How to make a *Sacred* DreamCatcher - Part 2 - Sacred Feathers, Crystals & Decoration

in #spirituality6 years ago

Feathers, crystals and decorations are what can give your dream catcher real power. The sacred feathers, which chose you, the crystal which you picked above all others, and then the little decorations that caught your eye. These are the things that help make your dream catcher unique, and specially for you.
~
If you missed Part 1 – Spinning the Web, Setting your Intention, Finding Sacred Feathers and Chosing your Crystal, you can check it out right here:
https://steemit.com/spirituality/@calluna/how-to-make-a-sacred-dreamcatcher-part-1-setting-your-intention-and-spinning-the-web

Preparing Your Feathers

You have spent days, weeks, or even months, waiting for the right feathers to find you. Now it is time to sort, clean and prepare your feathers for use.

IMG_20180128_133826.jpg

Separate your feathers into two categories

  • Main Feathers – these will be longer, stronger, often flight feathers. They will be the ones you feel most drawn to
  • Downy Feathers – these will be smaller and softer, they have more of a floaty quality, and are often very fluffy

You can either have single feathers hanging, like I have done in this example, or you can make bunches (as seen on the dream catchers at the bottom)

Cleaning Your Feathers

Carefully run the feather between your finger and thumb, moving with the grain, to remove any bits of dirt or muck. I used some feathers my chickens moulted right on the back door step, so as you can see, they have bits of saw dust caught on them. Gently tease anything that has matted into the feather off. You may found that the strands of the feather have become separated or crinkled, and need further cleaning or straightening. Hold your feather in the steam over a pan of boiling water/kettle, turning it, allowing the steam to drift through the feather. You will find the feather may look brighter just for this. Then as soon as it is cool enough to touch, run the feather between your fingers to bring the strands back together. Think about how a bird cleans its own feathers, you are trying to recreate what it does with its beak.

Sorting Your Feathers

IMG_20180128_134046.jpg

Main Feathers
Lay your main feathers out on a flat surface. You will already know which one will be your center feather. If you aren’t sure which one is your center feather, it is likely you do not have your main sacred feather yet, and I would suggest waiting until you get one that you feel is just right. Select your side feathers, these will hang either side you’re your main central feather. You are looking for pairs to hang opposite each other.

Downy Feathers
If you are having single feathers hanging from the web, you will only need a pair or two of downy feathers for the very outside however if you plan to make little bunches, you will need quite a lot. As single hangings, you want to select the strongest and most decorative downy feathers, whereas for bunches, you will want to fluffiest, softest feathers.

Now you have chosen all your feathers, cleaned them, and are ready to make the feather charms.

Making The Feather Charms

Lay out your feathers below your web to give you a good idea of how they will look. This also helps you work out where you will want to tie string onto the hoop to attach the feathers.

IMG_20180128_134916.jpg

If you are using single feathers, use a needle to piece a hole to piece the hollow shaft (stem part) of the feather. You can thread the wire through this hole which will make it much easier to wrap. If you are using bunches of feathers, you will want to wrap them all together

You can thread beads of your choice onto the copper wire for added effect. If you don’t have copper thread, you can use a needle and thread to bind your feathers together.

IMG_20180128_143721.jpg

Tie your string to the hoop, then lay the feather, or bundle, at the end of the string. As you wrap the wire around the feather, also wrap it around the string. This will help it stay firmly affixed. Keep going until you have attached all of the feathers.

IMG_20180128_145244.jpg

Your Chosen Crystal

Wrap your crystal in copper wire, making a large loop at the top connecting it to the hoop. Once you have done, lift the hoop up and hold it against the wall so you can see how the crystal sits. It may take a few attempts to get it to sit right, but it is worth unwrapping, and rewrapping, until it sits flush against the wall and hangs at the right length with your feathers. I went for a crystal from a local mine, I visited on my birthday and this crystal just really stood out as for me. I got to see the view where they mined it from as well, so it really does feel extra special.

IMG_20180128_151416.jpg

IMG_20180128_151357.jpg

Other Decorations

There is literally no limit to what you can decorate your dream catcher with. I have some dried flowers from a houseplant I will eventually attach to a hoop for added decoration. Beads, crystals, charms, anything you feel is right, will be. This is really a time to trust your instincts, so if you feel like you should be using it, you probably should.
I have made a few variations below, including a variety of colors for the web and the hoop wrap, some with lots of bunches of feathers, some with just a few, and even a dream portal.

A dream portal is a dream catcher, but instead of a web, you use two halves of an ammonite. Instead of filtering your dream through the knotted web, your dreams rush towards the centre, where they can reach out across space and time, and be felt in the other half. This is a great gift for someone who lives far from home and family.

Well I hope you had as much fun as me here, and feel like giving it a go yourself. I have included a selection of dream catchers I made specially for people last year below for a few ideas. The blue one which was for my mum is possibly my favorite!

IMG_20171221_075229.jpg

IMG_20171221_075123.jpg

The Dream Portal

IMG_20171221_075008.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, and if you are feeling brave and giving it a go, I would love to see yours!

Sort:  

Instructions unclear: made a cursed demoncatcher and now have over 10,000 Immortal Demon Souls trying to break into the mortal world.

Send help.

Congratulations!
Secret Area Unlocked: Scream profanities at the sky to gain command of the unholy hordes!

I’ve never used a crystal on a dream catcher, but I have a crytal that I’m particularly fond of. It’s not especially pretty, and I didn’t get it in a specialty shop. It’s a piece of ordinary looking quartz I found in some chats just outside of the town I live in. I think I’ll start looking for a center feather and make a dream catcher for my crystal.
I mentioned this post in an article I posted today. I learned some really useful info. Now I know how to clean up all the feathers my kids and I have found on our hikes!

Oh my I am so sorry i missed this!! It sounds very much like it found you, some crystals just feel so special even though they look so ordinary! I can't wait to see your dream catcher, you seem so creative, I am sure it would inspire me to make even more!

Thank you so so much! You post some amazing stuff - followed :) - I have a lava bead bracelet so i am definitely going to try the diffuser :)

Very good work. I love Dreamcatchers.^-^

Thank you! They are so much fun, you should totally try making some :)

Well this is just lovely :)

Thank you for sharing the process of creating a dream catcher.

While I am not the creative type, I appreciate the effort you have gone to here and in the previous blog.

Thanks for sharing with the community!

Thank you so much! I have made a few and was a bit uncertain about putting myself out there and sharing something I actually made so this really means a lot to me, thank you!

You did a great job and I see you work has been well rewarded, well done!

It was you who got this ball rolling, so sincerely, thank you very much! :)

A pleasure!

Fantastic. Now I can make my own, which I need to do because I have really vivid dreams ;-) If I could catch them and write them all down the bestseller would write itself!

Oh yes! You totally have to, I have had much clearer dreams since I made it. You just need to get a dream journal to write it all down as soon as you wake up. That said, I have found I much prefer lazily enjoying the last moments of a dream until it fades away rather than sitting up to write it down :)

I do keep a dream journal @calluna, although I only record dreams on waking when I feel like it and they fade from memory quite quickly sometimes. I'm not religious but I used to carve as a sort of a creative ritual, that's why your article interested me so much.

P.S. here is a poem inspired by one of the dreams from my dream journal. It's past payout so I can't be accused vote begging ;-)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@raj808/anxiety-dreams-original-poem

Have you ever carved your own totem? I have heard it is such an amazing experience!

This is such a beautiful dream poem, you use of repetition anchors dreamy ideas very well. This is definitely one I want to come back to and read a second time.

Have you ever seen the film Paprika?

😀 Strange that you'd ask that @calluna, there's some synchronicity going on here. Yes, I carved like personal totems. I just used to pick up a branch that I saw a shape in and carve it over the course of months with images and themes that emerged from my subconscious. I was a complete hippy as a teenager and it just came naturally to express creativity like this before my writing really found its feet. I remember a particular carving that I spent a year on, it included various animals that pop up in my dreams being swallowed by a sort tortured face with a mouth impossibly wide. I painted it and it was quite impressive. Strange as hell though, and I remember being a little freaked out by what it might mean at the time. I figured it out later, and ended up burning it. I wish I had taken a picture.

Thanks for the compliment on the poem, I am glad you enjoyed it 👍

No I have never seen the film Paprika, I shall look it up. Thanks for the recommendation

Oh my word that is amazing!! I was hoping that could be the carving you alluded to! Oh I wish you had as well, it must have been so surreal to bring dreams to life in front of you like that. I could see how it could be unnerving, I kind of what to know what it meant now but I am not sure I want to ask, some things can be best left untold. Do you still have any totems?

It is a great dreamworld themed movie, not that recently but still well worth a watch, I would love if you ended up coming back and telling me what you thought of it's dream representation. I have to ask if you've seen Waking Life? It is quite a bit more well known so I was guessing you probably would have :)

No, I don't have any totems now, I think there may be some some of my old carvings hanging around my childhood home somewhere.

I have never seen Waking Life either. You are giving me a fantastic list of new movies to watch. I have been overdoing steemit the last 3 days anyway, so I think it's time to download a film or two and kick back 😉 Thanks for the recommendations @calluna

This is wonderful! Great job, and cool post. I was just thinking about collecting the feathers from the Bluejays and other birds in my yard. My kids already do, they get so happy when they find one lol. I definitely have to start stealing em from the kids and saving the ones I find to do something like that :)

I did think of you when I posted this! You must get some amazing feathers left for you. You could all make one each, you have chickens don't you? You could all include a feather from the same hen tehehe! I didn't get to take any stone photos this morning, somehow my chickens got me making them spaghetti instead lol! But I did find where my world seed stone ended up and track down a photo of an amazing stone I go visit sometimes, I just need to finish the story to go with it, you are doing a great job of encouraging me to get this finished though, I started that story years ago! :)

Lol chickens.... I've attempted to keep chickens, but between the neighborhood dogs, turkey vultures, and weasels, they have killed off all of my precious birds before I had them even one year. I've tried the last three years in a row, very disappointing. But I know better for this year! My neighbors have dozens they let roam free, I don't get why I have so much trouble. But the crows, hawks, Jay's, and cardinals do occasionally leave us a feather or two :) I will absolutely be saving every one I lay my eyes on! You encourage me too! I almost feel like I know you! But, all the awesomeness is already inside us. I suppose it just takes a nudge to get it out :p you truly are great though. I read your stuff and hope I can be that good. Don't doubt yourself! I think I'm almost over my self doubt :)

Oh no! I am so sorry to hear that! We lost a little flock to a fox and it was so traumatizing! I have heard tell of chicken guard dogs, guard geese, even a guard llama but it can't be easy to train them. I do like the idea of a dog who just hangs out with the chickens all day keeping them safe.
I count myself lucky over the odd jackdaw or seagull feather, you must be pretty special to the woods yourself to get such great gifts lol
It blows my mind how these connections can form between people over literally hundreds of miles, and not only does it feel like you know someone you have never met, it feels like they know you too!
Well I finished a story today that I have been writing for far too long thanks to you! All so I could share a picture of one of the most magical rocks I have ever seen. At this rate I will have to start calling them collaborations lol! That is exactly it, I sometimes wonder if it is part of the human condition, we can bring out the best in each other in ways we never could alone.
A little bit is probably healthy, you seem to strike a good balance. For me it is better described as temporary disenchantment than self doubt, I misplace my normal enthusiasm and wonder. When it comes to my story writing, I tend to leave it a few weeks so I can judge it more fairly, as the more I work on something the less I tend to love it in the moment. But then if I didn't finish the story, it can be so hard to get back to the right place to pick up where I left off. My goal for now is to try and write a full length story, I had made a good start recently, but then a few days in I lost it. Three days is the longest I have managed to work on a story now so it is serious progress :)
You just need to write more, I loved your spirituality ponderings, writing them out in a note book is a nice way to present them. You could totally do a regular ponderings post! Late night thoughts from the woods lol

You are absolutely correct! We do much better creating and writing when we have interactions or better yet, help from others. I believe that we are all connected, and I usually do ok by myself, but I always do much better with help and inspiration from others. I don't know about a good balance, may seem that way, but I don't feel very balanced lol. With time, I've been dealing with somethings most never make it out of, so I suppose unbalance should be expected. I'm definitely going to try and write something tonight, or tomorrow. Don't think I have much going on, so I should have plenty of time to chef up something nice. We shall see! I look forward to reading your stories, they are always my favorite! medow through a woods.jpg

Hey, hows this for a meadow through a woods? Lol, when I get a better picture of this part of my yard, I'm going to post it with that name. The collaboration is on! :)

This is beautiful, but needs more flowers. I think I may have to wait until spring, it is for a poem that starts
"where the wild flowers grew,
I grew up too"

That said, I think I will still use this for another poem I have been waiting to share, it just seems just right. It just needed a picture of a beautiful place! This is the start of something, lol, i can feel it!

I am looking forward to more of your writing! I have read the amazing post on scratch cards, but don't have enough lunchtime left to give it the response it deserves!

I may have some from a better season already. In fact, I'm certain that I do, it is just a matter of hunting them down! Only recently have I begun sorting through my pictures from the last ten-fifteen years. I have many of my own, my step father, my mom, brothers, my own children's photos all mixed together. I started on this a week ago, very time consuming. Got a lot of sifting and deleting trash done today. Absolutely no file names but the stock ones the camera creates! When I started, there must have been 15,000 pictures, easy. I will have to look tomorrow. And I would never tell you to rush it, can't rush greatness! :) Thanks for schooling me about thinking over and not posting right away. That's precisely what I needed to hear, I have great ideas and everything, but they always come in the wrong order! Need to write em on paper and think, I think that will work out very much for me.

I have cheated and backed up all my photos on google photos, I just search for what I want and it can recognise what the picture is of, but then it doesn't find everything and sometimes I have to do the manual search. It is beyond me how you would even begin to sort so, so many photos from such a long time range! Good luck lol! But I am in no hurry to post myself so I will just keep sending requests your way ready for when you encounter the right photo :)
Yeah I find the write and return very effective, with poems and poetic musings, I much prefer to let them grow slowly over weeks or even years like a budding flower instead of pushing to finish it. Do you find writing with pen and paper better? Whatever your doing is working already :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51