Steemit Climb is tough BUT...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit climb.jpg

I'm sure anyone who started on steemit and posted for a few days would realize that as with all things the climb will be tough, full of disappointment and frustration. Yes, it's part of life, although most arrive here full of hope, many will fizzle out in a couple of days, if not weeks. It's too easy to just discount the whole notion of blogging and sharing content with the chance of rewards by simply giving up.

Seeing how the others are getting incredible number of upvotes while my own posts hardly even get seen is indeed very demoralizing. But we must also consider the fact that many of these "superstars" didn't just started yesterday and suddenly enjoying all the successes. Reality is that overnight successes are rare if any. It's easy to miss their initial struggle like what we are experiencing right now. We are only seeing their successes now but that doesn't mean they didn't meet their own share of failures.

The main difference is that they didn't give up.

Consider a farmer planting a seed and expecting to harvest within days and you will realize how rediculous the thought can be. So why then do we harbor the same crazy thought when we are posting only for a few days on steemit?

Maybe it's the fact that one click on the Trending tab and the upvotes on many posts there makes it seem like our efforts or more accurately pennies worth of upvotes make rookies feel like we are just too far away. The destination or the promised land will never be reached. Our efforts will be futile. It's just not worth it. Yes, so many reasons to just give up.

But remember Rome was not built in a day. By giving up and not even attempting the climb, one deserve to fail because as long as I have not given up, I have not failed. Yes, I have not succeded yet but I have not failed.

When I concentrate on the climb instead of the immediate results, suddenly the importance of the upvotes deminishes. I am simply organizing my thoughts, voicing them in my head and then wording them. The process can be so much more enjoyable and rewarding. Suddenly I'm chatting with my inner self, understanding myself better along the way. That to me outweighs the dollars and cents.

This song, "The Climb" was made famous by Miley Cyrus and it inspires me and motivates me whenever I feel I'm hitting a roadblock but I'm sharing this version by then a relative unknown girl that hope exists.

Will I taste the fruits of success? I don't know, I remain hopeful that one day I might as long as I haven't given up. But when the forcus is shifted to the climb instead of the upvotes, success itself takes on another whole new meaning :)

In order not to be a failure, just refuse to give up ;) If I have not given up, I have not failed, everything is still in progress, the present is just a part of the jourmey.

Here's a few more from that little voice in my peabrain head ;)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexthemagician/reality-check-steemit-is-not-about-the-money

https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexthemagician/more-followers-equates-to-more-upvotes

Sort:  

Yes also a newcomer and your well written post is very true we cannot compare ourselves with those who have been here s long time we have to stay positive keep posting and slowly growing on here

Preserve and don't give up :)

I plan to am loving the sense on community on here

Well done! People need to be patient and don't give up.

Yes, patience and persistence, we all need some :)

Yes! we the new comers should not give up just yet. We must make those big whales as an inspiration to work more and one day we will see the fruits of our labor.

All good :) Keep going :)

yeah sure.

Great article! Not a fan of Miley Cyrus, but agreed with everything else in the article! :) It's a good reminder even for someone like myself who has been here for almost a year now.. It's not easy and it took a while to even get to where I am! And it's going to get a while to get further.. It's part of the process and if it were easy, everyone would do it. Shouldn't expect it to be easy, we should expect it to be hard and difficult. And.. Then perhaps that will make it even more rewarding if you do ever make it! Great post! Gonna resteem this one even though I hate Miley! Lol.

Great inspiration from you who has been around for a year :) I'm no Miley Cyrus fan, I just like the song and find the lyrics relevant :) Thanks for the resteem.

Congratulations @alexthemagician! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I know what u mean😊 I havent been here too long. But I came here for the community didnt care about getting rewards just loved reading posts and meeting many amazing people😊 and for me that has been good and just being myself has been my way......may not be the fastes but Im in no rush Im sure I'll get there some day.
For now I love to just be here and learn new things. And when I do get rewards that feels awsome😊 dont give up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55