Steemit Tips #11 - How to Promote STEEM and Get More Followers on Twitter

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Lately, I've "noticed" an initiative from Steemians promoting STEEM on Twitter. I thought I'd share some tips on ways to help reach Twitter influencers so we can spread the word about Steemit and the STEEM cryptocurrency.

The first thing I look at on Twitter...

I've been on Twitter for a while now, and have a few followers. What's surprising is how I use my account after logging on. After login, the first place I head to is that little bell icon at the top. I then click the "All" tab. This gives me a real-time list of everyone who followed me, mentioned me, liked one (or more) of my tweets, and most importantly retweeted one (or more) of my tweets.

Notice that "or more" part...

What I'm looking for are people who consistently support me. If I see someone doing that, it prompts me to check them out. If I like what I see, they'll get added to my "Thank You" list which I tweet out regularly. Persistence pays off, and if they keep at it, I begin liking and retweeting their content in return.

Thank You @kawaiicrush and @nathanmars I see you! :)

Make a great first impression

Be sure your Twitter Profile is filled out. Avatar, background, bio, and website link back to your Steemit page. If you haven't taken the time to do these very basic things, it gives the impression you won't be around long or even worse, are a fake account. No one wants to follow a user who isn't real.

Once that checks out, I'm looking to see if they post consistently. If you haven't posted in six months, that tells me you're not going to be online much, so it's useless to engage with someone who's never on. There should be a nice mix of recent original posts and retweets of other accounts. If an influencer sees that you're supporting other people, that really makes you stand out from the crowd.

Hashtags are your friend

Take a look at my Twitter account, and you'll see that with almost every tweet I use hashtags. Adding relevant tags to your tweets helps to expand your potential audience. Something that's really helped me grow has been seeing what's trending and tweeting about it. Some of my most popular tweets of the year have been breaking news events.

Whenever I publish a new Steemit post, I promote it on Twitter. Beginning with a mixture of tags related to the post and taking a look at what's trending at the moment to see if I can add a tag from there as well.

Gaining followers

One of the best ways to gain more followers after doing the above is to start following others. However, it's essential to have tweeted recently; this increases the chance that the influencer will be online in order to follow you back. It can be difficult at the start as it's easier to get more Twitter followers when you have more. That's where the adage "It's better to give than to receive." really comes in handy as you're just starting out.

My audience is a nice mix of people interested in cryptocurrency, business, technology, startups, podcasting, marketing, and entrepreneurship. I try to keep them all well-fed with a steady diet of news, tips and my own personal observations on the things we all care about.

Also, don't be afraid to mix things up. No one wants to see endless tweets of STEEM/Steemit promos. Share part of your life and personal thoughts on other topics. This engagement makes for more of a well-rounded individual, and you become more real to your followers.

Twitter is global, and your tweets should be as well...

One thing to be aware of is that not all of your followers will be online at the same time. As part of my Steemit Tips series, I published a post about this called: Steemit Tips # 3 - What is The Best Time for YOU to Publish Your Blog Posts? In it, you'll find information that will help you to decide precisely when to publish in order to reach the audience you desire.

Bringing more users onto Steemit and growing your blog go hand-in-hand. We all want to see the price of STEEM increase and Twitter can help get the word out about our favorite platform. What tips have you used to promote STEEM to the masses? Are you on Twitter? If so, please link to your account in a comment below.

Thank you so much!

Follow @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Check out my new Amazon Influencer page where I share my product list to help you get started in Podcasting, Crypto and Information for Entrepreneurs - As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat

Image credit: 1, 2, 3

If you liked this post, you can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

Sound advice, especially about time schedule posts - it can work really on Steem particularly because the audience crosses so many time zones - so for example in the UK I get much more benefit posting very late at night because then is early evening for a greater proportion of my audience!

Driving traffic from Twitter back to Steem is also a good move forward, I try to Tweet posts and also have an auto tweet system set up that will randomly tweet either one of my posts - or one of my resteems - spreading the content a share round more.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

On Twitter, a nice chunk of my audience is from the UK and Europe. I'm​ on the east coast near Philly and New York City. If I retweet my Steemit post at 6am eastern time, I reach the morning crowd here and lunchtime in the UK.

Spending 6 months in Germany (and a day in England ) really opened the world up to me.

Americans​ can be kind of insular and getting out gave me another perspective on things.

I still remember the day in September, 2017 when they said the temperature was 30° I went to get my winter coat puzzled that it would be below freezing so soon in Germany. It was only when I got outside that my other classmates reminded me that they don't use the Fahrenheit temperature system over there.

We got a good laugh out of that, but it was a small reminder of how richly varied we all are. Thanks for stopping by.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EverNoticeThat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I really like your article, very helpful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49