My Walk in the Woods • part 3 • The Stones Speak

This boulder reminded my of an ancient carving of a head..

IMG_0100 block.JPG

A close-up of it’s forehead reveals coral-like lichens…

IMG_0101 block.JPG

This guy musta keeled over decades ago.. his base worn smooth..

IMG_0102 old trunk.JPG

Looking’ where the Sun don’ shine..

IMG_0105 old trunk pano.JPG

Some nice lichen growth on these stones..

IMG_0106 pano.JPG

Very old colonies of a variety of lichen..

IMG_0107.JPG

Casually stacked a very long time ago, it looks like that stone in the Sun slipped out of position revealing a triangular window. But how did.. I mean it’s amazing that the rest didn’t topple.

IMG_0110.JPG

Further I must go.. to be continued...


This has been part 3 of My Walk in the Woods.
Here is a link to part 1 • A Rusty Hulk.
Here is a link to part 2 • Massive Stonewalls.
Here is a link to part 3 • The Stones Speak.
Here is a link to part 4 • Relics.
Here is a link to part 5 • Sentinel.
Here is a link to part 6 • The Far Side.


ORION-DIVIDER-2018.png
All content 100% original by John Deecken • orionsbeltbuckle

orionsbeltbuckle_red.png

Sort:  

Hello. Thanks for sharing the photos. I'm especially intrigued by the piled stones and who arranged them. Very interesting. I found you on the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @bashadow. Congratulations and all the best to you.

Hello @orionsbeltbuckle, my wife @shasta has been following you for awhile, she lets me know also when you have something cool she wants me to see. I featured, @dddonnna last week in the Pay it Forward contest, this week I decided to go with all photo people, My wife included, and featured you. I really like the top big rock, and the close up of the lichens on the rocks in the lower pictures.

@bashadow's entry post is how I found your blog. Great photos.

cool! thanks so much @bashadow! more to come!

the woods there are so interesting thanks for taking us along with you

Visiting you from the payforward contest @bashadow mentioned your post and I am impressed. Thank you for creating quality work!!

nice place with stone and woods

So cool! I found your post because of @bashadow's Pay it Forward contest entry :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-02T23:00:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 99.65/100.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65472.04
ETH 3323.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63