What I Learned So Far... Useful steemit resources

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit what I learned.jpg


It must have been 3 weeks now that I set my first step on to the world of steemit. I arrived all eager and excited, and it didn't take long for me to realize that I am labelled as a minnow struggling for attention amongst dolphins and whales.Seeing how they are raking in hundreds and thousands, it seems all so easy and I can't wait to make my first dollar here... It will be a piece of cake or so I thought.

My first introduction post got me, get ready for this... a whopping 4 pennies... I waited and waited some more... yup, that's it, 4 pennies... At that moment I thought to myself, "I could have found more in the drainage system in a city."

I started to look around, desperately trying to find out what's getting the upvotes. Ok, cryptocurrency analysis... nope, I'm clueless... informational how-tos... aha... I started searching for PLRs or better known as Private Labeling Rights articles, bought some and started paraphrasing the articles, threw a few up... nope, they didn't work, it was clear what they were and I was caught by @cheetah fast.

@cheetah is a bot that prowls steemit platform and calls out similar matching content from the internet. So just you know, he's fast and accurate and will post the link to the matching content as a comment on your blog post. Don't do it, steemit being recorded on blockchains has everything permanently archived. Yes, it left a mark on my first steps here but it's a valuable lesson. Maybe a lesson I needed.


It took me like a few days to realize that in order to make it work here, I have to first be myself, my true self and be very consistent, in my voice, my likes, my postings and my commenting. And there are lots of very helpful people around here who would help if you ask. Remember to ask for help and guidance, not for handouts.

Begging doesn't work here and is very much frown upon.

Quit trading for followers, trust me, it doesn't work, even if you gain a follower that way, chances are they are not really following and could care less about your posts. They are most likely to be more interested in their own survival and upvotes on their posts. I have over 400 followers but never more than 10 pairs of eyes on most of my posts. Do the math.

Be very patient and be ready to work your way up. Yes, it's going to be tough but nothing worthwhile is ever easy. But nobody says that you have to dash. I am taking baby steps by setting mini realistic goals so nothing is too difficult or frustrating enough to make me quit.

On the contrary, meeting these little goals actually gives me momentum and encouragement that I am better today than yesterday and I am not as good today as I would be tomorrow.

I set goals like the following, I have some private goals as well and feel free to add more of yours.

  • At least 1 quality post daily. Remember that it has to be in your own voice and on a subject that you are truly passionate about. Even then, don't get discouraged if the upvotes doesn't happen. Don't give up.

  • Read a minimum of 20 articles daily, read not scan, the good part here is I get to choose the articles that interest me. And leave meaningful thoughts and feedback as comments. I learned so much just from the reading.

  • At least $1 worth of upvotes from comments. This is not as difficult as it seems. In fact it's actually easier to get upvotes of value from meaningful comments than posts, at least for me currently. Remember it is important to engage other steemians and interact with them if you want the slightest bit of attention here when you are new.

The following are some useful apps that will help you keep track of your progress.
My favorite is steem.supply and you will soon find out why ;)

http://www.steem.supply
https://steemd.com
https://Steemnow.com
https://steemdollar.com
https://steemwhales.com

Don't Give Up, Persist and Persevere. Remember that Rome wasn't built in a day.

Start setting mini goals.

Alex


Here's a few more from that little voice in my pea-brain head ;)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexthemagician/reality-check-steemit-is-not-about-the-money

https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexthemagician/more-followers-equates-to-more-upvotes

https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexthemagician/steemit-climb-is-tough

https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexthemagician/grinding-it-at-steemit-gym


Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Great find mate. Hope this one makes the cut ;)

I hope this makes the cut too ;)

Yes, I accept and would greatly appreciate it :) Thank you so much :)

Thank you for coming into your true self.

Great post all the info you gave is directly on the money at first i didn't get any eye looking at my work let alone any upvotes at first many things ran through my head then i asked myself how could i quit what hasn't started so i decided to just really go hard and overcome certain fears and see how that would help me and it has begun to pay off. Yes i also set myself small goals that will help me achieve my original steemit goals. If you wanna ski and you get to the mountain and the ski lift isn't operational the only choice you have is to climb the mountain yourself if you wanna make it to the top. Great post very informative should be a must read for all newbies like myself.

Thank you for the attention and encouragement that I needed so much :) Yes, I'm going to continue working on my content as I learn and grow each day :)

My first post got me 0 haha
Then it was all good after that ☺️
You make lots of excellent points here. Happy Tuesday ⭐️

Hahaha... suddenly my 4 penny post doesn't sound so bad ;)
Have a fantastic day :)

haha true! Happy day to you and yours!

Thank you Alex, those links were very helpful!

I'm glad they were :)

yup ... engage yourself, be dedicated but most important be real ! one thing I do to analyze my content is compare votes to views.... and if I do that I actually see that compared to views I am performing well ....I also started in june ... and I thought to myself if I have one post in my first 3 months here that makes 10 dollars then I am happy .... within only 6 days I had a trending post that earned 318 dollars when I saw it was trending .... 7 days later it had dropped somewhat to 175... but that was a lot more than I had thought possible .... I think if us newcomers (I guess we are booming in at the moment) try to focus on being real instead of being moneygreedy begging w'''''' we will integrate and grow here bit by bit step by step

Wow! Thanks, I needed this :) Appreciate the encouragement and inspiration :)

I also feel now that one quality post per day is actually enough. I wouldn't want to get on my followers nerves with too much content that feels like spam or made without having an actual idea

Precisely :) It doesn't take much to have some sense ;)

But then again I want to post when inspiration comes naturally leading me into replacing facebook, Instagram, twitter, etc. for good.

I think that's the goal for me and assumably others... to live in abundance while making money as easily as Zuckerberg

Congratulations @alexthemagician! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is a great post and you are totally right about speaking in your own voice here at Steemit.
Following you!

Thank you and appreciate the attention :) I'm trying my best and taking baby steps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55