You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Walk in the Woods • part 6 • The Far Side

This is great... What part of the country is this, may I ask? Northeast US?? Those trees are still very bare!! This is some interesting and cool photography, too. (P.s., I'm still on the "coin hunt!" Hit kind of a dud today--nine out of ten rolls were all 2017s!!! lol. oh well. :))

Thanks for sharing!!

Sort:  

southwest Connecticut.. about 20 miles north of the seashore. Buds just coming out the past coupla days.

Try banks in the boondocks... or deep urban. Even ask for OLD rolls... You might as well get a stack of 100 crisp singles and check those for ink errors, serial numbers that are cool in some way... cuz oddities are out there and you'll find them in a fresh stack before they get circulated and the value plummets.

Hey, man; I hate to "hijack" this thread with some non-pertinent topic (you sure there isn't a discord or steemit chat address we might converse through?). BUt have I got something to share with you!!! Hit the "motherlode," as they say. Unbeknownst to me, my mother actually had a small box full of old coins that her father apparently had been saving from all over the world... It's mainly a bunch of silver, though. A bunch of quarters, half dollars--one of them is a 1898 "Barber" half!!! (he most valuable I've found so far...) Anyway, I'm just having a grand ol time going through it all. I plan to pull out some of the neatest items and doing a post or two. But just wanted to share that! Oh, and there were 5 unopened penny rolls (I've opened two--nothing too fancy as of yet; but pennies are still my favorite... there are multiple "steel" pennies, but being 1943s, that's nothing too special... But I'm keeping my fingers crossed!!! My greatest goal is to locate one of the "accidentally died bronze" pennies from either 1983, 1989, and I think 1990 (all Denvers, I believe; except 83 which is Philly and Denver.)

There are also a bunch of "silver" nickels which are around 30% silver from the "war" years when they needed nickel apparently.. But those are very cool... What else.. I'm learning about some mints I never knew existed (and are since defunct, I guess?) such as "O" for New Orleans!! (I think that was on a quarter? I'll have to re-check..) anyway, that's it for now. I'll be back later to do an actual post on some of this.

I hate to "hijack" this thread

just post some of the new coins when ur ready and we can discuss there.

Interesting idea on the singles... I was actually just thinking of hitting up rural banks... didn't consider deep urban, though; but a good idea as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57