeah it is a good step forward there are many drugs that have been known for years however due to their prohibition have not been researched properly i.e. MDMA's effects on PTSD (Amoroso 2015), psilocybin/LSD in the treatment of cluster headaches (Schindler et al 2015), and ketamine in the treatment of depression (Romeo, Choucha, Fossati, Rotge 2015).

References
J Psychoactive Drugs. 2015 Nov-Dec;47(5):372-81. doi: 10.1080/02791072.2015.1107664. Epub 2015 Nov 23. Indoleamine Hallucinogens in Cluster Headache: Results of the Clusterbusters Medication Use Survey. Schindler EA1, Gottschalk CH1, Weil MJ2, Shapiro RE3, Wright DA2, Sewell RA4.
J Psychoactive Drugs. 2015 Nov-Dec;47(5):337-44. doi: 10.1080/02791072.2015.1094156. Epub 2015 Nov 18. The Psychopharmacology of ±3,4 Methylenedioxymethamphetamine and its Role in the Treatment of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder.
Amoroso T1.
Psychiatry Res. 2015 Dec 15;230(2):682-8. doi: 10.1016/j.psychres.2015.10.032. Epub 2015 Oct 30. Meta-analysis of short- and mid-term efficacy of ketamine in unipolar and bipolar depression.
Romeo B1, Choucha W1, Fossati P2, Rotge JY3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81