Steemit Needs: Please comment with your ideas to improve Steemit!! | E. 6 | June 8th, 2017 | Community Engagement | Archives to help Community / Developers.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi again everyone! I am keeping my word to keep the series going!

I would like you to comment with your visual aids or written ideas of what you think Steemit can use to improve the Community for features and why.

Comments sections here are GOLD as we know, some great TIL learning and tips usually pop up too here.



It's now ~ 2 mths or so after the latest big changes, the Steem Powering downs latest rounds, those cashouts done and seeing some stabilizations, some bugs fixed and the latest Hard Fork.

It's OK to gather new ideas but if the same issues pop up, that is great too, because it will send the message that something is more important to the developers and Steemit Elders. My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members. I can combine them into one post later on if needed to help developers or members.

It is easily searchable also -- as I use the same key phrases / words etc. in the title to keep it searchable - more easily.

I was trying to pick good tags...... I decided to use the TIL tag -- hoping someone either looking FOR help on learning something -- or someone looking TO help on these things would comment! I thought about that one for a couple mins.


If you want to tag people or share it so others can comment and contribute also, that is great. I have my own ideas and see a lot of people talking about it, but as someone who is NOT - I REPEAT NOT! tech savvy like many of you, and who is newer to the Blockchain and Crypto stuff, I know my role is limited to give ideas, I am just a Minnow LOL.

But I have been an activist for years, I am used to building community and gathering info and trying to help so I guess you can blame the activist side of me for this idea which I think is a good one -- an INTENTIONAL POST on the idea, to gather stuff in one place and be easily searchable and findable for all the IT types and developers etc.

Just my way of trying to contribute. I did not even know for sure what tags to use in this post, and I actually spent 5 mins looking and researching the best ones to try and use, before I posted this LOL. I will edit the tags ASAP if you give me better ones to use!!

If we can get some good feedback going, we can use these ideas, all in one place and people can refer back to them. That's why E.1 / E.2 /E.3...4/5 etc etc - was in the title, I am hopeful it is helpful as a resource.



Thanks for reading, have a nice day.









If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/baseball-day-in-my-community-is-a-yearly-gathering-of-kids-community-outreach-food-and-fun-there-is-a-giant-blow-up-movie-screen

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/libertarian-party-slams-big-government-persecution-and-jailing-of-bitcoin-exchange-vendor-randall-lord-past-libertarian

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/one-of-my-real-estate-listings-i-have-sold-was-custom-finished-top-to-bottom-with-a-theatre-room-in-a-prime-neighbourhood-here-s

https://steemit.com/steem/@barrydutton/state-of-the-steem-steem-mooning-quietly-bullish-run-up-last-few-days-now-sitting-around-usd2-40-usd-48-gains-crosses-usd542m-in

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/32gx1i-video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-ethereum-q-and-a-the-token-ico-explosion-or-crypto-101-11-mins-super-practical

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/bitcoin-gains-usd300-in-a-day-about-to-smash-the-usd4000-usdcad-mark-or-btc-usd-usd2895-high-after-last-wkend-correction-we-are

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-currency-market-cap-smashes-past-the-usd100b-barrier-for-the-first-time-history-folks-we-are-seeing-it-every-single-day

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/ran-into-my-friend-at-dinner-i-played-with-and-went-to-school-with-rob-pearson-1st-round-pick-of-toronto-maple-leafs-out-of-our

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/what-are-you-trading-today-and-why-or-e-32-of-a-community-based-engagement-resource-for-everyone-june-5th-2017-market-stats

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemit-weekend-camp-fire-series-weekend-5-we-are-steemit-family-come-visit-around-the-fire-with-your-family-every-weekend

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-and-blockchain-in-norway-or-crypto-101-46-mins-super-practical-resource-here

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/bilderberg-updates-for-day-2-gathered-in-one-place-for-you-globalist-elite-bilderberg-group-yearly-meeting-this-year-again-in

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/breaking-the-biggest-canadian-coin-exchange-quadrigacx-loses-67-000-usdeth-due-to-coding-error-funds-locked-in-an-executable


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  

As the earnings in Steemit become significant, I think that there should be some official tool to help users with their tax audits. For the least, that would be a site, that will provide the full history of daily payments with the average value of Steem and SBD in USD at each day.

If I understand correctly, you are looking for some way to easily determine your "basis"? This is such a new area when it comes to taxes, we'll likely have to treat it all as an asset with a basis of zero. Unless you actually bought STEEM or STEEM POWER with BTC.

Agreed, some form of reporting (possibly separate module) that goes a bit farther than the Transaction list you see under your Wallet.

Well Since my understanding of accounting is embarrassingly flawed, I’m not sure I will explain that exactly right but let me try: In countries where cryptos are not fully regulated yet, they are considered an asset, not a currency, so payments in crypto are actually barter trades. Thus, if you have income in crypto and the value of the crypto increases all the time, you have to be able to separate the “income” part from the “value change earnings” part. Hence what I am asking for, which will provide the raw data for doing that.

You could do that externally i think. May be better that way. But good idea, hopefully we wont need to be taxed on it. Its moving that way right now. Plus the tax laws are so complicated concerning this and it is changing often.

Yes it's a big mess right now, especially since every country has its on rules. However, no matter what, we still need the numbers first. I think that it is Steemit's responsibility to provide the data to us.

I'm with you, I've heard we don't pay taxes until we cash out, but I'm still confused about which part of our Steem wallet is income and which part is an investment. I'm trying to keep everything in Steem Power as long as I can

Keeping everything in SP is a good strategy, but I don't think any tax authority will agree that it makes any difference

great idea. It would be useful to us and for the future member and to the Government too :)

I don't like to pay taxes more than anyone, but when I have earnings, I want them to be legit.

Or the gov't can just F off and stop meddling in every...single.... area of our lives.

--

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

So cool man! Thanks for steem, I just join here as a newbie but many people teach me how to writing and vote here.

In my view, maybe we can give more vote for those people who invited other people to join, like referral fee?

This platform is very great and warm. I wish I can join this community earlier!

I really appreciated your input y-day man...

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

When my friend first told me about this platform, I was suspicious at first but now I feel very grateful for his advice, which let me join this splendid community and earn some extra income. I think people like them deserves some rewards, maybe a referral system is great. Also, I think that people should form groups like in Facebook and have a specific newsfeed of the posts made by the members so it would be clearer to follow their updates.

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

Adding 70/30% payouts to posts as @neoxian mentioned should be a theme to consider as the next feature. Power up lures away many people from voting but 70/30 would be acceptable for everyone I guess.

great idea. I agreed

@neoxian is a beaut for sure! I had missed that idea by him.

--

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

I think for steemit to be able to make payment if there are people who coment, it will be more value for steemit.
Whatever I say thank you so much for steemit, my work can be appreciated here.

I wish I could write why I resteem an article..a comment from the resteemer gives more value to the post. Also when I resteem an article I want my followers to know why I did it and how am I thinking about it!!

Good stuff there for sure...

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

I wrote a post that summed up some of my ideas I feel could really help the site:
https://steemit.com/growth-ideas/@whatageek/my-growth-ideas-that-i-really-think-can-help-this-site

Thanks for the post, I am so far behind on here LOL

--

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

I would love to see in post file sharing and possibly steem exchange file sharing. would be great for music artists, graphic designers, artists and photographers... hell lots of people

It is always nice hearing from you Bonnie.

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

May be a good idea, but would it be block chain or server side?

Very happy overall but,

  1. Private messaging
  2. Resteems are removed off of blog once they pass payout

I second both these ideas

I was not aware the RS were removed then!

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

Ok this may sound pedantic to you all, but being able to post from my phone? An App? Is that dumb to ask?

download eSteem

eSteem as others have said. The first version was a little wonky but it is good now from what I hear!

Pedantic

lol. Beauty word

Good input today!

Hope to see you later tonite and this weekend around the

#SteemitCampfire

--
for some fun.

My post is up also on our Facebook Wallets you will really like!!!

I will look for you in Facebook and I am definitely going to try the Steemit Campfire thingy today! I keep missing it by the day!

Oh and thanks - love that word!!

We are there on the post!! Meet us there when you find time, for some of this....

--

I am sharing this post of Bushcraft camp coffee with everyone here tonight, having just got back to camp after helping a friend deal with some real estate issues!!!



How was your week??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49