SteemFest² Reflections: Deliciously creamy, delightfully Steemy & Lusciously Lisbon (Part #3)

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Continuing along on board the Steem train… choo choo!! If you're interested in my (and associates) Steemy shenanigans in Portugal, check out part 1 & part 2.


Balcony boys! Pic courtesy of @pjo at lunchtime on conference day 2

So we left the last on a cliffhanger. Not really but I’m keeping myself entertained. Did we make it surfing?? Well, @surfermarly did (it’s all in the name) and a few of the others… and kudos to @alanfreestone for getting out there, especially as I was walking up the streets of Lisbon with him late the previous evening and we were what could be described as mildly inebriated. I think the question of who was ‘worse for wear’ may well be answered here.

So not for me, although it would have been great I’m sure and did look awesome. I had a very none-Steemit day and had a little bit of a wander. But it’s only a matter of time before you run in to a rogue Steemian out and about. On this occasion, the delightful @teamhumble & @dayleeo doing a very similar thing to me.


I ran into them somewhere around this guy - rocking some swing dancing in the street of Lisbon. Quite the happy chappy.

The last supper

So the final event was on the Sunday where we gathered together for one last time to toast a successful Steemfest with a grand banquet. A fair few people had left to go back to their respective homes or onward with their travels but it was good to see the majority of people were still about and ready for one last hurrah!

The setting was great - 'like a fairytale', I saw somewhere (I can’t help but think of the film In Bruges… I’ll have to put a clip below). Someone described it as Jurassic Park. Whatever, it was a great finale.



I happened to be sat in amongst a bunch of veggies and then the waiter proceeded to give me the biggest pile of pork of the lot. No pic of that, but this is what they brought me for dessert, not quite the exemplary display as on the left much but did delight one dinner companion who may or may not have had his camera rolling.


The food wasn’t always perfect ;). "What's happened to yours?!". Hmm, good question.


@antonchanning and @dana-varahi. This great couple were unfortunate enough to find themselves sat opposite me and @basilmarples. I had just told them how I always forget to take pictures, so here you go!

Things then took a turn with some breakdancing followed by the waiter going crazy on the ‘drums’!


Breakdancing dude rockin' the dance floor


The waiter and everyone in some sort of makeshift drumming session which involved everyone left. The guy was up on the bar going nuts! I believe there are videos somewhere…

Add to that, some 'deep looking' with @jerrybanfield (refers to this post and essentially involves maintaining eye contact for a ridiculous length of time - try it!) and it was quite an evening!


Wider shot of the room where the last dinner took place. 3 long tables housing a fine banquet!


@arcange was on a selfie mission around the tables, so here's me, Basil and a couple of others pulling faces. I was still reeling from the ice cream incident.

Ok, part 4 wrap up coming soon!

~ Adam

Related:
Pre-SF
SF Part 1
SF Part 2
SF Part 4
SF Addendum

*****

Sort:  

Hello @adambarratt, I was also at SF2, but I don't think we have chat !
I haven't done my review about SF2 yet, so your motivated me to do so :-)
Thank you for putting also the names of the people under your pictures so I can find them (thoses I already knows) on Steemit :) :) :)

Hey Roxane! No, I don't recall meeting you… but we'll have to meet the next time! Yes, write a review, I would love to see it! :)

See you next year then !!!:)

GOSH CAN U STOP?!?! Making me regret I didn't go for steemfest!!!! Hahaha, ur awesome bro

Never! Well, one more… maybe 2 if my little typey fingers go crazy ;)
Don't worry, just make sure you're there next year and we'll make it epic!

HAHAHA @zord189, next year !We are waiting for you !!!!!

This post has received a 0.15 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

So jealous ... but to be honest I didn't even know of the existence of Steemit 10 days ago and now since we missed Steemfest in Lisbon by over a month I feel like I missed the train yet again. We're based in Valencia .... which would make a great location for Steemfest 2018!

No worries, there will be more opportunities! There were about 300 people there out of around 400,000 users so most couldn't or didn't make it. Valencia would be good, I love it there and I live in Madrid so it would be good for me in terms of location (although, I would also like to mix it up a bit and travel somewhere, money/time permitting). The organisers may well have their own ideas!

They would not listen to me .. but Valencia would be a good fit. What brought you to Madrid? 400k user BTW wow!!! I'm just a little shrimp :)

I guess many places would work well and it depends a lot on the other users/potential attendees as well as the feedback from the last event and the preference of the organisers. It may well be in America as there are many users there and the first 2 SteemFests have been in Europe, but who knows!

I think there are 400k+ signed up to Steemit, probably more now although not all will be active.

Madrid is a long story but I went on a volunteer program here a few years ago, then got a job with the company who organised that program, and have since left and returned, so making it home for now!

hell YEAH my camera was rolling! and one of these days..... ONE OF THESE DAYS.....I will get round to editing it all together! Its lovely being reminded of all this frivolity, thanks Adam :D

Frivolous frolics!
Yeah, you must have a fair amount of footage… a mixed bag of gibberish and quality content I imagine. The last vid I saw was you and the boys having a fairly highbrow Steemy discussion by a fountain. I'm guessing it goes downhill from there ;)

haha. pretty much. Ive just put up the next episode which I think vaguely outlines the increased uselessness of my documentary making skills that evening....

Great memories, made me smile seeing all those faces ! Thanks for sharing @adambarratt <3

I know, right? Fun times! :)

agreed, cant wait for next year!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71