Steemified Series: Is Using an Upvote Bot During SBD Price Hike like Lighting a Match to Your Money? Things to Consider

in #steemified7 years ago (edited)

I heard that using an upvote bot when the market price of SBD is elevated will result in losing money. Well, that sounded interesting, so of course, I had to test out the theory.

Upvote bot profit could be an illusion

To test it out, I invested 1 SBD with an upvote bot and got 1.798 SBD back on this post. It may seem like an increase, but at the time of my test yesterday, SBD was being sold on Bittrex for about $12 each and Steem was at $1.80.

1 SBD turns into 1.798 SBD

ezgif.com-optimize (7).gif
Giphy.com

Keep in mind, my post is testing out investing 1 SBD, so feel free to see what happens if you multiply it by 5 or 10.


Option 1 - Guaranteed Win

I could have sold my 1 SBD and bought 6.6 Steem with it... probably the smart thing to do. You really can't go wrong with this scenario. In this case, I sell my SBD, originally worth about $1 for $12.00.

Option 2 - Rolled the Dice by Using the Upvote Bot

Outcome A

In this case, I am hoping at best that the market price of SBD holds steady by the time my post pays out and the extra .798 SBD I received for using an upvote bot, will end up being a profitable endeavor. Let's assume SBD stays at $12, I would have ended up with 1.798 x $12 = $21.576 which is an increase in value of $9.576.

Outcome B

On the flip side, if the price of 1 SBD drops to say $3... then 1.798 x $3 = $5.394. In this case, I have a loss of $6.606 in profit. So, minnows beware! The probability of SBD price dropping by the time your post is paid out is likely since people will want to take their profit.

As my friend @beanz said, it would be great to share this so that minnows don't get screwed. It is something to consider! Normally, I'm an advocate of upvote bots because I have a marketing background and I believe in investing in what you believe in. I know that when things settle back down, it will make sense to use upvote bots again. Personally, I kept a little bit of SBD on hand so I could test things out, even if its a bit of a gamble... but at least I'm gambling with my eyes wide open.


What really matters

Participating on Steem does have a learning curve. Fortunately, Steem has an incredibly uplifting and supportive community. It will take some digging around to learn what you need on this platform to thrive but take baby steps. Learn from posts that will help you win. Connect with others on Discord. Don't be hard on yourself because no matter where you are in the learning curve, if you're posting great content and leaving meaningful comments, you're at least on the Steem rocketship to the moon!

ezgif.com-optimize (8).gif
Giphy.com


A comment so good it deserves highlighting!

My friend @abh12345 mentioned in the comments below... What i'm doing is sending a bid to older posts, then i don't have to wait 6/7 days and watch SBDs fall.

In fact, he has recently written a post on bots so feel free to see his take on it! You'll learn a lot just from the comments section of his post.


Shoutouts!

The uptick in price happened so quickly, many of us, including me, were left wondering what to do... how do I even sell my SBD and buy Steem? Or even, how do I get my Steemit money into my bank account? So, here are a couple amazing posts that will help you!

Thank you @bitcoinparadise and @beanz for your incredible friendship and taking time out to answer all my goofy newbie questions the last few days! (I know... we're all learning.) Be sure to follow them both for more handy tips.


This post is #Steemified... pertaining to Steem.

steemified.png

Previous Steemified Post


Recent Posts


karencarrens fukako Steemit footer.gif

You can also find me @karencarrens on Discord as well as Steemit.Chat.

Sort:  

Fantastic article, @karencarrens! I love how you ran some tests, and also gave additional resources for more information. Superb! I'm going to check out every link you included!

I was trying to convert Steem and also SBD into Bitcoin today using Blocktrades.us, and discovered that there is a minimum amount needed to do a transaction. Alas, I don't have enough of either one, so I couldn't give it a try.

I've upvoted and resteemed this post, and am following you now, too. I found the link to this article on #unmentionables. Thanks for writing such a timely and helpful article.

Cheers!
@mitneb

Thanks @mitneb! I love the #unmentionables!

I encourage you to look at the link I put for @beanz on converting to Bitcoin. Her video rocks. It requires that you have a Bittrex account. Bittrex had the best exchange rate the other day. :)

Thanks. I will do that, @karencarrens. I might even have a Bittrex account already established.
Cheers!
@mitneb

Really great post. Definitely, something for newcomers to pay attention to! We could all use a few extra bucks!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is excellent. I always love finding out how to maximize potential income streams!

Yes, there are so many tools to learn about within the Steem ecosystem!

Recently because of the sbd price hikes. Everyone has been going crazy. I'm glad I used some bots service the day before the sudden hike, because now it is all x6.6-7 which is CRAZY!!

Absolutely! It's a gamble now but worth it if you keep a few SBD in case it takes off again. I kept a bit for that reason. And, SBD sitting in a wallet does nothing so it does make sense to invest it with bots. Just make sure before you do anything, you know what the potential outcomes can be.

Hey Karen

This is a nice walk-through of the scenarios :)

The key element as you say is the price of SBDs when you send the bot, and the price on pay-out day.

If these are equal, you should be able to profit with the bot-vote.

What i'm doing is sending a bid to older posts, then i don't have to wait 6/7 days and watch SBDs fall.

Personally, i've been doing a bit of everything. Sold some SBDs the other day, bought and Powered up some STEEM, sent a bit to the bots, and am holding some just in case any of the options above become very favorable.

Good luck, and merry SBD xmas! :D

What a great point! I will highlight that in my main post and also add a link to your awesome post on bots.

Great, thank you!

Good luck in whatever you decide to do! :D

Literally just sold my SBD on Bitrixx instead of powering up or using a upvote bot!

Good! You can buy way more Steem if you want now with the Bittrex exchange. :)

upvoted and followed! If I know or learn about any-other strategy I will definitely share it with you! thanks for tonight!

Thank you and ditto. I really enjoyed your talk since I love all animals and love people that love animals.

Thank you Karen for this information. Quite very interesting to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62