SteemFest² Reflections: Deliciously creamy, delightfully Steemy & Lusciously Lisbon (Part #2)

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)



Full steem ahead with part 2 of my Steemy encounter with Lisbon. Part 1 here.

Last time I spoke a little about the talks… but what of the evening antics? Early night with slippers and a chamomile tea? Not quite. Not for some anyway.

For the evening of the first conference night, we went to a ‘snooker club’… more of a pool hall but there may well have been a snooker table in there somewhere. Probably just as well seeing some of our performances of the shorter game. That 40 minute game could well have been 3 hours across the more lengthy green baize.

This was my first meeting of Mr @alanfreestone - a Northern Irish chap who wasn’t quite Hurricane Higgins. Then again, I was no Rocket Ronnie.


The drinking vessel of the evening! This may go some way to explaining our performance. There's a sweet spot we may have well surpassed ;)

Other than the free flowing beers, there was an opportunity to play the fool with the ol' GIF machine. We finally got round to popping our heads in after many a game of pool.


Bernie's not quite sure what to make of it all either

If that wasn’t enough, we finished the evening with an impromptu jolly old sing song around the piano. It was all a bit hazy by this point (as is the pic) so I picked an appropriate moment in amongst it all to call it a night.



As well as Alan and the inimitable Norfolk nutter @basilmarples, I hung out with @fitzgibbon and @bettyboob, a delightful Dutch couple who I had met earlier in the day and ended up at their dinner table… we had some good laughs and some 'highbrow' Steemy discussions ;)


Dinner the first night. Don't worry, there was food too! (mine was the water)

A night of Steem

The evening of conference day 2 went with quite a swing, including a stand-up comedy performance from @jerrybanfield and a gig from the @steembirds with their unique brand of Steemy Rock (is that the official genre?!)


Jerry B giving it some!


"Don't drink & Steem!" @dan-atstarlite and @jaybird rockin' it large!

Once again, the ol’ vino did flow. Well, beer mainly and perhaps a mojito in there somewhere too.

The night was rounded of by DJ @sneak doin’ his ting on the turntables accompanied by some, er, busting of shapes on the dance floor. Turns out Steemians can rock… but we knew that already!

Oh, and the GIF machine was back - here are a couple that I was in…


Increasingly bizarre, strangely addictive
(more at https://www.simplebooth.com/gallery/UXGjRionPCy8)


Tune in for part 3 - The question is, did we manage to make it surfing the next day? And what of the DIY days and the last dinner?!

~ Adam

Related:
Pre-SF
SF Part 1
SF Part 3
SF Part 4

*****

Sort:  

Ahh thems were the days eh Adam? Free booze, free pool, plenty of stimulating chat.... oh the laughs we had! I think a steemfest every week would be a bit much, but we should DEFINITELY get the uk crew together again in the new year sometime....what do you reckon to a january meetup?

Basil, me ol' fruit! Yeah, we were a couple of Steemy characters about Lisboa.

I'd absolutely be up for a get-together but bear in mind I live In Madrid… so I'll be down in Devon over Xmas but back here for the coming months. I'd say go ahead and do it either way and I'll see if it's possible for me to get involved… and then we'll do another one in Spain!

Oh, and SF every week (or month for that matter)?? I'd have to go teetotal. It's not sustainable living.

haha agreed. We'd all be dead by next year.
Yeah, I forgot you were in Spain.....Ah well....we'll have to come over and do it there I guess!

I AM SO GOING TO THE NEXT STEEMFEST!!!! Heard it's in ASIA

Really?! Sounds good to me! :D

That is indeed the million steem question, DID you guys go surfing?? I'll stay tuned..

Well... it's safe to say some did... others, not so much ;)

I spot a wild @spurious-claims, @vandeberg, @sjennon, @firepower, and @arcange in those gif machines! And @piem on the piano I think.

Thanks again, @robrigo! Some fine Steemians right there!

Bernie looks happy!

Haha, yeah, he's a funny one our Bernie ;)

wow, this was fun. Tasty beer and so wonderful people. Can't wait to meet you all again!

Had another great beer today here in Belgium

Indeed! We will do this all again soon… in the mean time, let's enjoy a beer or 10 :)

Great to see SF posts still popping up every now and then. Cheers!

@sjennon! Yeah, let's milk these posts until the next event… and then do it all again! I think you were a regular in that GIF machine, no??

Hahaha yes definitely!

And a lil bit. I always feel honored when I randomly see my face passing by in people's posts :D

Wow! liked it, good community :)

Thanks, have a great weekend!

wow very funny and well post dear @adambarratt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71