More followers equates to more upvotes?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit followers upvotes.jpg

It's all great reading of steemians celebrating their first 100, first 200, first 500 followers but it makes me really wonder if more followers actually equates to more upvotes or more accurately more eyes and views on their postings.

Don't get me wrong, I am sure many are doing well with incredible support from their followers eagerly waiting for their next post of great content. But from my personal and short experience here, I am not getting much traction from my over 300 followers, I would consider myself lucky if any of my posts actually caught 10 pairs of eyes. Last I checked, the little attention I am mostly getting are not even my followers.

Ok, maybe it's the content, perhaps it's not good enough... But ain't followers following because they actually liked my content?

Then there's the "aha" moment, I am feeling that most of these so-called followers are following because they want followers themselves and by following me, they were expecting me to follow them even though not blatantly expressed. Most are more interested that I will see and support their content rather than actually interested in mine.

So what I can gather is as a rookie, a minnow, someone who just came on to the scene, unless you are already some superstar on another plaform with a decent following, it's highly unlikely that more followers would in reality translate into more upvotes or even eyes on your posts.

Unless followers are gathered organically, they are mostly just numbers. There is no need to go around at record speed posting comments like, "I upvoted and followed you, please do the same for me." or "Follow me and I will follow you." That, my friend, is a major turn-off to those who have been around for even a while.

Yes, there is little to no good having a huge number of followers who ain't really following, except that the numbers look good on your blog ;)

So concentrate on what you have to say, it's your blog anyway, and don't care about how many followers you actually have because if they like you and your voice, they will follow you. That follower, in my opinion, would be of much better value and way more meaningful :)

Now let's see how many of my over 300 followers even see this, I remain hopeful and wish I'm all wrong about this but I'm definitely not holding my breath while waiting to be proven wrong ;)

U5dsPPVkZuAnUxkhvFn64yFDcSx4UKn.gif

Sort:  

I agree with you. I do think that it's better to have a smaller group of "real" followers, people who started following you because they like your posts instead of followers that just followed you because went the follow me and I'll follow you route. Great post by the way. Follow me and I'l follow you?, nah, just kiddin' :) .... I was already following you.

Hello @alexthemagician. It's nice to see this post in my feed. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. :)

I have 170 followers so far. I am slow at growing my audience because I am off line a lot of the time and have little time to interact. That's always a bad news for social media. :/

Out of 170 people who follow me, I only see few names regularly upvoting my posts. Even less people comment. It can be a little disheartening sometimes.

The way I see this, I am doing what I want to do with my blog. If I get audience, great. If I do not, my though luck. :D I still want to be here and support this platform.

Even if I only make 0.20 for each post, I still get more out of it than of Facebook or twitter. Besides when people do interact with me they seem much nicer, more intelligent and interesting than average FB user. It seems it's a win even when you are just a minnow with little following.

Good luck with it! I hope you get genuine and interested followers soon. :)

Thank you so much :) I agree with you that even with 0.20 or even just a penny, it beats Facebook any day. I have also met quite a few steemians who like you mentioned are really very different from an average Facebook user. Best wishes and every success to you too :)

Followers who only 'clicked' you to be followed, just like in my case are good for numbers only. Blog is for content or quality content.

It's no use to say Come follow me and I'll follow you... It's always been there specially when Bubblews was still on top! Lol...

Will I follow you, you follow me? lol!

I was masoncerritos on Bubblews who were you.?

I'm still using the same nick , iwrite...

I am sorry, I don't remember you. I still miss Bubblews. I went and looked at what you are writing now and to be honest I wouldn't have been interested in poetry at the time. I was not really a good blogger and didn't understand what I was doing at the time.

Glad you found steemit and wish you happy steaming. That use to be happy Bubbles. lol

It's a good thing we "migrated" here. Lol...

Yes, I will definitely concentrate on wording my real thoughts, if they come, great, if not, no loss :)

To get the most value of a blogger, even if the blogger is not that good, I still upvote him/her. The problem today with the new generation of bloggers as we called it is that Quality is not much of trend here, unlike Bubblews (which do have garbage post, or HubPage which is good that you are writing a novel for just one blog, or any other blogging site that has a minimum of 300 words above. That's why i'm still wondering how a certain blog with nothing to read except a post with hullabaloo content and received a 500 dollar value... SHM!

I have exactly the same problem. I figure I might as well live in comments and to tell you the truth. I keep finding nuggets of poster's who post I actually enjoy reading. Lots of people whom I agree with on the topic. Some people I disagree with, but the main thing is that I am finding people I want to comment and read their post. Some I even upvote when appropriate.

When I started doing this it was because I wanted people to talk to. The fact that I don't get anyone to read my post or make comments in my post has just meant spending time finding those people I want to read. The really funny thing is I make more money in comments anyways. You can check that out by clicking here on Steem.supply and typing my username in. All the data on my post and comments will come up. You can do that on anyone you follow. Enjoy!

It's true that having more than 300 follower but a post only catches pair of eyes. Even post is good . As a new commercial I have make my mind only concentrate on the content because if I focus to the invited then I will get depressed. So just steeming as I love to write love to share with all.

Thank you so much for your great approach.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts too. All the best to you :)

been feeling like that too, but i don't care. I had my own goals that did not involve followers or likes that i can still carry on with.

I'm happy for you that you have your own goals and agenda that can be met without "followers".

This my concern too! I m new in Steem. Don't know any of those systems. How steemit support for new commers?

Upvoted 👍👍

I agree with your post. When I interact with people I always say: have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. I dont like thata people think you have to follow them, just because they are following you. We have to follow content we like... why would I follow some who posts content that I am not interested to? This is the problem with other social medias.. you get a job and someone from work add you... and suddenly you think its awkard to not accept and what happen? People do a search anout your life, to judge, gossip... here is about content... thanks for the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54