My Walk in the Woods • part 6 • The Far Side

Gnarly tree.. the code to twist and to turn is embedded deep in the ancient DNA..

This is a continuation my hike at the corner of the three Connecticut towns of Redding, Newtown & Bethel.
IMG_0197-gnarly-tree.JPG

View towards the top.. as we descend from the highest point of the journey..

IMG_0198-pano.JPG

Encountering a wolf’s lair.. I tread carefully..

IMG_0199-lair.JPG

Many of the huge boulders have extremely straight breaks.. almost as if they were cut into shape by an unknown ancient culture.

IMG_0208-straightedge.JPG

Descending the northwestern slope..IMG_0210-descending.JPG

This tree has had a relationship with this particular rock for quite some time!

IMG_0215-tree-rock.JPG

I leave you with a triangular window into a world of stone...

IMG_0216-triangle.JPG

Collis P. Huntington State Park

Proof-of-Boulders:

IMG_0185.JPG

... Finis!... Thanks for accompanying me on this little journey!


This has been part 6 of My Walk in the Woods.
Here is a link to part 1 • A Rusty Hulk.
Here is a link to part 2 • Massive Stonewalls.
Here is a link to part 3 • The Stones Speak.
Here is a link to part 4 • Relics.
Here is a link to part 5 • Sentinel.
Here is a link to part 6 • The Far Side.


ORION-DIVIDER-2018.png
All content 100% original by John Deecken • orionsbeltbuckle

orionsbeltbuckle_red.png

Sort:  

Whoa!! I was gonna include, strange
shaped trees around such areas!

This is great... What part of the country is this, may I ask? Northeast US?? Those trees are still very bare!! This is some interesting and cool photography, too. (P.s., I'm still on the "coin hunt!" Hit kind of a dud today--nine out of ten rolls were all 2017s!!! lol. oh well. :))

Thanks for sharing!!

southwest Connecticut.. about 20 miles north of the seashore. Buds just coming out the past coupla days.

Try banks in the boondocks... or deep urban. Even ask for OLD rolls... You might as well get a stack of 100 crisp singles and check those for ink errors, serial numbers that are cool in some way... cuz oddities are out there and you'll find them in a fresh stack before they get circulated and the value plummets.

Hey, man; I hate to "hijack" this thread with some non-pertinent topic (you sure there isn't a discord or steemit chat address we might converse through?). BUt have I got something to share with you!!! Hit the "motherlode," as they say. Unbeknownst to me, my mother actually had a small box full of old coins that her father apparently had been saving from all over the world... It's mainly a bunch of silver, though. A bunch of quarters, half dollars--one of them is a 1898 "Barber" half!!! (he most valuable I've found so far...) Anyway, I'm just having a grand ol time going through it all. I plan to pull out some of the neatest items and doing a post or two. But just wanted to share that! Oh, and there were 5 unopened penny rolls (I've opened two--nothing too fancy as of yet; but pennies are still my favorite... there are multiple "steel" pennies, but being 1943s, that's nothing too special... But I'm keeping my fingers crossed!!! My greatest goal is to locate one of the "accidentally died bronze" pennies from either 1983, 1989, and I think 1990 (all Denvers, I believe; except 83 which is Philly and Denver.)

There are also a bunch of "silver" nickels which are around 30% silver from the "war" years when they needed nickel apparently.. But those are very cool... What else.. I'm learning about some mints I never knew existed (and are since defunct, I guess?) such as "O" for New Orleans!! (I think that was on a quarter? I'll have to re-check..) anyway, that's it for now. I'll be back later to do an actual post on some of this.

I hate to "hijack" this thread

just post some of the new coins when ur ready and we can discuss there.

Interesting idea on the singles... I was actually just thinking of hitting up rural banks... didn't consider deep urban, though; but a good idea as well.

NIce photos.. the first one looks like a skunk or badger :).... I do have an off topic question. I hope you can help. My internal memory on my ranger is screwy and wont let me reformat nor delete and files. Is there a way to do a hard reset?

probably if you can find a pinhole somewhere on it. I really don't know...
I have the older version of the Ranger which has no internal memory.. so I output the signal to a small vid capture unit. If you can't reset it, you might have to output it like me.

I did notice a pin hole a few days ago and stuck a small wire in it and it didnt feel like there was a swith, maybe the wire was too short and ill try something longer. There is no video out, so I have just have to capture to my phone screen. Its better than nothing I guess. Thanks for the help.

is the unit past warranty yet?

No, it is still under warrenty, but i dont want to miss out while under repair. I will just use a screen caputre... Until I figure it out.

i just posted a good one from last night... object pass right in front of Jupiter while I was looking with the Ranger!

I've seen a few rock/tree relationships on our recent walks too. I'm guessing the rocks had to share their space with the trees rather they liked it or not. lol

the trees seen to love those rocks n boulders!

Congratulations @orionsbeltbuckle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54