Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 08: Wild Style Whiskey Raisin Pie Ala Mode!

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Homestead grapes and raisins, wild lambsquarter seeds, snowballs and whiskey! It's a wild time here in my post -- I appreciate you joining me for some delicious eating!

x raisin pie 2.jpg


Stocking Up

I typically preserve some of my homestead harvests to use later. That goes for what I grow and what I forage.

x raisin pie 5.jpg
Top left and right: I turn some of my homegrown green seedless grapes into raisins. It's a lot of trouble, but these raisins have an incredible floral flavor! Bottom left: I harvest a lot of purple Concord grapes, too. They have seeds, so I don't make raisins from them. The Concord grapes make a great grape sauce -- no added sugar needed!

x raisin pie 6.jpg
Left: Lambsquarter is a common weed in my garden -- but that's great! The greens taste better than spinach! Right: In the late summer and fall, the protein-rich seeds are easy to harvest.

x raisin pie 7.jpg
Top left: It finally snowed in Oregon's Willamette Valley a couple weeks ago -- finally! Right: There was plenty to make snowballs -- and put them in my chest freezer. I use most of them for ice in my drinks! I do the same with icicles, if there's an ice storm. Bottom left: And since it's winter, it is nice to have some whiskey on hand -- this smoked maple whiskey is so tasty! The larder is well-stocked here at Haphazard Homestead!


In the Kitchen

First things first -- the raisins. I cover the raisins with whiskey and bring to just under a boil. Then I let it all sit for a few hours. This make the raisins soft and plump. And the raisins sweeten the whiskey. I reheat, to thicken the mix, before serving.

x raisin pie 8.jpg
Left to right: Homemade raisins, tender young fennel leaves, lambsquarter seeds.

I toast the lamsbquarter seeds in a dry cast iron skillet. The little seeds pop like popcorn. I grind the seeds in a spice grinder. Then I make something like a graham cracker pie crust, with melted butter, a touch of sugar, and a little flour. I form that into a disc to serve as my pie crust.

x raisin pie 9.jpg
Snowballs, grape sauce, and spearmint. I muddle spearmint into the grape sauce, like making a mixed drink. That's all there is to get ready for the ala mode!


Serving It Up!

Whiskey Raisin Pie

For my wild whiskey raisin pie, I lay the warm lambsquarter disk on my plate and spoon the thick raisin-whiskey mix over it. And I top that with chopped fennel fronds.

x raisin pie 1.jpg
A warm whiskey-raisin pie with lambsquarter seed crust. And a spearmint-grape snowball. You just try to find that at a restaurant!

x raisin pie 4.jpg
The little spots of white in the pie-crust disc are the lambsquarter seeds that popped open like popcorn. So many folks that try lamsbquarter seeds don't care for their flavor. But toasting them until some pop open really makes the seeds taste great.

Grape Snowball Ala Mode

For the ala mode, I slice a snowball in half and lay it on the plate. I spoon spearmint-grape sauce on top. It soaks deep into the snowball, so I keep spooning the sauce on until the icy dome is covered with a thick layer of deliciousness.

x raisin pie 2.jpg
The bottom front of the snowball is not covered with the grape sauce. But you can see how dark the snow is now. It has soaked up a lot of great Concord grape flavor!

x raisin pie 3.jpg
I can't be taking more photos while my snowball melts -- it is not going to wait much longer! I am off to eat!

So how was it all? This was the first Steemit Iron Chef dish I made where I actually licked my plate clean! It was fanstastic! I would like a whole pie like this. This is the right way to use lambsquarter seeds! And you can bet I will be enjoying many more spearmint-grape snowballs -- ala mode or ala carte!


What Do You Think?

  • Do you grow grapes?
  • Have you ever made raisins?
  • Do you save snowballs in your freezer?
  • Do you eat lambsquarter greens or seeds?
  • Would you eat my Wild Whisky Raisin Pie Ala Mode?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant List

  • Concord Grapes and unknown variety of green seedless grapes - Vitis labrusca
  • Lambsquarter - Chenopodium alba - seeds
  • Spearmint - Mentha spicata - leaves
  • Fennel - Foeniculum vulgare - tender new leaves
  • Snow! - Hydrogen dioxide - for the chemists, lol! ; )

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Grapes--I can usually take 'em or leave 'em, but you guys are all cranking out some fantastic recipes this week! I bet those homemade raisins are fantastic.

Thanks, @plantstoplanks! These raisins are not like any store-bought raisins. It's like the difference between a gas-ripened store-bought tomato and a nice ripe tomato, right from the vine in a garden. I'm glad I have a good supply stocked up! I hope you can enjoy some really ripe grapes right from the vine -- then you won't want to leave them! ; )

love that .... we had a lot of snow here in the last days ... but to preserve snowballs like that ... they should not be city snowballs I guess ... as they are loaded with exhaust gasses and other nasty pollutions ... only possible whe found in a more pristine and less contaminated environment ... Awesome idea ! Wishing I lived on a Homestead like that ... it sounds so wonderful !

I'm glad you enjoyed my snowball, @globaldoodlegems! You make a good point about the importance of strong air quality laws. And it's a good idea to harvest fresh-fallen snow, too. I hope you can enjoy some fresh, clean snow sometime! :D

This looks incredible and definitely iron-chef worthy!!!!

Also—that Knob Creek! 😍😍

Hey, @jessamynorchard! Good to see you! I think you would like that whiskey-raisin pie! And maybe with a chaser on the side, lol! : )

WOW! A lot of grapes in your yard! I'm grapes lover..... ;D

Your dish looks yummy. I love raisin, too! Very sweet!

Again, good luck for Steemit Iron Chef! ;))

Thanks, @tangmo! That was only a small part of the grape harvest. And from only a few plants. It's pretty amazing how productive they are. And I don't have to do much of anything except pick them -- and some years I prune them, but not always. The plants really do all the work. I know you would really like both kinds of grapes. They are super flavorful.

You're welcome! Oh! There are plenty of grapes in your yard..... Really great! ;)

Ah! You always know me well, my dear friend! I love the grapes, for sure! ;))

They would go well with all the nice tropical fruit that you have. :D

I think grapes love cold weather, right? In Thailand, we also plant grapes in the North of Thailand which is cooler than other parts.... But, most of grapes that are sold in supermarkets are imported from other countries. ;)

Well I would certainly try it for a taste! I never seen anyone make a snowball look more yummy! Your food always does look delish!

Here is an idea, what about making your own whiskey??
Oh actually scratch that, I guess that is frowned upon by the Feds LOL! Just joking but if anyone could make some real powerful stuff, I bet you sure could!

Thanks, @old-guy-photos! I've got a lot of snowballs still in my freezer, so you may see more of them, some way or another! I've never made whiskey, but in high school, I did brew a lot of wine in my bedroom closet, from supplies in my mom's kitchen! It was so easy. The statute of limitations is long past, lol. I did pretty good business! But I never thought of trying my hand at the whiskey. There wasn't that much room in my closet back then. On the other hand, there are little distilleries popping up all over, like the microbreweries a decade ago. Maybe I should give it a try sometime. Although I could probably do myself some damage! :O

OK! this time you have outdone yourself! I understand foraging wild edibles but foraging snowballs! That is great! And nearly anyone can get started with that whenever it snows. Unless the snow is yellow it is edible! No need for worrying about poisonous lookalikes. All joking aside, this is another home run dish. You say that many people do not like the flavor of lambsquarter, I was wondering what does the lambsquarter seed disk taste like? I would assume bitter? Since people do not like it. But if it is bitter then it would go perfectly with the rest of the dish.

  • I do not grow grapes but my grandfather did to make homemade wine.
  • I never made raisins
  • I never saved snowballs in a freezer. But I have pre-made snowballs for a snowball fight!
  • I never ate lambsquarter greens or seeds
  • I would like to eat your Wild whiskey pie ala mode!

Thanks, @chefsteve! Foragers harvest what's handy, lol. Snow may not be manna from the heavens, but I'll take it! ; )

The flavor of lambsquarter seeds isn't so much bitter. Folks write how it's "mousy". I think of it as the flavor of gruel or porridge. Not earthy, not moldy, not exactly muddy, but something like all three, in a gruel, lol -- I need to come up with a better description! But when I toast it in a dry cast iron skillet, so that some of the seeds pop, the flavor really perks up. It is a toasted popcorn flavor, to me. Just brighter and pleasant.

That's neat that your grandfather made homemade wine. I think you would like my raisins -- they are so flavorful, almost floral. You will be in for a treat when you have lambsquarter greens. They are my number 1 favorite of the wild greens. And even people that don't like wild greens usually like lambsquarter. Pickled hop shoots on a bed of raw lambsquarter leaves is perfect bar food!

looks so nice... making me very hungry lol.. love the added snowballs :)

I'm glad we finally had some snow. My snowball supply was gone! Now I'm good for a couple months. It's more fun than ice. And I didn't even have to use the energy to freeze it -- nature provided it that way! :D

Yummy food thank you for shere dear @haphazard-hstead

Please don’t upvote your own comments.

Who does this contest?

I want in lol.

Like my post says, @progressivechef runs the Steemit Iron Chef contest. It's a good one, but it's brutal because it runs for weeks!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 11:40:20
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 73.60/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32