Bounty for Implementation of Equihash [$500 Steem Dollars]

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I am looking for someone to extract the code from Zcash for performing the EquiHash proof of work into something that can be easily re-used in other programs. I am looking for a library with the API:

namespace equihash {
  optional<proof> mine( char source[32],
                        int64_t start_nonce, uint32_t range )
  bool validate( char source[32], int64_t nonce, const proof& p )
}

The library should be a single-threaded implementation. The API described above can be tweaked / adjusted if necessary, but its overall complexity should not change. The library can depend only on Open SSL, C++11, and Boost.

The final product should be a new github repo that can be built with CMake on Linux and OS X.

Here is the Pull Request that added Equihash to Zcash https://github.com/zcash/zcash/pull/851

If there are multiple submissions I will pick the best in my opinion.

Sort:  

You have 48 hours to make a submission or the bounty will be closed so we can do it ourselves.

That looks like a very good starting place, but the API to it is still more complex than I would like to see.

I'd maybe consider throwing some SBD at him for his attempt.. Code looks good! :)

I didn't write that, btw. Just a library that I knew that already implemented it.

"Code looks good?" You realise who the guy is?

If twelve people work on a bounty, at least eleven waste their time. Like solo mining but involving people wasting time instead of equipment wasting electricity. If anyone here wants to tackle this but farm out small tasks, it would be more efficient use of resources.

totally agree. Bounty sucks and disrespect ppl work.
Just find somehow good who s able to do the task correctly.

Thanks for offering it to the community Dan. I'm pretty sure you would be able to do it yourself, but this is a great way to get people involved in the Bounty System. This will help the Bounty system get started and help to get people involved in an aspect of Steemit development. Take care. Peace.

This is super cool. I have built and tested the zcash miner and all the stats I have seen suggest that it is memory channel bound, meaning sufficiently fast, low power devices can mine, and someone pointed out that if it is achieved, the production cost is primarily energy, and the amount of competitors in the lottery can scale much faster with existing hardware supply already here and not stuck in delays for making custom silicon.

I remember reading about zcash back before Snowden tweeted about it. I think their primary goal was to make mining of the currency available to anyone, even your smartphones mining it while charging at night. (ps! don't try this with a note 7)

That's what got me hooked instantly and curious about zcash. :)

I think zcash needs at least 2gb. But most New phones are now coming with this amount of memory. The thing that is exciting for me is that the supply of miners will be more rapidly adapting to demand and as this kind of algorithm is adopted by more, you will be able to change what you are mining more easily.

Equihash is a memory-oriented Proof-of-Work like other crypto algos. I'm still a big fan of Scrypt and Litebars...oh those old hashing days eh. I'm currently mining every 3rd block for Litebars at the moment! GO LTB! GO @MINDHUNTER

With being such a great move maybe more steem dollar should be offered seems as $500 is peanuts.

Looks like it's time for me to learn how to code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76