Adventures of STEEM mining PART 3

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

It's been another week of mining, my i7 desktop chugging along, and I've been luckily finding a few pows every day! See my first and second mining posts.

The fantastic SteemStats by @jesta can easily and conveniently show mining information:


 Who here is also a miner of STEEM? And how is it going for you?

Follow me! @bitcoiner


Sort:  

Prop ups bro simply running an old i3 3.2 quad :) shes goes tho :)

Ahaa, good luck!

actually I mint an averager of 3 pow a day for the network.

Ooh I say that is very good! For me, having my old tower finding pows is better than having it just sit in the closet haha!

yea I even managed to overclock the thing today and squeeze out another 500hps out of it lolz. Oh well back to coding #steemstars

A couple of weeks ago I tried to set up mining on a Windows Azure instance but it would never find a block so I just stopped focusing on it. Does it matter what your hardware is? I know you can specify the threads and all that but does that help you get selected to work the calculations?

It matters a bit what hardware you have, as there would be a smaller hps, but the miner should give you an estimated time to find a pow. As there is a miner queue, all miners will have a chance to find a pow, so it will eventually happen, even if it could be hours or days.

And as an aside, another thing to note is that for cloud vps services, if there is a free trial, one of the rules is that you're not allowed to mine. Haha

also i7 and 2.5 days and got nothing... something must be off.

I suspect it could be the hardfork? After it happened, I had to update my steemd and just blew out the blockchain data dir and redownload everything just in case. Now it's going fine.

yep I did the same - runs fine, just getting no luck. running around 33khps - was using VM, but now back on Windows so maybe something important is getting blocked.

I've been mining in a Ubuntu VM following @pfunk's guide, had some issues with the Windows miner and never bothered. Are you getting the handle_block and on_applied_block log event lines, all synced up? Also helpful is to open cli_wallet and check the state of the blockchain.

I did have cli_wallet running and chain was up to date and all. did not check the handle block and applied - will next time I give it a try -thanks!

No problem! Glad to help out.

Yes, i was also able to find few POW blocks but nothing is credited in Steem Power in Steemit wallet. I can only see the POW block on steemstats. How much time does it take show Steem Power after finding a POW block, are you all getting credited right away.

I get credited right away, are you sure you are witnessing as well? you know that it isnt enough to POW you need to land on the witness queue and then get to the top and witness the block as well right?

How can we know whether we land on witness queue and witness the block.. I was just checking the mining status on steemstats.com.....where i can see several POW blocks but nothing is credited in steem power.

When you POW your block you will see your hps drop to almost zero then you can look here to make sure you are on the que https://steemd.com/witnesses Its the column in the right corner.

Can you check here and verify whats wrong with me... i'll follow you and upvote all your posts:
https://steemd.com/@hms818

I m getting POW block but getting credited in Steem Power...

HMS if you are getting STEEM POWER thats what you are suppose to be getting, there is nothing wrong, that is what you are mining for....well more technically VESTS but nonetheless.

That's actually a good question. Haha. I haven't been keeping track, and because there are a ton of things happening on the wallet like curation/authoring rewards, interests, etc, I'm not really sure. Maybe take a snapshot and check in 24hrs, I'm guessing?

You recommend any tutorials on getting a miner going for a total noob? I was trying to set one up on the LTS version of Ubuntu. I kept getting:

collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
libraries/fc/CMakeFiles/hmac_test.dir/build.make:115: recipe for target 'libraries/fc/hmac_test' failed
make[2]: *** [libraries/fc/hmac_test] Error 1
CMakeFiles/Makefile2:303: recipe for target 'libraries/fc/CMakeFiles/hmac_test.dir/all' failed
make[1]: *** [libraries/fc/CMakeFiles/hmac_test.dir/all] Error 2
Makefile:127: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2

Plus the tutorial I think was a month or two ago. So maybe things changed since this project seems to be moving very rapidly.

Hmm, that looks like you are missing some package or library. I've mostly just used a guide from @pfunk https://steemit.com/steem/@pfunk/guide-maximize-your-mining-hashrate-in-windows-by-mining-steem-in-a-vm, seems to still be good.

I "mine" by writing but I really do wish I knew how to mine for real. I'm a bit of a crypto-noob. I have heard it's tough to get traction with the costs of electricity, etc. How is it working out for you?

The cool thing about Steemit is that there a ton of reward methods! You can author. Not a blogger? You can curate! Don't wanna do that? Invest! No money? Mine! Haha..

Right, mining cryptos in general is hard to ROI. Especially if you've bought expensive graphics cards or dedicated mining hardware. The electricity is a major factor along with the initial expenses. For Steem, it is CPU only. I guess I might be spending a quarter or so of electricity per day mining on the tower, but otherwise, I would have had the tower turned on anyway.

interesting journey
i never minning on linux, do not know how to set the thing up
my minning experience only on minergate...download, install , start minning
really easy, sadly steem is not listed on minergate

I've never heard of minergate so had to look it up! It seems like a really nice pool, maybe I'll use it in the future. I've just been using nicehash for the most part on my GPU rig.

BTW there is a project from a steemian dev called EZSTEEM that makes it really easy to get started mining steem!

How you doing that? What Pc or mac you need?

I'm using a PC tower with an i7 processor. But the miner software is running inside a Ubuntu VM. Here's the guide I used by @pfunk: https://steemit.com/steem/@pfunk/guide-maximize-your-mining-hashrate-in-windows-by-mining-steem-in-a-vm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62555.95
ETH 2435.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64