5 THINGS YOU SHOULD CONSIDER ADDING TO YOUR SMOOTHIES – 1st Edition

in #smoothie8 years ago

I think that people often turn to smoothies as a way to counteract most of the over-processed foods generally offered to us by the super-centers, fast food restaurants, and big businesses. Smoothies are a quick method to get a good amount of fruits and vegetables into our systems. These are some simple ways to make an excellent drink even better.

I’ve always enjoyed smoothies and creating different variations of them. Lately, I’ve been attempting live a healthier lifestyle and have also been foraging a lot of wild foods in THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS, which has given me some great ideas for simple, healthy ingredients that we should be adding to our smoothies to make them even better, without costing us a lot.


STINGING NETTLES

Stinging Nettle is often considered to be a noxious weed by some people. Others, like me, consider it to be a super-food full of incredible nutrition. It is certainly true that Stinging Nettle can “sting” you, but I’m thinking that once it is pureed in the blender, it’ll lose its bite. You could also “steem” it or blanch it first to disarm the stingers.

What would adding a cup of Stinging Nettles to your smoothie add to the mix? For one, you’d be getting over 500% of you daily recommended value of Vitamin K. You could check that off your list immediately! You’d also get almost half of the Calcium and over a third of the Manganese and Vitamin A recommended; plus over 5% of your Iron, Riboflavin, Potassium, Phosphorus, and Magnesium. Stinging Nettle may be a foe of many, but it is definitely a friend of mine.

NOTE: When I did my test, I could definitely taste the raw nettles, which I have eaten many times. For those new to Nettles, I’d recommend steeming them first, and then adding them to the smoothie.

Check out THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS – Stinging Nettle post for more information.


Lambs Quarters

Lambs Quarters are another easy-to-come-by “weed” that is readily available in many areas. The cost, like with Stinging Nettles, is free, and the health benefits are many. As I covered in my first papa-peppers FOOD FIGHT post, nutritionally, Lambs Quarters pack quite a punch. Just one cup of Lambs Quarters provides an incredible source of Vitamin K (over 1100% DV), Vitamin A (almost 300% DV) and Vitamin C (over 100% DV). They are also a great source of Manganese, Riboflavin, Sodium, and Calcium, and also provide some Vitamin B6, Copper, Potassium, Thiamin, Magnesium, Phosphorus, and Iron, just to name a few more.

The flavor, even raw, is mild, so it can easily be snuck into a smoothie to increase the health benefits. It blends well and is such a rich source of nutrition, I’ll probably be adding it to every smoothie I make this summer and fall. In fact, I should harvest some in preparation for the winter too.

Check out THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS – Lambs Quarters post for more information.


DANDELION GREENS

Dandelion greens are another incredible wild edible that's also easy to come by in many areas. It too was featured in my first papa-peppers FOOD FIGHT post, and it certainly came out ahead of Iceberg Lettuce. Though the flavor may be more bitter when compared to the subtle Lambs Quarters, it blends into a smoothie well.

The nutritional benefits are many as well, and the price, once again, is free. I sure do love that free nutrition, and adding this wild green to a smoothie is a great way to gain the benefits that the Dandelion provides without having to munch on raw leaves out in the yard. If you missed it, check out this completely wild recipe that shows how delicious Dandelion greens and other “weeds” can be when cooked.

Anyway, here’s quick listing of the Vitamins and Minerals that just one cup of Dandelion can provide; Vitamin K (over 500% DV), Vitamin A (over 100% DV), plus a good amount of Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, Calcium, Manganese, Magnesium, Potassium, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Copper, Iron, and others. Just two minutes in the yard picking a handful of Dandelions can greatly increase the nutritional value of a smoothie. To me, Dandelion has become an obvious beneficial addition to our smoothies.

Check out THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS – Dandelion post for more information.


APPLE CIDER VINEGAR

Apple Cider Vinegar is another ingredient that should really be added to more of our smoothies. For one, many people turn to the delicious, enjoyable smoothie as a quick way to get a healthy meal, often even as part of a weight loss plan. The acetic acid that Apple Cider Vinegar contains can both increase metabolism, a welcome characteristic, and suppress the appetite. Additionally, the potassium, amino acids, and enzymes in Apple Cider Vinegar can counteract the lactic acid in the body that causes us to feel tired. A little of it added to your morning smoothie can make you feel less hungry and more energized. What a great way to start the day!

Also, since cancer needs an acidic environment to survive, the more that we can do to make our body PH alkaline, the better. Vinegar is actually acidic, but somehow it causes our bodies to become more alkaline. Additionally, like Garlic, it has some amazing properties like being anti-fungal, anti-viral, and anti-bacterial. With incredible properties like that, why not add it to your smoothies? Though it may be hard to drink on its own, Apple Cider Vinegar is quite easy to sneak into a smoothie.


FLAX SEEDS

Most of us are probably aware of the fact that Flax seeds are high in Omega-3 fatty acids and fiber. That alone should make us consider using them more often. Also, one cup of Flax seeds gives the body over 200% DV of Manganese, almost 200% DV of Thiamin, over 100% DV of Copper, Phosphorus, and Magnesium. Plus, it provides over 50% DV of Selenium and Iron.

Since Flax seeds are so cheap and easy to obtain, I say why not dump some of them in the blender too?


MY EXPERIMENT

To test how well these potential ingredients actually work in a smoothie, I decided to do some quick research. I went with a green smoothie, since the free, wild suggested ingredients have that color anyway. I wanted it to be simple, so I just used Milk, Yogurt, Kiwis, and an Avocado as the base for my smoothie.

I added some Stinging Nettles, Dandelion, Lambs Quarters, Apple Cider Vinegar, and Flax Seeds and blended it up. The color and texture were great, and the flavor was delicious. As I mentioned earlier, the raw Stinging Nettles may have added a slightly unpleasant characteristic to the overall smoothie, but I certainly did not “suffer” by drinking it. Other than maybe steeming them next time, I don’t really have any other suggestions for making a smoothie containing these ingredients any more pleasant.

To make the actual version that I made better, I would just add pineapple. If you actually try adding some of these ingredients to your smoothies for the first time, let me know what you think, and how it went. Personally, other than the Flax Seeds, I had never added any of these ingredients to a smoothie before, but it certainly will not be the last time!


Also, this looks the end of my first month on steemit, as tomorrow the first of my posts will be reaching the date of their second payout. Part of why I am doing what I do on steemit is to make some additional income to build a house for my family. If you want, feel free to sort through my blog page and see if there are any of my previous posts that you would like to upvote, before my chance to be rewarded for that work runs out. Since last Wednesday I had 50 followers, last Saturday 100, and this morning I reached 150, I think that many people now following me may not have been exposed to much of my previous work. Thank you for your consideration and your time. – @papa-pepper



proof-I-drank-the-smoothie

Sort:  

At least you didn't say Salsa! or zucchini! lol

I've used flax seeds many times in my smoothies. The blender chops them up nicely, to release their nutrients. I usually throw in a handful of whatever leafy green thing is in my refrigerator. Mache leaves are a current favorite of mine.

And, I'm always adding superfoods to my smoothies, like chia seeds, hemp seeds, raw cacao nibs, maca powder, spirulina, raw cacao powder, and cinnamon. Getting them as nutrient-dense and filling as possible, while still tasting good, is the key.

It sounds like you did an excellent job with your foraged food smoothie. I take nettle extract every day, but haven't tried it in its raw state yet. Maybe I will, after reading your recommendation.

Thanks for the information. Smoothies are such an easy way to gain so much nutrition, and you can add in almost anything. Sound like you've got your stuff together @stephmckenzie. I appreciate your input. I's recommend trying steemed Nettle leaves with a little butter and garlic, and checking out some Nettle tea too. Nettle tea is one of my favorites!

Wow, another great educating post. I've been battling Lambs Quarters as weed for so long. But I hadn't clue that they are healthy. Book I bought abut healthy plants doesn't even cover it.
Just yesterday I told my wife a theory I came up with. And that theory says that those weeds that are all over the place are in fact nature's way to tell us what is healthy and a way to bring nature to balance. Furthermore, I guess that most of the allergies these days can be cured by using weeds in food. Considering that theory use of herbicides is one of the worst things that humans do to the environment and themselves.​

@leksimus, the best way to get rid of some weeds is to eat them. If you aren't able to eat them all, then you have food for later. Either way, you win!

LOOKING GOOD Papa Pepper - dandelions leaves are great for in salads as well - also as a refreshing tea. Will have to have a think of a forage trip to give this a go in a smoothie.

All of them are great additives to any green smoothie. I have used them all and they taste delicious. A green smoothie a day keeps the doctor away, guaranteed! Thanks @papa-pepper

You are welcome, and I'm glad that you've already these.

I've heard that we cannot absorb nutrients from flax seeds as long as they are intact. They need to be broken down for us, otherwise we just poop them out. I use ground flax seed for this reason.

Yeah, Perhaps the blender can chop them up a little, but chewing with the molars is usually how I consume them. In a smoothie, though, we just drink them down don't we? Good point @donguillermo! Everybody, use ground flax seeds in your smoothies for maximum nutrition. Thanks!

Oooh, i know of something that I should post about, as far as the food goes. It is tsampa and I actually have some photos on how I tried preparing it.

You are a smoothie-sipping-super-steemit-son-o'-gun! Good post. Will scroll back. You pump out so much quality content it is hard to keep up!

An inspiration to all!

Yeah, I'm working hard towards a goal, all night and all day. Thanks for the "smoothie-sipping-super-steemit-son-o'-gun" compliment. Do you think that will fit on a T-shirt?

Yes!!! We LOVE utilizing wildcrafted plants for salads, smoothies, and cooked dishes. Many common "weeds" are actually highly nutritious and super medicinal! Lamb's quarter grows prolifically on our property, and it's a salad favorite around here. We also have a killer dandelion pesto recipe that we use our lemon thai basil for (which is so abundant on our land that it's practically a "weed"). Thanks for sharing @papa-pepper! https://steemit.com/food/@gardenofeden/feasting-on-mouthgasmic-cuisine-in-our-sustainable-community

@saramiller pointed me your direction last night. Looks like you folks are up to some really great stuff over there. Keep it up, and be an example of an option that many never consider.

Any of you interested in trying my SUPER-HOT PEPPER CHALLENGE? Let me know, and I can ship you some peppers. Also, Please check out some of my seed giveaways, most are linked in that post. I'd be more than happy to send some Kiwano & Chinese Red Noodle Bean seeds your way FOR FREE, just to bless y'all. Let me know.

Hahaha, that sounds fun! We would love to receive your blessings--thank you so much!!!

Great, can you get me a shipping address? You can message it to papa-pepper on https://steemit.chat if you don't want to have it shown here. Your choice.

@gardenofeden -would love the dandelion pesto recipe- sounds yummy. Just read the article amazing what you do :)

Thank you, we think our lives are pretty awesome!! For dandelion pesto: blend lemon thai basil, dandelion greens, garlic, olive oil, parmesan, and sunflower seeds. We'll expound in an upcoming post!

I never thought of adding stinging nettle and lambs quarters or even apple cider vinegar (which I have) I have added the dandelion greens before and flax seeds. I also toss about a tablespoon of flax seeds into my oatmeal almost every day. :) I will definitely they these suggestions.

Great, it's nice to be able to share these ideas. I'm working on another one for later with 5 other options

I look forward to it!

Taking nutritious food is a very good idea but there foods that looks nutritious but is not good to our body. We have also to consider how the food were prepared because sometimes food preparation can leads to food poisoning which usually happens in elementary schools.

It is certainly important to trust the source of the food and the preparation method. Whenever possible, I take matters into my own hands.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42