Going to the Steem Creator Conference

On the Road to Vegas

Today is the day to go and meet a bunch of Steemians I have been following for a while. Some of them have been on Steemit for a while like the Garden of Eden folks - others are a bit newer to the platform. But the conference is promising to be lots of fun!!

Mike.jpg

Ready. Set. Go!!!!

Got my personal chauffeur and am all set to relax for the 5-hour drive.

For those of you not familiar with Southern California - not everything looks like Hollywood. This is what the road looks like a bit inland.

road.jpg

Let's look over to the side

side of road.jpg

Houses and some trees, nothing tall, nothing fancy. Better than this?

bare hills.jpg

Maybe. Bare hills for miles and miles.

And this is a pretty typical landscape too.

scrub.jpg

For some reason, there was an extraordinary amount of trucks carrying huge rolls of paper on the road.

paper truck.jpg

I wonder what they are using it for. My first thought was that it was for Newspapers - but it is brown paper, not white.

On the way, we stopped a couple of times to stretch out legs. In Barstow, it was 55 degrees and very windy. At this rest stop it was very windy too. See how our hair gets blown all over the place :)

windy.jpg

🤪

This place had the honor to have the tallest thermometer in the world - the locals swear it is true.

tallest thermometer.jpg

As you can see, it is 79 here, but the wind still made it quite unpleasant.

forever straight.jpg

The road kept stretching out straight forever. One great feature about this car is that the seats have a heater build in. when my back started to hurt, I turned on the heater and it was like a huge hot water bottle! Nice and warm and relaxing.

By now, the side of the road had changed to cacti.

cactus.jpg

Look what we passed here!

old car-2.jpg

Finally, we got to the Nevada State line!!! Yay!!

nevada.jpg

And look who we all found at the Hotel, all ready for some picture taking. How great was that!!!

IMG_9731.jpg

From left to right: Shellie @everlove, I.J. Maha @steemcafe, Quinn Eaker @quinneaker, Richard Crill @richardcrill, Lindsay Lambz @lindseylambz, Daniel Fishman @hypnopreneur

Getting her camera ready to take pictures: Sara Miller @saramiller

We already spend a fun evening together and met many more of the steemit creator conference attendees. they are here from all over the US. There is still time to join the fun!!! Hop on a plan and come on over to Vegas!!!

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Two Cellos - Not What You Think

Gasoline from a plant? Tree Tuesday - Kind off

Fun at Meetup in San Diego

DIY door opener - dog

Is this an animal?

An Overgrown Garden

Love it/Shove it!

Street art Makes Me Smile

Meet up San Diego

Tree Tuesday- Flowers

I will be a Speaker at the Creator Conference in Las Vegas

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Join me in Las Vegas at the Steem Creators Conference

Screen Shot 2018-03-26 at 9.43.43 AM.png

Get your tickets here. Steem accepted!!! For a $25 discount, enter my username @mariannewest at check out.

Sort:  

Thanks for taking us on the trip with you through your photos. It was fun! Glad you made it safely and have a wonderful time. : )

Thank you so much!!!

Looks like a fun bunch! But then, anyone in Vegas looks like they are having fun, except the ones that just lost their shirt lol!

hahaha - I guess you are right about that. But we are getting huge amount of Steemit knowledge and it is so great to connect with so many amazing people here!!

Such a long trip, and that windy break stop did play havoc with your hair. It's wonderful you got the opportunity to meet up with other members of Steemit you have been interacting with for a long time in person. I hope you all had a lovely time together.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

we are still having a lovely time and learning so much!!!!

Have a blast @mariannewest! Yup, that SoCal landscape look familiar! I've been by that exact same thermometer and taken pics too :)

ha!! It is a landmark of sorts - we can compare pictures :)

Learn lots, have fun, and bring it back to us!

For sure!!! Let's plan a meetup with a report from the conference!

Have lots of fun @mariannewest! I'm sure it's gonna be awesome! Wish I was there.

Next time for sure!! You need to come. We had a great panel and my head is already swimming with all the info.

I look forward to hearing all about it!!

See how our hair gets blown all over the place :)

That was my favorite line! HA HA HA!!

It must be minor OCD, but with that huge 76 gas station sign, shouldn't the temperature always be 76, too? If it was, I'd move right now.

Have a great time!

hahaha - make a proposition to the weather god :)

Have a great time! I cant believe it was that chili in Baker usually its frying out there. Looking forward to hearing about your experiences!

You will!!!! I will take lots of notes and we can schedule a meetup!!

Ahhh THE GIANT THERMOMETER! I love this.
I used to lead bus tours out Orange County across the US. So I’ve been on this road many times. California is my happy place.☺️ That landscape is barren but beautiful and when I am in it, I always feel like I am off on an adventure. 😊

Thanks for sharing! Enjoy your Vegas steemit adventures.

It is a beautiful landscape after you get used to it. I see the beauty - but when I first came here, I wanted more green :)

thank you - it already is fun!!!

Very exciting you can all visit and plan for the future. I will be out of town, otherwise, I'd drop down there. I will see if I can escape work today to spend my lunch hour down there. Otherwise, I'm sorry we can't meet. You have done so much for me. Thanks.

Aww. Thank you!!! That would be great!! Otherwise - next time!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76