My Walk in the Woods • part 4 • Relics

Continuing over a massive stone wall I come upon another one winding serpentine over the ripples of this hilltop right at the corner of three Connecticut towns Redding/Newtown/Bethel.

Hey perhaps the 5-stonewall intersection featured in my previous post part 2 • Massive Stonewalls was/is a marker of the three towns’ borders all coming together at a single point!

IMG_0113 pano north.JPG

.. and I turn to face the Sun.. enjoying the warmth and the visibility that only early Spring provides. Once the leaves are in, it will be much harder to spot boulders, cliffs and such.. so I'm really absorbing the terrain while I have this opportunity.

IMG_0115 pano south.JPG

Collis P. Huntington State Park

Encrusted with decades of lichen growth, this fresh branch fall looks good basking in the Sunlight..

IMG_0130.JPG

I’m not even crouching to take this shot.. almost like the stone masons were playing.. seeing how little contact would be needed to delicately balance the stones.

IMG_0133.JPG

Peekin’ through the base of ancient life form..

IMG_0140.JPG

Typical of much of the local geology are these raised grooves on many boulders... sometimes criss-crossing.. many times parallel..

IMG_0144.JPG

As I have climbed much higher up the hill.. I encounter this wonderful southern edge of a big outcropping billowing with biomass..

IMG_0157.JPG

I’m left speechless by the gaze of an ancient entity whom has been captured by adoring gnarled branches of Mountain Laurel.

IMG_0159.JPG

I am now close to the threshold.. to be continued...


This has been part 4 of My Walk in the Woods.
Here is a link to part 1 • A Rusty Hulk.
Here is a link to part 2 • Massive Stonewalls.
Here is a link to part 3 • The Stones Speak.
Here is a link to part 4 • Relics.
Here is a link to part 5 • Sentinel.
Here is a link to part 6 • The Far Side.


ORION-DIVIDER-2018.png
All content 100% original by John Deecken • orionsbeltbuckle

orionsbeltbuckle_red.png

Sort:  

When I was a kid, I would go way back in the woods and there were so many of these walls. If lucky you would find an old dumping spot. Once digging to find old bottles I found a silver dollar dated 1900. Oh what a joy :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-04T14:33:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 106.15/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54