It's TIME For 4 O'Clocks - Beautiful Flowers and now FREE SEEDS TOO!

in #flowers8 years ago

Four O'Clocks are also known as "The Marvel of Peru", or, scientifically, as Mirabilis Jalapa. Historically, it was not just a beautiful ornamental, but was also used medicinally by the Aztecs.



The plant itself is actually a perennial in the deep south and in tropical regions, but it can be grown just about anywhere as an annual. Not only does the plant become a nice flowering shrub covered in beautiful flowers that can vary in both color and pattern, the seeds are large and interesting as well.


Four O'Clock Seeds


The seeds look like stout little vases, or water-pots. While the seeds may be poisonous, some have actually eaten the leaves cooked, and the root may actually be an aphrodisiac. The flowers can also be used to make food coloring.



The plant gets its common name because it blooms late in the afternoon, hence, 4 O'Clock. Since the ones near me have a combination of both pink and yellow on the flowers, I thought that these ones actually looked like some other times, besides 4 O'Clock.


Noon


1 O'Clock


2 O'Clock


3 O'Clock


4 O'Clock


5 O'Clock


6 O'Clock


7 O'Clock


11 O'Clock


Midnight


Given enough time and enough flowers, I probably could find the other "times" too. Anyway, these are some of the varieties of colors and patterns that Four O'Clocks can come in. Just to bless my fellow steemians, I'll send some free seeds from these flowers to anyone in the United States that requests them, until I run out. Private message papa-pepper on https://steemit.chat with a valid US shipping address to receive some free 4 O'Clock seeds.


You can also check out my other Free Seed Giveaways if you want.



proof-of-time

Sort:  

Great information. Thanks for all the great posts you put out day after day. You are a working machine! I will send you my address soon (I'm at work now) to try some of these seeds you are generously sending out. Thanks in advance.

You are Welcome. I'll just give you some of each (from every giveaway) if you want. Thanks for the support too. It's people like you that keep papa going!

Very pretty. I don't think wifey has ever grown these. Not sure how they'd do in the high Arizona deserts.

Thanks for all the great info, as always! I love these little flowers! Are they hearty enough for Canada south? And are they best in the shade or full sun!? Their awesome! 🌺🌺🌺

They seem to do best in partial sun, here in the Arkansas heat. They would work in Canada as an annual.

9 wish Im near so I can ask a seed but Im on the other side of the world.

I understand completely. You can still enjoy the pictures, @juvyjabian.

Cool.... images.... I hope you like my images too :))

Interesting, I ain't seen nor heard tell of that before!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46