Push Yourself to Grow Your Writing Brain

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

As a freelance writer, I push myself certain ways.

Sometimes I have to push myself to meet a client's deadline. Often I push my own boundaries by stepping outside my realm of knowledge to work on a new style or genre.

I am a writer. Straight up. I do not know how to program or code, minus how to center images here on Steemit and itlaicize or enlarge text.

A few months ago I decided I was going to turn a book into a game app.

Turning a novel into episodes is strangely difficult work. A book has a Setup, Conflict, and Resolution- a Beginning, a Middle and an End, if you will. To turn it into the game, I am having to make each chapter have a distinct Setup, Conflict and Resolution. Each Episode must stand all on it's own.

Back when Twilight was popular and Fifty Shades was being fan fiction'ed from that, I jumped on the erotic author bandwagon. Being a fairly new writer I had to go where the trend road wound. And at the time erotica was paying quite well.

The demographic was clamoring for 2 men and one woman. Stuff like she's torn between the sexy best nurturing friend guy and the steaming hot mysterious bad boy. So that is the sexy fantasy I created.

I have not written erotica for a while. It sortof fell out and I moved on to other projects. I do write my EveryDay Erotica Episodes here on Steemit, but those, lol, well if you haven't read those give them a try. They are not what you expect- the cliche'd "wait for it" is completely accurate for this series ;)

Sometimes you push yourself to grow as a writer, or because something inspired you, or even to increase your paycheck.

And sometimes a client pushes you in new direction.

Recently a client came to me with a series gig. Basically it is to bring an inanimate object to life. But with a twist.

I am used to and easily able to write erotic scenes between humans. I know the proper verbs, adverbs, adjectives, etc. Now I am totally pushing the boundaries of my mind by not only personifying an inanimate object, but doing so in an erotic way.

It is much more difficult than I had imagined- and I have a terribly overactive imagination! I am giving life and wants and needs to a bot, a bot which is no gender but all genders... Add steamy sex scenes and you have the ultimate pushing of brain boundaries!

It is also the most interesting writing I have had the pleasure of creating. The fact that I have no boundaries in this assignment is going to prove very conducive to both my personal growth, and the growth of the character.

Push yourself! No one is going to do it for you.

Never deny an assignment. If you have a creative mind, which you do or you wouldn't be here on Steemit, you can create anything. You can write anything. Your mind can create worlds.

You mind is a wonderland. A galaxy of ideas intermixed with thoughts and experimental fragments. You can make it happen. Don't be afraid to push yourself and step outside of your comfort zone.

You can weave worlds together and create the impossible.

Happy weekend! Write beautiful :)

Images via Creative Commons

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 From Hedonist Addict to Inspired Family Man- a Conversation with @Papa-Pepper part 2
~
A Conversation with @Papa-Pepper Part 1
~
How I Mourn Thee, Letter M
~
The Connections You Make, Make You
~
The Secret to Happiness
~
Arbitrary Writing Challenge- No Send Letters
~
Everyday Erotica 4

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

When you pushed yourself, you grow. In a number of ways, I am like you in sense that my talents lie in my writing. I am not techno savvy at all and know nuts about coding or programming.

Yup, we are siblings in the word weaving game :)

I completely remember the erotic fan fic explosion. I had to read so many of my friends attempt to be the next E. L. James. But the one thing they always forget to include with all the "manhood thrusting" and "whimpering sighs," was an actual story. Proving that writing is hard, and should be respected regardless what fad is currently hip.

Needless to say, I was more turned on reading your post about the clothes hanger than the countless pages I had to dredge through with their stuff! ;) @suicidalviral

Thanks really makes me feel good. I'm am happy my words lit your fire my beautiful friend ;)

Steemit has actually been the greatest writing brain grower. I didn't realize how much of a bad habit FB was with writing. Steemit definitely pushes you in all the good ways. I have noticed my attention span for reading has increased a lot since reading Steemit blogs. And good blogs like yours ;)

Unless something crazy happens, I push myself to write here on Steemit twice a day.

It has been phenomenal at helping me grow!

Plus I love the community. There is none like it anywhere :)

Thank you, you are SO right :)

And thank you for the compliment too :D Appreciated!

Very inspirational post. In my Tantrika days erotic musings came easily; I've been doing more meditating for the last few years turning the energy inward so to speak. Since coming on-board steemit I've been feeling the pull to tap back into that shakti energy and create something simmering. Great post, thanks...

Steemit is inspiring people to do new things, or revisit casts off... It's cool!

And great to meet you! You have a new follower, also :)

Great! thanks for the follow...

I am a man:
It's logical I clicked on your 'Everyday Erotica' link first. Nice..
But the feelings are way different now than as a teenager.
Every word was like a BOMB.

(Now, LOL, often nothing happens!)

Anyways, thanks for the words of wisdom.
Steemit is a great platform to get started because no one will judge.

In fact, I have seen many here win lots of votes(and money!) even with a grammar error in every sentence.

Cheers.

Like a bomb?

Is that a good or bad thing?

Like a bomb? Yes, thunder down under, haha
It's a gift from God when there is no guilt or shame.
I grew in a background where it's a sin. :(

Lol! Love it!

I agree. I was raised Latin Roman Catholic, I get it, lol. Puritan values are so damaging. It's a real shame, and unnecessary.

I'm glad you associate no guilt with it any longer. I hope the world is moving away from that...

We have lots in common, including a big appetite!

Let's be friends. ;)

Yes! Message me in discord :)

Love your open mind and good nature.
Is discord the same as steem chat?
I will check now.

This post received a 5% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @thinknzombie from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thank you so much @thinknzombie !!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Hey Babe, you did it!
The formatting looks great.
Love this...

Your mind is a wonderland. A galaxy of ideas intermixed with thoughts and experimental fragments. You can make it happen. Don't be afraid to push yourself and step outside of your comfort zone.

Nice work Kitten ❤️

Thanks again Percy!

Anytime babe 😉

Very interesting and informative post shared followed and upvoted. @arbitrarykitten Wish you the best with all your future endeavors.

Thank you so much, and welcome to Steemit! Great to have you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14