Blast to the steemfest past #6 - My first coffee shop in AmsterdamsteemCreated with Sketch.

All the rewards from the "blast to the steemfest past" series will be used to give
one lucky dedicated steemer, needing financial support, a free @steemfest 2 Ticket. All rewards will be held until the the steemfest ticket is bought. Thanks to everyone who supports these posts by Resteeming, Upvoting and/or Commenting. Also thanks to all the whales and orcas for supporting the goal of this series with your vote ^_^

Thanks to all who donated to the cause, it is greatly appreciated:

@danilamarilu- 7.738 SBD
@Exploretraveler- .001 SBD
@enternamehere- 15 steem

Total money raised= 67.788 Steem & 15.514 SBD

Cost of steemfest ticket 222.22 Euro


Coffe shop=smoking weed, not drinking coffee!

When I first arrived at Amsterdam I knew that I wanted to try a coffee shop. I wanted to find the best one for my very first time. So I ask some of the locals and they recommended Abraxas, telling me it wasn't as "touristy" as some of the other coffee shops (like the bulldog).

As I walked in I immediately noticed how many people were occupying the space. The guy at the register was busy serving other people, so decided to look at the menu first and choose my favorite strain that I wanted to try.
DSCN8637.JPG

I took a quick picture while I was waiting and immediately got scolded by the guy working at the store. He told me I could take pictures of anything inside but no picture of any people. So this was my first and last picture inside the coffee shop with people in it.
DSCN8634.JPG

I saw a card that gave tips and trick for rolling/smoking hash & weed. I took a snapshot of it but I was sketched out from taking pictures. So I took this blurry picture that is completely unreadable :(
DSCN8635.JPG

I decided to choose one of the pre-rolled weed joints. I thought about the JFK Kush and purples haze but decided on the pure white widow because it is one of my favorites!
DSCN8638.JPG

It came in a green container in the shape of a cone. When I opened it up I was not surprised to find a joint rolled also in the shape of a cone.
DSCN8636.JPG

I went upstairs to go smoke because downstairs was so crowded with people. After walking up stairs, I saw people everywhere too. I realized that I couldn't take a picture (if I followed the rules, which I did) of anything because of the fact that there were people everywhere!

As I look around all the tables were completely full, I saw one of the round tables with a chair and a long booth that stretched all the way connecting to all the other tables. There was a guy sitting on the booth but the chair was empty. I looked at him at he told me that I could sit down with him if I wanted to.

I happily took his offer as I sat down and pull the chair close to the table. I shook his hand and we both introduced each other. He told me his names was "mattes" (ma-teh-yes). I pulled my joint out and sparked it up while we were talking. I offered some of it to him but he had his own. It was weird not sharing because I am usually so used to it.
DSCN8641.JPG

We had good conversation for a while and then he told me he had to go but it was nice meeting me. I said,"goodbye" to him and thanked him for the company.

I had a great experience in my first smoke shop and feel that it is an amazing unique part of Amsterdam. Which is why it is sad for me to hear that the Netherlands’ increasing intolerance towards pot. Many shops are closing down because of this and even are being forced in illegal situations due to these harsh laws being made.

I hope that this will change in the near future so that it can become regulated in a safe manner that doesn't force people to act illegally; Which threatens the safety of consumers and the tolerance of non-violent crimes.


Keep an eye out for my "have a blast at steemfest2" giveaway soon. Using all the rewards from this series to give one lucky dedicated steemer a steemfest2 ticket!


Thanks viewing and supporting my "Blast to the steemfest past" series. Check out my other post in this series below.

Sort:  

Yes, my bro! I'm so damn glad you're coming to the fest... And offering us your pearls of wisdom through a presentation! Can't wait to check it out, man. Phenomenal job.

So looking forward to catching up again. :)

Thanks bro, I really appreciate it. Yeah me too, wasn't sure I was coming until just recently ^_^ Yeah, I am really excited to teach about hypnosis; So many people have very little understanding of what it is. Thanks again for the support and encouragement.

Looking forward to seeing and hanging out with you at steemfest ^_^

Thats my kind of coffee shot!

Are you going to SteemFest2 this year or just sending someone else?

Indeed, it is some good coffee.

Yes, I am going again this year and sending someone to steemfest2 ^_^ I am also going to be giving a presentation on hypnosis and how to reprogram oneself just like a computer.

oh wow, that sounds interesting, you speaking on stage at SteemFest?

Will be great to see you there! Going to be so awesome. I am speaking there this year and also giving away a ticket!

Hope you check out the posts and give me some feedback!

Full Steem Ahead to SteemFest!

Yeah, I am indeed speaking in one of the rooms on stage. Not sure which one though.

Will be great to see you again too.

Yeah We are both doing similar things actually ^_^

I shall definitely check out your post. Thanks for the support!

Steem on to steemfest2! ^_^

Hey if your a speaker I can do an interview with you for the Steemit Speakers Interview Series I am doing. its really good publicity for you. Let me know if you want to do it.

Yeah, I am open to that. Let me know when you want to do it and I will be ready ^_^

hey mate we where at steemfest togethe, shame we didn't enjoy a joint together there, giving a ticket away is a great thing to do for those that can barely afford the trip, kudos to you and your donators. You are good at piano ;)

Awesome, yeah I think I vaguely remember that (I don't remember meeting a chicken though so I assume that is not your picture.) Yeah, really wanted to give back something big to the community. I have received so much support form everyone and it has inspired this in me for a long while now.

Thanks, I should record some of my piano song and post the to steemit ^_^

Congratulations @ballinconscious! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

How your friends survive may remain given health. And I hope your days are fun, with your best posts, which inspire many of Steemit's loyal readers.

@ballinconscious many of your great posts This is a very interesting and useful post, so it's my heart's intention to read and see in detail the posts you share.

Not completely sure what you are talking about but I appreciate you sentiment.

Thanks, I do my best to create and share the true expression of myself.

Oh so you are also participating in Steemfest, great :)

Yep, I am also giving a presentation on hypnosis too ^_^

Oh wow thats cool, seems you are a professor of hypnosis :P

Yes, I could definitely be called a professor of hypnosis ^_^

resteemed and upvoted. New follower too :) Great initiative.

Thank you, I appreciate it. I have felt a calling to help other lately ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82