Adventures of STEEM mining PART 2 !! ♫ I've been working on the blockchain...

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I've been mining STEEM for a while now! See my first mining post. I think it has been about 3 weeks now, about 1 week after joining Steemit and seeing some great guides on how to get started mining, one good one in particular by @pfunk.

I'm doing the mining on an i7 desktop in a Ubuntu VM:

~20000 hps! Is that a lot? No? Not sure.

I don't know about the estimated time though.. It's already been a long time and it's still stuck at around 28 minutes or so. Haha. At least this is way better than a few days ago when it showed an estimated time of 20 or so days! I'm thinking this might be due to the recent mining bug (see How @supercomputing was able to dominate the mining queue and how the bug was fixed.). But now that it's been fixed, I'll finally be able to find some pows! 

One interesting thing to note is that if you see the screenshot of the miner in my first mining post, I had a slightly faster hps but the estimated time was way larger. I would think that the difficulty would have gone way up in 3 weeks time, but it could be that the recent mining bug discouraged some miners? We'll have to wait and see.


Who here is also a miner of STEEM? And how is it going for you?

Follow me! @bitcoiner


Sort:  

Oooh, I see you're interested in attracting some competition for mining with this post. Cool, the more the merrier. :) Do you ever worry that you might get too popular with attracting competition?

I don't know about popular. Haha. But Steem is different in that it is practically resistant to pools and those with a lot of computing resources. Anyone can mine! By all means, let's make this post popular. =O

Yea tried it have a very crappy laptop need to get my self a i7 6950x ahh Miss builds !!!

Oh geez the Extreme Edition is just crazy expensive! But imagine what Steem could blow up to! hahahaaa

Fuck yea man love them damn think I am going to go for it!!!!

I say go for it! Even if Steem doesn't take off, you've still got an awesome rig!

Thanks! Bookmark cashtags $b.mining $b.steem

@nonlinearone, thanks! I am wondering what those tags are and for?

By the way, you're the first to ask wtf those are (very reasonable question) so congratulations for having the most curiosity and courage :)

YES! I WIN! I WIN! haha, the mind of an engineer of course..

I get the pun of cashtags instead of hashtags.. but why the b. part? It could just be $mining and $steem, right?

I need to make a post about this but basically when I want to find a post later I'm adding what I'm calling "Bookmark cashtags". Keep an eye out for a post with more info on this idea :)

Can't wait! haha... yup already a follower!

IMO laptops are totally unsuitable for mining, due to heat accumulation. Avoid them (unless you can manually throttle the speed or core numbers used)

Agreed. I've never bothered to mine with a laptop as there is the problem of overheating. So here I'm mining with a desktop

Off topic but wanted to get your attention. Your next app should be information on Steem dollar. It would be great to figure out how much money is in Steem dollars and, what the coverage ratio is and back into the interest rate and predict how much will be paid out the next day, week month.

See this post
https://steemit.com/steem/@dennygalindo/steem-interest-really-exist-will-we-see-more-money-flow-there

No problem. Thanks for the suggestion! I've left a comment over there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66