Your wish is my command! [Chaos Magick 101! How to create a sigil]

in #art7 years ago

Many people believe that magick is the same that you see in the theatres, or in books like Harry Potter; however, magick is none of these things. Magick in its most basic of forms is a way of programming your reality using the help of coincidence.

A sigil is one of the most basic forms of consciously working to change your reality's metadata. Sigils are focused thoughts turned into a form of art.


Art-Is-An-Ship

ar·ti·san·ship
ˈärdəzənˌSHip
noun
skill in a particular craft.
"pieces of jewelry which testify to the high artisanship of these ancient people"


A sigil begins with an intention. One must keep in mind to be extremely clear with their intention, the old adage comes to mind...

"Be careful what you wish for..."

And it is so true.

I personally use a white board when creating my drawn sigils as it is easier to erase and start over. Write your intention clearly. Often, when first beginning to write intentions for sigils it is best to write it down and then mull it over to see if you can be any more clear. Asking for rain and getting a flood are synonymous in the realm of magick.


As of the recent news of having my car stolen, I decided to see if perhaps I could get it back. ;)

unnamed.jpg


The next step is to cut out all of the vowels, sometimes I include "Y" - this time I did not.

unnamed (1).jpg

The purpose of this step is to obscure the original message. Your subconscious has been imprinted with the intention as you created the original message, now you are obscuring the message from the conscious mind.


Next, gather all of the consonants, writing each one only once.

unnamed (2).jpg


From here you begin to mix the letters around placing them on top of each other in different patterns, like so:

unnamed (3).jpg


Next, use this design as a base to create more abstracted versions of the image. Mine sometimes turn out quite abstract, and that is quite fine; nor does your art have to be pristine.

unnamed (4).jpg


This final step is something that I do as an added step that is not quite necessary and not every magi practices this method. I add the chosen sigil design to the center of a customized seal. I am simply giving form to the idea, "boosting" it's capacity to complete its assigned task.

unnamed (5).jpg

To give a basic understanding of the double square that I chose, I have attached the following image:

unnamed (6).jpg

The square represents the physical body of man and is a masculine symbol, the diamond represents the mental level of man and is a feminine symbol.

In each corner of the square I have placed the Hebrew letter "Vav" with a numerical value of "6".

  • 6+6+6+6=24=2+4=6

256px-Hebrew_vav.svg.png

As carbon based lifeforms, 6 represents man(life).


Once you have finished these steps, you are ready to cast your sigil!

Be sure to follow me to catch the next installment on how to cast your personal sigil!


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe


If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Join us in our Minnows Unite Chat for any of your questions, chat with other members, and gain the support of other great authors.
https://steemit.chat/channel/minnowsuniteCHAT

Sort:  

Thanks for your post - hey I am not taking out my vowels - I like them. What is your thought on this? Why? I read that the old testament in Hebrew is code and changes meaning by where the vowels are placed...so I decided to leave the vowels in my sigils...

The purpose of taking out the vowels is to obscure the message from the conscious mind. You are correct that the placement of vowels changes how any word is interpreted; however, when making a sigil you are not making words but rather abstracting the words.

The most powerful tool a magician has is their mind, so follow what you feel best. :)

Thank you for taking the time to read my article. :)

thanks! Yes I appreciate it - I am following my intuition...

Gotta love them feelers <3 :) Let me know if you have any other questions. :)

Look forward to seeing it cast and working it magic. Hope your car returns to you safely sir!

Thank you kindly.

Cool stuff. That is elegant magick.

I appreciate your kind words. :)

cool man, bit more technical than my method

I do a few different techniques, but this is the one I teach to others as it helps to clarify the intention.

I'd be interested in reading a post about your technique. :)

I am sorry your car got stolen. You do not deserve that I wish for you to tell us what happens next after you casted your spell!

The sigil has been cast, and tomorrow I will create the follow up. I appreciate you resteeming my post. :)

As for what I deserve, heh - stay tuned for tomorrow morning's "Dabbing with a Mage" to learn my opinions on such.

I appreciate your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60248.53
ETH 3368.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51