You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Important Changes to Steemit.com and Wallet

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Dear @steemitblog and @everyone else reading

line2.png

I just had a chance to realize that some solid changes has been introduced to Steemit platform. Pretty much out of nowhere (as even someone who spent 6-8h dialy on Steemit the way I do, had no chance to "prepare" myself for what's coming).

The way those changes has been introduced has been very "brutal". Without any visible notification and explanation what is about to happen. I found it very disrespectful towards Steemit users.

SHARE YOUR VIEW

I really love this platform for it's users and communities, but if this is what we all consider "decentralzied social media" then ... how is it any different from all centralized ones we know?

Please share your opinion and experience and definetly visit entire topic related to that latest "upgrade":

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/social-condenser-is-live

Dissapointed users

Reading comments made me already realize how frustrated many users out there are. Lack of communication skills between those who "RULE" this platform and communities and users growing here only reminds me of France and Yellow Vests movement. It (communication) simply doesn't seem to exist.

"OUR RULERS" do not seem to care about us "regular joes". And it's so bloody frustrating ...

People like @justinashby, @master-set, @frankvvv, @cflclosers and many others seem to share similar impression. What a bloody morning :/

ps.1) I wonder how many people will not be able to find their masterkeys now....

ps. 2) Does anyone know how to change language in wallet section? I always used english but now once Im in wallet then it seem to recognize my IP and showing everything in Polish.

ps. 3) I need to sign in again and again whenever I'm refreshing my wallet - do you guys have a similar problem?

Yours
Piotr

Sort:  

I know many people have been blaming Steemit Inc for this and that! You seem to be among the few blaming Steemit for not communicating this condenser split now!!

In your comment above you stated that there has been no communication in regards to this split!!! You are wrong!!

There has been communication from @steemitblog for over two months I guess.If you do not follow Steemit blog here then obviously you will miss this info.

In almost all @steemitblog posts they always end with

Be sure to follow @steemitblog if you would like to see more engineering updates like these!

I can even drop you links here from all the @steemitblog posts explaining all this announcements.!!!!
I will drop links from the very fast announcement in regards to the split to the one of yesterday!!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/splitting-condenser-social-wallet
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/engineering-update-all-team-meeting-condenser-split
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/engineering-update-ddos-wallet-steemdao
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/engineering-update-condenser-split-key-backup-mira
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/engineering-update-mira-testing-in-production

So there you are...!!! All that is communication and it has been happening weekly.
It is also wise to follow Steemit on Twitter here https://twitter.com/steemit because all these posts are also shared there.

For all those still complaining about thee use of different keys check out these posts below.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@therealwolf/steemit-wallet-passwords-and-private-keys by @therealwolf and https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-basics-understanding-private-keys-part-1 by @steemitblog with a video embeded by @andrarchy

Thanks for reading my long comment

Thank you, you saved me from having to copy and paste the multiple Steemitblog posts on this. “No warning” is a dramatic over reach.. even though I feel better wording or more clear communication could have been done... but “no warning” is ridiculous.

Instead of saying Steemit never said anything just say you didn't see any blog posts about it.

They didn't see because they don't follow @steemiblog and who do we blame for that??

Thanks for appreciating hehehe.
Some folks just go overboard and complain!!!

Excelent recap! I just don't see how a PDF with all the credentials possibly can raise a security but lowers it. Give me your *_steem_keys.pdf, please, and I'll take care of all of your sins. ROFLOL

Yet whenever there is a bottom side there is a top side as well. I have learned there's a dramatoken today. I just don't know how to aquire some of these. However, someone will show me in no time. ;-)

!dramatoken

Sorry, you don't have enough DRAMA.
You need 10.00000 DRAMA more for a chance to make it happen.
To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Hahaha i wish I had this @dramatoken, i would have sent them to the people who need it!!!

Yeah! And I still don't know whether I first need to create some drama for giving it to others. LOL

si amigo pero necesito ayuda, quiero retirar pero ahora ya no puedo me pueden ayudar como hago para recuperar la contraseña

For me personally, the reasons for the change are understandable as a security aspect. I would prioritize it if Keychain would work in the complete Steem blockchain with all dapps and frontends. In my opinion that would be the best option for any user.

Separation of wallet and social makes sense to me. Especially since it keeps people from using active or master keys for everything.
Wallet handling is a bit tedious atm. The constant log outs in particular.

Sure, handling posting and private keys can be annoying. A good password manager or keychain integration can alleviate that part.

I was surprised by the massive outrage, since I was expecting the split for quite some time now. My source was @steemitblog and their improved communication strategy.

What is getting on my nerves is the ads.
But hey, I don't have to use steemit.com.
I still don't think they are a good idea. I'm also aware that many people thought it was a great idea during the last pointless drama.

This part also calls into question the motivation to get the split done first. It's not that Steemit was madly focused on developing steemit.com before.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my brother ...!

I just hope that by this time I am writing you, you are a little calmer.

You are suffering from the syndrome of rejection of change. It is normal. We do not like to be taken out of our comfort zone.

Soon this will only be a small bad memory.

I also fell very bad at the beginning. Especially for the lack of communication. For example when the last HF, we were informed before-during-after.

In terms of language settings and key storage, I can tell you that I delegated this responsibility to Chrome. I do not know if you dare to do the same.

A hug!

Change is not bad, but communication is key for adoption of (said) change. If there is barely any communication about coming change, most people will not like it.

My main problem with this is the following, and especially people with a lot of $$$ in their wallets should really think about it .... Apperantly steem leadership is able to change the setup of our wallets, without any warning they changed (and now redirected) us to another site ... with said wallet (and re log ins) they say it will be safer .... but what if we have a bad actor out there, and no redirection happens .... all your funds (even though still on the blockchain somewhere) will be gone. How about that for hyper inflation management 😉. All in all, i’m not really happy about it ... but i just own a couple of steem, so it is not really worth my bothers

Thank you for this helpful feedback. We will continue trying to improve our communication efforts. We have provided multiple updates through @steemitblog over the course of the last two months, but we understand we need to do a better job of making sure that people read those updates and the message of the updates is clear. We released the wallet almost a month ago and have been regularly informing users of our plans to remove the wallet from steemit.com to address security concerns, increase development speed for both apps, and decrease resource consumption.

These are just some of the updates we provided that discussed this social/wallet split:
Wallet App Soft Roll Out is Live
Engineering Update: Condenser Split, Key Backup, MIRA
Engineering Update: DDoS, Wallet, SteemDAO

SteemitWallet.com is just a web interface for the steem blockchain. Changes to a website have nothing to do with the blockchain itself. In addition, since there is now an open source standalone web wallet application (the software powering steemitwallet.com) anyone can create their own web wallet in literally seconds that uses the same backend but with a totally different user interface. Of course, nothing was stopping anyone from developing their own website and their own wallet for the Steem blockchain, but now they will have a turnkey solution that will make it much easier for them to do so.

Do you expect the average user to read engineering updates? None of these titles indicated any urgency. There should have been a warning at the top of the page before you implemented this change.

I do agree that separating the wallet was necessary for security reasons.

Dear @andrarchy

I appreciate your kind reply.

The only reason why so many people are very well informed about this publication is because Steemit Inc decided to make it very visible and public.

Why not to use similar solution and let people prepare themselfs for what's coming. Educate them and warn to make a copy of masterkeys.

There has been many people who lost their keys and only have their posting keys left. That's really very tragic.

Yours
Piotr

You are suffering from the syndrome of rejection of change. It is normal. We do not like to be taken out of our comfort zone.

That made me laugh :')

I laughed badly as well @soyrosa :)

I know that very soon we will all get used to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

i´m sure about it.

Dear @juanmolina

You are suffering from the syndrome of rejection of change

Hahaha perhaps. But Im mostly a bit frustrated with lack of communcation. Somehow Steemit Inc. managed to promote this post and add link to it on top of the platform. so everyone would see.

Why couldn't they do it and publish "warning"? Such a change is not easy to accept, when you don't inform your customers that they should back up their keys in safe place and that soon those changes will be introduced.

That's what is upseting me the most.

Also the fact is that steemit right now will be just completely to difficult for majority of new users. At the same time - that may be good for those already established :) So maybe it's not such a terrible news after all.

Cheers buddy
Piotr

Why couldn't they do it and publish "warning"?

I totally agree.

Such a change is not easy to accept, when you don't inform your customers that they should back up their keys in safe place...

Something that caught my attention when I opened my account in Steemit, was the number of times that steemit warned me that "I could not recover my primary key".
They told me so many times. Everywhere the same warning appeared. Then I made about 15 backups everywhere ... LOL!

Hi crypto.piotr,
I understand your agony in safeguarding your private keys. But as a measure of security this is important. We have been entering into the crypto world at a forward pace during these days. At this pace we really need to provide secure measure in safeguarding the platform. Even though it is inconvenience after a lot of use we have to bear it.

And steemit already addressed that to safeguard your keys when you are opening your account. you might have forgot that just recollect that process. you will understand the important of safeguarding your keys.

I personally feel that it should be a welcoming move. Even I felt awkward during initial days of my steemit why some x person should see our wallet. Now I welcome this move because it addressed my concern.

The wallet change does not concern me and seems to be done for a valid reason. That said, I'm not getting advertising that I believe is offensive and may ultimately affect my continued use of Steemit. I'm going to check out other tools and see if I have the same issue.

Thanks for posting, seems to be on everyone's mind.

When I first saw this, I was sure it was an April Fools joke, but that does not seem to be the case. Eh, whatever.

As I have said elsewhere, convenience and security are opposite ends of a sliding scale; the more secure something is, the less convenient, and vice versa. This is a law of the universe, and there's no getting around it.

Hi @piotr,
I agree on communication issues, I’m not talking about “lack” of information but an overdose of technical approaches far away from the normal massive people who don’t care at all about the guts of a system. People want to connect each other, share and why not help others to achieve their dreams by means of using Steem as a reward system connected to their preferred social media webapp Steemit.
Information should be presented in a web(mobile first) friendly manner which is what they spect from social platforms.
We have plenty of data totally useless (but necessary and expected) and a lack of “normal friendly way” messages that tells people what’s going on.
On the other hand I have to tell this split of condenser is going to help achieve economic needs of the platform. I think we must be patient and give them our feedback to help developers do their job. Things will improve I’m quite sure. It may sound like flattering but you know I don’t do it unless I’m quite convinced or touched, that’s why I put here my humble opinion.

It was a horrible move on part of Steemit. Somehow this platform manages to become less and less user-friendly with time, not more. It's only a matter of time a drastically superior front-end will draw the majority of users away from Steemit and onto something better. I'm only still using Steemit as a force of habit.

I don't think that this issue was a priority for the users of the plattform and it's pretty annoying for me this kind of updates.

To do things more complicated you can't access to your keys from your steemit account so you had to guard the keys before the update in order to access to your wallet. Fortunately I had them in a safe place to look them and access without more troubles.

IMO with the implementation of keychain for every account this would have been solved without needing another website to access to your wallet. If this social media is hard for the standard user now they've added more dificulty to them.

Steps in the wrong direction. Interesting topic to make a discussion. Cheers.

I do not agree that @crypto.piotr is suffering an adverse reaction to change. After all, he is a Renaissance man. I think the new system sucks, to put it in technical terms. They have added another layer of complexity to a system that already fails in the category of being “user friendly.” What the technical crowd may see as a minor inconvenience can often be an actual “barrier to entry” for the non-technical crowd. We now have one more hoop to jump through. This will not attract new users. It will deter many who would be here but for the labyrinth of bullshit one must navigate in order to participate. Just my two cents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69