Let's Talk About Sex!

in #sex7 years ago (edited)

Take a deep breath and put aside your blushes for a few minutes. Yes, we, my frisky friends, are going to talk about sex. Intercourse. Fornication. Making love. Boning.

Warm up, get comfy, and insert your favorite phrase here, because we are going to get close and comfortable and down and dirty.

Let's talk about sex, baby!

I can see your blushes blushing, @gmuxx ;)

Sex can be one of life's most pleasurable experiences. But it can also be confusing, and even be surrounded in stigma. It's 2017 but many people are still being raised with uber puritan beliefs. It's 2017 yet some societies remove body parts from females so that the act of intercourse will not be pleasurable.

It's 2017 and still some of us squirm in our seats at the mere thought of communicating our desires to a partner.

Sex means different things to different people. Some consider foreplay to be part of sex, and some people consider it it's own thing. Foreplay is the warming up stage- the kissing, caressing, etc, leading to penetration. Some people never get to a penetration stage, and that's sex too. Self pleasuring is sex as well. Sex is subjective.

I was raised Latin Roman Catholic. Sex was not even taboo- it was absolutely unspoken in my house. Period. I learned from the Nuns in church school that sex was an act of love between a husband, a wife, and God. It was pounded into me that God was there whenever you made love with your husband- yes, as a small child I pictured a threesome. How's that for messing with a kid's mind?! And it was a sin to give your body to anyone before marriage, even your husband to be. However, a woman was supposed to submit her body to her husband absolutely and completely, at his whim and never question or deny. I was taught that the bible says homosexuality is a sin. That women who have had more than one sexual partner were "dirty" and slutty and it was implied that it's not terrible to stone such women in public...

Basically, I grew up with notions that any sexual act was a sin unless it was done within the hetero marriage.

I am probably one of the most accepting people you will ever meet. I do not care how you look or what you're into or who you love. As long as you are good and kind on the inside, you are good in my book. As a child, I was given unhealthy non positive sexual disinformation, it was how I was raised and I did not know better. But now I know and guess what? If you are happy and it's consensual it's all good! Love is love <3

Sex is healthy. It releases dopamine- the feel good hormone which causes elation, attention, improved memory, and a temporary desire to take risks and explore. Scientists have found that the dopamine released during an orgasm is comparable in it's effects to a shot of heroin! No wonder lovemaking is addictive! Post orgasm, it can take hours, days or even weeks for the body to return to it's sober state.

Another happiness hormone released during the act of copulation is Oxytocin. Known as the cuddling hormone, it's produced by hugging, cuddling, touching and kissing. Unlike dopamine, oxytocin's effects are longer lasting and deeper. It is literally the hormone that bonds you with someone, and since it's secreted in the highest amounts when you're having relations, it speeds up attachment to the partner we make love with- whether that individual is worth our love or not. It stimulates our brain to remember our partners smell, voice, eye color to strengthen the bond.

These natural hormones feel good, relax us, and make us feel bliss, content, and happy.

Sex boosts the immune system. Kissing a partner gives you immunities to the germs and viruses your partner has come into contact with, even if you have not encountered them yet. It speeds up wound healing, slows down aging of cells, and increases life expectancy. Doing it regularly stabilizes your mood and your sense of well-being. It increases your heart's health, lowers blood pressure, improves sleep, and is a form of exercise!

Getting it on even reduces certain cancer risks and is a powerful pain reliever!

Shagging is fun and good for you!

Sex is a beautiful and exquisite act. The fact that it makes your body produce such good feeling chemicals is proof enough!

Getting over lifelong social or religious sex-stigmas can be a difficult feat. You might find a sex positive therapist helpful. But in my opinion simply talking about it makes it easier! Especially when you talk about it with your partner as it'll help you grow closer and more trusting and allow you two to explore and adventure together.

Let's talk about sex, baby! The more you talk the more you'll feel at ease and the faster you'll open your mind and body to the fun and pleasures that are your birthright.

Images via Pixabay

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 From Hedonist Addict to Inspired Family Man- a Conversation with @Papa-Pepper part 2
~
A Conversation with @Papa-Pepper Part 1
~
Push Yourself to Grow Your Writing
~
How I Mourn Thee, Letter M
~
The Connections You Make, Make You
~
The Secret to Happiness
~
Arbitrary Writing Challenge- No Send Letters
~
What is Love? A Steemit Community Share
~
Everyday Erotica 4

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Haha! I love how the lady bug faces are pixelated for anonymity. Good write up.
Keep on shagging!

Yes, I firmly believe in protecting those who wish to remain private.

;)

Thanks! Shag on, Garth!

jokes aside (from my other comment), grooooovy article, now gonna go off and get my shag on! :D

That is the best plan I have heard all day!

yeah, I noticed that too with the lady bugs... and also, he he he ...
... she said "insert"! lol

Um... "It was pounded into me that God was there whenever you made love with your husband-"

Phrasing?

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @arbitrarykitten to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

OhHa Well played :)

You are one crazy cat! Lol! 🐓🐓

Any ability that I might have had to have guilt-free sex in my life was obliterated by the church and my mother. While I appreciate the effort to caution me against certain aspects, there is a fine line between caution and damage.

Oh well. My self-preservation mechanism kicked in long ago which tells me sex is overrated, and I'm not missing anything.

That's a shame. I feel for you. I get it, tho. But it still saddens me that a natural and necessary act that is also healthy for both parties can be ruined by religion.

Oh my god, even ladybirds can't escape the paparazzi these days! Is NOTHING sacred??!!! 😂

(I enjoyed the post - and the bugs are super cute!)

:)

Glad you liked it :D

A subject still covered in taboo, which is truly bizarre.

I always wondered why so many catholic girl were into threesomes ( the numbers are waaaayyy high)

Is it because they still like to feel someone is watching? lol

As someone living sex for most of my life, (recreation-ally , and for work) I still find it amazing, the awkwardness surrounding this subject.

It's just too unnatural to talk about! lol.

(Any Q. re my sex industry stuff - feel free - I'm used to it - everyone has Q.'s)

I always wondered why so many catholic girl were into threesomes ( the numbers are waaaayyy high)

Really? I did not know that!

It's something I have noticed over the years 'in the industry'.

I cant give you empirical data, obliviously, but the amount of times it has come up in conversations, it seems 'the fallen catholic girls' is pretty(very!) high -both recreational partying, and in the sex work industry itself)

Interesting.

That would lead me to theorize that because the Catholic girls are denied, they go after it more...?

I've also thought about the motivating reasons.

Sex Guilt - justification? ( work /hedonism takes them away form the teachings of santicy of, maybe?)

Or some kind of psychological masochism/sadism , even? ( against there upbringing)

I remember sex.
I think.

Oh myyyy

Wow, I didn't even know sex had so many health benefits, more reasons to have sex then yipee!

Yes!!! I am a firm proponent of more making love, less making drama and war...

I give it a 10/10. My favorite piece you have ever written. I love it!

Pixelated or not, I think I recognize those ladybugs!

Rut Row!!! Discretion please!

;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52