Blast to the steemfest past #5 - My first beer in Amsterdam at the Van Dele Cafe. Oh look, it's Donald Trump....again!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfestpast7 years ago (edited)

All the rewards from the "blast to the steemfest past" series will be used to give
one lucky dedicated steemer, needing financial support, a free @steemfest 2 Ticket. All rewards will be held until the the steemfest ticket is bought. Thanks to everyone who supports these posts by Resteeming, Upvoting and/or Commenting. Also thanks to all the whales and orcas for supporting the goal of this series with your vote ^_^

Thanks to all who donated to the cause, it is greatly appreciated:

@danilamarilu- 7.738 SBD
@Exploretraveler- .001 SBD

Total money raised= 52.788 Steem & 15.514 SBD

Cost of steemfest ticket 222.22 Euro


taking a break, for a beer

I now had Euros after exchanging my USD at a place (that had the cheapest exchange rate in Amsterdam) located at the sqaure plaze. So I decided to go try some new things around town by spending my new Euro paper; Which had different colors and sizes bases on how much money it represented (the bigger the amount, the bigger the size of the bill). I found this very interesting and a good method for organizing your money.

As I was exploring I found a quaint cafe right on the corner that attracted my attention. I decided to step inside and check it out for a while.
DSCN8630.JPG

It turned out to be a two story cafe/bar and much larger than I originally expected it to be. Adventure Time!
DSCN8625.JPG
DSCN8626.JPG

I sat down and asked what was the bartenders favorite beer. She told me her favorite was a blonde ale was called,"Hertog Jan - Traditioneel Natuurzuiver Bier", I didn't know what it meant but I told here to give me a glass of that
DSCN8619.JPG
DSCN8620.JPG

I received my beer and drank it slowly as I explored the rest of the Cafe. I looked over to see what was on the new paper.
DSCN8621.JPG

It was announcing that president Donald Trump had won the U.S. election against Clinton. On the plane ride to England was when I first heard about it since their were TV monitors on ever seat. On the plane some people were asking me what I thought about the result, I would respond,"presidents are just puppets".
DSCN8622.JPG

Then once I arrived in Amsterdam, EVERYONE was asking me about what I thought about the election all the time; I ended up saying the same answer over and over again. Why were people in Amsterdam so interested in U.S. politics?

I thought I would get away from political shit when I left the United States, I did not know it would follow me. People really seemed to like Obama in Amsterdam too (even though 7 countries were bombed during his term but I guess none of those countries were the Netherlands, so it was ok). Oh look, another newspaper about Donald Trump.
DSCN8623.JPG

Anyway....,setting aside political mind control talk, all the people of Amsterdam were very nice and accommodating. I went upstairs to explore the 2nd story of the cafe.

DSCN8628.JPG

there was just more people so I just went back down stairs.
DSCN8629.JPG

Then there was also a small downstairs section that I noticed next to the upstairs. Just more people though.
DSCN8627.JPG

I gave my glass back to the waitress, thanked her for helping me and left the cafe. Before I left I took one last look at the cafe and took a mental (and digital) picture of it.
DSCN8631.JPG

It was a good rest and a good beer! Now onto my next adventure!


Keep an eye out for my "have a blast at steemfest2" giveaway soon. Using all the rewards from this series to give one lucky dedicated steemer a steemfest2 ticket!


Thanks viewing and supporting my "Blast to the steemfest past" series. Check out my other post in this series below.

Sort:  

It appears escaping signs of the political circus is not as easy as we'd like it to be! Interesting to see Trump splashed across the newspapers there too. At least there was the distraction of beer ;)

BTW, I sent you 15 STEEM to go towards sending a Steemian to Steemfest² ☺

Yeah, definitely not an easy thing for sure. Now that global business exchange has become so easy, it also made transferring information to all countries easy too! Yeah the beer was nice.

Thank you, I appreciate it. Will be adding you on my next post ^_^

Blonde beer, is the only beer I kinda drink. Not big on beer at all. But great post and great pictures of the city so close to my hometown :D

Yeah, I like blonde beer too; It is light yet still good. Yeah neither am I that much anymore. It is fun to drink with friends socially though, especially if there is an open bar ^_^ Thanks, I didn't know you were born in the Netherlands.

I am 100% Dutch! :D
Hey are you on Discord?
Would love to chat sometime!
YOu have a lot of interesting things to say!
I am on Discord!

Haha, cool. I like dutch people, very friendly and welcoming.
Yeah, I actually do have discord. Just haven't gotten on there in a long time.
I will jump on there again soon though. I have the same screen name though, you can message me ^_^

I am glad you made it to Amsterdam. It is a great city. I was there in 87. I had a great time exploring and partying. I am glad you were able to experience that.

Thanks, It was a fun time. Really learned a lot on that trip. Wow, you were there even before the euro even existed. Awesome that we both had such a good experience in different points on the time line ^_^

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and vote me too

Its so exciting to be on the ground floor. I think most people don't realize how lucky we are to be a part of this as a community. Things of this magnitude are usually only available to the elite. If the power of the community could be harnessed the growth could be exponential

Your welcome and thank you ^_^

Yeah it is very exciting for me too! Steemit has been an amazing community for me. When I was going through a really hard time in my life, I was able to feel nurtured, accepted and love by the community. It was like I was doing something that mattered whenever I posted on steemit.

Cool stuff and I'd like a ticket if I may be able to get one! Working on raising funds to get there though! :)
Reaching 2500 Followers, SteemFest fundraiser, and what may I help with @ Steemfest

Yeah, once the contest starts you can submit your entry. Good luck, wishing you the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47