Adventures of STEEM mining PART 6 - Rabbits 🐇

in #steem8 years ago

For about half a day or so, the rabbits had left the miner queue!

Originally, I had thought they would be gone for good, just as the supercomputing accounts had left for many days now to go for other ventures.

It turns out the rabbits are back and have quickly dominated the queue once again.

Here is what it looked like a few hours ago:

You can see that the rabbits were coming back as they enter from the end of the queue.

During the time that the rabbits were gone, lots of miners including myself had a good go. There will still be a decent number of non-rabbits from time to time, but if you look at the queue now, the rabbits have basically overtaken it once again.

See my witness schedule live visualization for an up-to-date real-time view.

Another thing to think about is that @dantheman put out a bounty for an Equihash implementation yesterday. While there is no further, clear explanation what he plans to do with it, if STEEM mining were to be switched to use Equihash, maybe the rabbits wouldn't be at an advantage and more miners can join in. We shall see.


Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3 - Part 4 - Part 5
What about you? Are you mining STEEM?


Vote for me as witness!

And Follow me! @bitcoiner

Sort:  

Now that rabbit is back, non-technical people who want to mine steem might benefit from this post that I wrote a while ago.
https://steemit.com/blog/@remlaps/how-to-easily-convert-your-cpu-and-gpu-into-steem-power-for-the-non-technical-user

Using nicehash.com and blocktrades, it's possible to profit-switch to the highest paying of a bunch of other altcoins and have the earnings automatically deposited into steempower. It's much less complex than trying to learn to mine steem directly, and you don't get locked of the queue by rabbits and supercomputing.

I also noticed today that the payouts are really high right now, probably due to the zcash launch. I'm getting over 30 times my normal payout. At the moment, I'm mining at a rate of about 40 steem per day this way (until nicehash payouts fall back to normal again).

Fantastic, I use nicehash as well on my GPU rig. Most of the time, the client switches me to mining ETH as that is the most profitable. A few days ago, I set up to mine zcash on their pool.

I'd love to see a bunch of people who would have trouble learning to mine with steemd start using nicehash to purchase SP automatically through blocktrades. Maybe it would finally put some pressure on the buying side!

That is definitely a good idea!

If we get Equihash going that will give me an excuse to fire-up my Steem mining rig again.

Yes, really hope this is what's going to happen!

It would be great assuming Mr Rabbit doesn't have an super optimised GPU miner for that!

true, equihash is going the way of GPU's too..

I think right now the RAM requirements are slowing the GPUs down. Someone might be able to make an optimised miner for those pro GPUs that are used in workstations by video editors and the like. The basically use the same GPUs with much larger amounts of RAM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47