Nature Identification Thread #2

in #science7 years ago (edited)

It's time for the second nature identification thread! Post pictures of plants, animals, rocks, or other cool stuff that you've photographed but can't identify, and I, along with anyone else who wants to participate, will try and help you identify it.


The rough-skinned newt, a resident of the Pacific Northwest. DO NOT EAT. The rough-skinned newt is highly poisonous and carries high levels of the neurotoxin tetrodotoxin, the same as is found in pufferfish. It is, however, safe to handle, provided you rinse off your hands before eating or touching your face- I've caught plenty of them with my bare hands before. [Image source]

Remember: The most important information you can give along with any photo to be identified is its geographical location. This narrows down the range of possibilities more than any other info you can provide.

Plants:
Along with the photo, add where you found it, the time of year, the approximate altitude, and any interesting scents or textures not caught in the photo.

Animals:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, the time of year, the sounds it made, any interesting behaviors, and any other features not caught well in the photo.

Rocks:
Along with the photo, add the location you found it, a description of the terrain it was found in, whether it was attached to a rock outcrop or found loose on the ground or buried in the soil, a description of its texture (especially its grain size), and a description of its weight and density. Fossils are included in this category.

Fungi:
I will not be identifying mushrooms and fungi for the most part unless I can point to it and go "Yeah, that's poisonous." I will definitely not be identifying edible mushrooms. Mushrooms should really only be identified for foraging purposes in person and by an expert. If another contributor wishes to identify them, that's their call, but I encourage them to be similarly cautious. I might also identify a few fungi that are clearly not being looked at for the purposes of eating, but that'll be a case by case decision.

For anyone who wants to help me identify stuff- when the post cashes out, I'll be splitting the SBD among those Steemians who help identify stuff based on how many things you've identified. I definitely want this to be a community effort. On top of that, my share of the identifications will be split the people who present the coolest photos to identify, so I won't be keeping any of the SBD from this post. If any other identifiers want to forgo their part of the pool, it'll go towards the posters as well!

Last week's best entry was a beetle sent in by @aksounder. He earned 3 SBD!

Sort:  

Here's an interesting one. I took these photos in August 2014 with the intention of identifying what was going on and never got around to it! These were found kind of stuck to the wooden boards around our local mill pond (England). I'm thinking some kind of parasitised moth? Never seen anything similar before or since. Ideas? Sorry not the best photos!
IMG_1019.JPG
IMG_1022.JPG

Alright, I'll take a shot at this one! Looks like chewed bubble gum with some wax paper smashed in it. Haha totally kidding, I have no clue what's going on there. Very peculiar find. Thanks for sharing!

I browsed your profile and noticed you're a fellow photographer. I like your posts and gave you a follow. Cheers!

Ha ha - I know! I'll have to do some proper investigation. Maybe I can find out what it is. Thanks for the follow - I will check out you photos too!

Ooooh, that's a tricky one! I'll give it some research!

I've been looking for a few days and I'm genuinely perplexed on this one- don't have the foggiest clue! I just threw up this week's nature identification thread, you should toss this one up there as well!

Thanks for looking! I love and ecological mystery so will make it my mission to solve this one and share it with you this week. In the meantime I have a caterpillar for this week. Gotta go out now but will share later.:)

Alright! Now I know what that beetle is AND got 3 SBD! Cool beans, thanks mountain.

I remember catching those newts in a lake in Washington when I was a kid with my cousins. Didn't know they were poisonous, but we also never considered eating them. Haha

Eating newts is, thankfully, not generally an activity most kids get excited for.

Yeah! I figure if I keep this up for long enough, people might start posting on it more, too. Or, depending on how much attention this gets, I might have to put it on hold until I get more followers.

I'll look forward to more participation as well, because I'll learn from what others post here too. Who knows what kind of crazy things people can find where they live. That's what I love about following your blog: I always learn something interesting.
Also, the parenthetical comment in the memo for the 3 SBD made me laugh. Did you have to put a classifier on "best"? :)

I can sometimes be too honest for my own good. It was a good one, though, and it did really make me work to ID it.

No worries brother, like I said, it gave a me a good chuckle. Glad I could help you stretch your research muscles. I'm going to participate again this week with a photo I'll use soon in a post. I went on a hike and explored some less traveled land... let's just say my 4 year old daughter could walk standing up, but I was crawling. I found some very interesting flora and fungi I had never noticed before. I'll avoid fungi though since that's not really what you're looking for, but to be honest, the photo I'm considering posting here... I'm not really sure if it is or isn't technically fungi.
Guess I'll find out soon enough!

As long as it isn't for foraging purposes, I'll probably give it a try- but honestly, I'm much, much weaker on identifying fungi than the others.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Yeah, go for it! Thanks!

I was on a hike with my daughter and we were looking for a geocache on rabbit trails that went through low growth pines. My daughter could walk under the growth while I crouched and crawled. We had fun; it was like getting off the main trail and discovering the land of fae or something. Anyways, I took notice of a lot of interesting growth in these hidden trails and snapped away with my camera. One of the most interesting were these light green stalks that were topped with a cup.


Right click "view image" to see larger
It was about a week ago, elevation approximately 2,100 feet, Anchorage, Alaska. I did not touch or smell it. haha. You can get an impression of the size by looking at the moss, lichen, and pine needles surrounding it.

Those are Pixie-cup lichen (Cladonia fimbriata) apothecia/fruiting bodies.
Nice pic!

I posted the rest of the photos from that outing if you'd like to check them out. It's the most recent blog entry on my profile.

That short time made me want to buy a macro lens again. I had one a long time ago for my film camera. I may even just snag a macro tube for now (they convert your existing lenses to macro focus by mounting them further from your camera body... and they're cheap). It's a very fun aspect of photography, I just might be using it on ice crystal formations more than anything else with the harsh winter of Alaska quickly approaching. :(

Hah, well imagine that. Guess that's why it was like "discovering the land of fae". Thanks for the compliments on the photo. I took a couple more I'll likely be posting soon. There's some amazing stuff when you get down and look at nature's little details.

There really is!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mountainwashere to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Wow that thing looks like it could destroy me.

Your response feels a little like spam, are you sure you wouldn't like to participate in the contest?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00