You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Community Challenge - "How can you change someones life for better when they are in need!"

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

When I was homeless, with a wife and child (and two cats), in Burbank, Ca, My wife and I both had full time jobs.

The biggest problem with being homeless is the strong desire to lose hope. The food is awful, full of chemicals that make thinking even more difficult, on top of the stress and limited options.

The living conditions make it extremely difficult to stay clean. I remember being treated at LAC/USC hospital for severe back pain (I was using a walker for mobility, 2008-2010, before I moved to Colorado). The nurse asked me as they were checking me out, "You have limited mobility, do you have someone at home who can help you to the bathroom and other tasks?"
I looked at her and explained I was homeless, living in my car with my family. Her reaction? "You're not homeless."

I reiterated that I was indeed homeless and her response was "But, but you're so CLEAN!"

"Yeah, do you have any idea how much work that takes when you're homeless?" I asked.

She proceeded to tell me some horror stories about the filthiness of most homeless people. I can totally understand how they get there, it takes so much effort, you just lose hope and motivation.

Congrats to anyone who's made it back from being homeless. Some of the most amazing family times I've ever spent, also learned a great deal about my fellow man and myself.

Be good to yourselves!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! I've been living out of my car for the past 2 weeks and it's not fun. Thank God I don't have children or pets with me like you did. God bless you and your Family!

Thanks for sharing, hope your and your family are well now!

Ty, Yes indeed. Forgot to add that we live in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado now, I have no need for a walker and grow amazing cannabis. :)

Life is amazing! (And a bit weird when you have 2 cats and a catbox in the trunk of your car. lol)

Keep it Clean!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75