You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 08: Wild Style Whiskey Raisin Pie Ala Mode!

OK! this time you have outdone yourself! I understand foraging wild edibles but foraging snowballs! That is great! And nearly anyone can get started with that whenever it snows. Unless the snow is yellow it is edible! No need for worrying about poisonous lookalikes. All joking aside, this is another home run dish. You say that many people do not like the flavor of lambsquarter, I was wondering what does the lambsquarter seed disk taste like? I would assume bitter? Since people do not like it. But if it is bitter then it would go perfectly with the rest of the dish.

  • I do not grow grapes but my grandfather did to make homemade wine.
  • I never made raisins
  • I never saved snowballs in a freezer. But I have pre-made snowballs for a snowball fight!
  • I never ate lambsquarter greens or seeds
  • I would like to eat your Wild whiskey pie ala mode!
Sort:  

Thanks, @chefsteve! Foragers harvest what's handy, lol. Snow may not be manna from the heavens, but I'll take it! ; )

The flavor of lambsquarter seeds isn't so much bitter. Folks write how it's "mousy". I think of it as the flavor of gruel or porridge. Not earthy, not moldy, not exactly muddy, but something like all three, in a gruel, lol -- I need to come up with a better description! But when I toast it in a dry cast iron skillet, so that some of the seeds pop, the flavor really perks up. It is a toasted popcorn flavor, to me. Just brighter and pleasant.

That's neat that your grandfather made homemade wine. I think you would like my raisins -- they are so flavorful, almost floral. You will be in for a treat when you have lambsquarter greens. They are my number 1 favorite of the wild greens. And even people that don't like wild greens usually like lambsquarter. Pickled hop shoots on a bed of raw lambsquarter leaves is perfect bar food!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48